We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big problem with wasps!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Welcomed into resort by friendly reception staff and due to being end of season informed we were being upgraded (moved to a room closer to centre). The standard rooms were very average, and noticed a tribe of ants in the bathroom. However it was the wasps that really spoilt it, it was impossible to relax by the pool as you were constantly swatting them away. You expect one or two every now and then but they were literally everywhere, you could not take a drink outside and the bar staff were swarmed by them, never seen anything like it!
We did complain about the lack of communication from resort managers as to what, if anything was being done about the wasps as a few people and couple of children got stung. The bottom line was they could not do anything about it whilst guests still using the complex.
We spent most of the time on the beach, visited Albufaria old town which was nice and walked along the beach to Vila Moura, where there is a nice marina, shops and restaurants.
The food was of a good variety and the entertainment team were very good. It's a real shame though that my main memory will be running and jumping around like a loon trying to escape the wasps! We would not go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Vitoria,
Thank you very much for your comments, unfortunately we did experienced this situation for the first time at the end of the season, it was generalized in the Algarve this plague of Asian wasp that we noticed more in some places than others, our hotel is in a very natural enviroment. We can not use chemicals and combating it may take longer but we work together with a specialized company and now there are no wasps.
It would be great if you give Adriana Beach Club Hotel another chance sometime in the future and experience our improvements. You will be very welcome. Don´t hesitate to contact us.
mar.bayo@adrianabeachclub.com

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 2,248 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

Very nice hotel, been 2 years running now. Good hotel especially for families as the kids club is always doing something. Nicely kept grounds which you can walk around in the evening after dinner, tend to walk to the smaller bar next to the grill, have a drink while the kids club finishes then head back for some more drinks at the main bar and see what entertainment is on. Rooms are always clean, if not basic to some degree but the rooms are made daily with fresh towels. If arriving late there will be some water and food in your room waiting for you. Handy coach to Albufuria each day, just make sure you book early other wise it does get booked quickly especially during holiday season. Very good choice of food every meal and the all inclusive drinks are not bad.

Beach is close, apart from the steps down or more to the point back up! Would recommend a walk down to the beach later in the day to Villamoura. Takes about 30 mins. Have a walk round the harbour, have some food and drink. Did I mention the shops too?

Would happily go back again just time for something else this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the main complex instead of the other side of the road. Not a problem but if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Streethawk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review and your comments, it is important for us! We do hope to welcome you again in the future, we are constantly working to improve our facilities and services, for the next season all the rooms you comment are completely renovated, they are situated just a five minutes walk to the main facilities but you also have our standard and superior rooms. We look forward to welcome you again and expecience the surprises we have for the next season.
Don´t hesitate to contact us. mar.bayo@adrianabeachclub.com
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We went to Adriana Beach Club in Easter Holidays after a recommendation from one of my friends.
We had a absolutely wonderful time, staff were friendly, experienced and food was tasty.
There were lot of meat & seafood options available and overall the food was high quality
Quality of the accommodation was also very good. Our Room was spacious and well ventilated.

We had a Great Time as a family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sachin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sachin,

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your satisfaction with all of us, we are very pleased to know that you had a nice time with us. We look forward to welcome you again in our sunny Algarve!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the Adriana Beach Resort after winning this holiday on a radio station so shouldn't complain about any of it really.....however this hotel is invested with WASPS!! Now one or two don't bother me but when you are surrounded by ten at a time sunbathing was impossible, we never once sat round the pool which I was disappointed about as that's what I love doing on holiday. If you are planning on staying here next season please contact them to see if this has been sorted!!

On the plus side the hotel was really nice, few areas such as the indoor pool could do with a bit of TLC. Rooms fine, we were never in ours only for sleeping, food delicious, plenty choice with alcohol on tap. The outdoor pool was nice however we always went to the beach to escape from the wasps. Please note 92 steps down to the beach....we managed with a five year old, two year old, buggy and bag so don't be put off!
If you like to go for a walk out of your complex and you have small children in a buggy don't stay here. The only way you can walk anywhere is along the beach into vilamoura and abuferia...the sand is not buggy friendly. You can get a courtesy bus to albuferia which you have to book a day in advance. We did go into the old town which was nice...even in the rain!!
Massive shout out to Filipa who ran the kids club. I have never put my little girl in kids club before but she made a little friend and off she went. Filipa is fantastic and works very hard as does all the animation team.
Overall lovely family break and October was a lovely time to go. Staff friendly and helpful and we made some nice friends...I would go back if the wasps were dealt with!!

