We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly good holiday, great hotel, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Me, my wife and our 6 year old daughter stopped at the Aquamarina Beach Club for 14 nights in July 2009.

The first thing I should point out is that it is actually 2 hotels