Room Tip: The resort is huge, we stayed in block G which is less than a five minute walk to reception and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Jane,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holidays with us, apart from the wasps that we had for the very first time at the end of our season, as I explained in my previous answers it was something general in the Algarve, and that in this natural enviroment was difficult to end from one day to the other because we cannot use chemicals. Now there are not wasps and we will pay special attencion in order that this situation will not bother our clients anymore. We will be delighted to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Don´t hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned after one week A/I at the Adriana, got to say its a really nice friendly hotel above a beautiful beach, Great buffet food selection for an A/I, bit of a wasp problem but don't let it put you off going

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwellsCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for your review and the nice words, we look forward to welcome to again in our Resort, as I comment in my previous answers and you can confirm it in the reviews this was a nothing common situation in our hotel, it was a plague in the Algarve, now the situation is under control and we don´t have wasps anymore.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel staff 10/10 very helpful and always a smile.
End of season so only the one main restaurant was open, a bit repetitive and comparing to other 4 star hotels very average, did struggle to find things to eat and I'm not a fussy eater.
Weather was quite rainy and dull some days but I guess out of season this is expected.

Mix of French, German and Dutch staying, all very pleasant. Nice clientele not overrun with kids even though it was oct half term which suited me.

Now on to the pest control, hotel is overrun with wasps by the pool you can't relax on the sun lounger with a nice all inclusive drink without an invasion of over 10 wasps per sunbed. No exaggeration! the bar was full if them all round the fizzy drink dispensers the barstaff serve you and many a time the wasps went in your drink and they had to do you a new one. My 5 year old daughter got stung by a wasp while sitting at the bar tables.
We also had ants in the room, they did treat when I told reception but they were back a few days later.

All in all a lovely looking hotel, looks fab on your pictures, brilliant staff with a particular mention to Phillipa the kids club animation rep. A big hit with the kids and I trusted my daughter to stay with.
Very average rooms and food and lacked atmosphere. It's out of the way of anything not even a walk to a local shop or bar. All in all personally I wouldn't return back to this hotel myself, would try a smaller more intimate hotel with a bit more going on in the vicinity as it did feel too enclosed.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank allaboutevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, it is important for us to have your feed back. The situation at the end of the season with the wasps was not a normal situation, now is under control and we do hope to have the opportuny to welcome you again in our hotel.Don´t hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

on arrival was greeted by the friendly staff got a room upgrade got to room and was very spacious the hotel is very clean and pretty all the staff was friendly the food was great lots to choose from and the all inclusive drinks varity ws brill took the bus to the old town twice was great not to worry about taxi`s even thou wasnt dear we got a cab back once cost 14 euros because it was weekend when there rates are slightly hire the beach was fab took a 1 hour walk towards the old town and found a nice english bar called the pixwick tavern run by the lovely donna all in worth the money thank you to al the staff at this fab hotel but pls make the wifi free!!!!

Room Tip: as it was end of season we was in block J which is a 2 min walk from reception if you want to be rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdrianaBeachClub, General Manager at Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Stuart,

We are very pleased to know that you had a nice time with us here in Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort. As you said besides enjoying our facilities and services you can visit Albufeira as we have a free shuttle bus 6 times a week (not sunday) 4 times a day, there are plenty of nice experiences to live in our sunny Algarve. We look forward to welcome you again, don´t hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
2.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,039 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
2.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
2.1 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#12 of 154 in Albufeira
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort

Address: Apartado 6115 Rocha Baixinha, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-379, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £87 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an area of 17 hectares, Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort has 439 rooms, providing family environment, diverse service offer and quality care. Situated in Olhos de Água, in the municipality of Albufeira, in the Algarve, this Resort is housed in natural environment and enjoys a privileged location next to the beach, guaranteeing the peace and privacy of our guests, yet ideal for holding events. The proximity of the city of Albufeira and Vilamoura tourist complex, two tourist destinations and animation of the region represents an alternative for those who prefer to explore the potential around the hotel. The All Inclusive concept takes in this hotel its highest expression, given that waiver include the diverse range of services provided. Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort offers a huge variety of buffets in our 3 Restaurants: A main Restaurant and two theme restaurants(availability and time-tables may change and are subject to seasonal demand), which include meat and fish dishes, as well as vegetarian options, freshly baked pizzas,soups, pasta, salads and desserts. Throughout the day, in addition to the main meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner), there are snacks. Drinks are also included, throughout the day and during all meals. There is water, soft drinks, beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks. In our hotel, the All Inclusive offer theme nights, where our buffets change and give you the possibility of enjoying new dishes: Portuguese, asian, tropical, mexican and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Beach Club Hotel Olhos De Agua
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Albufeira
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing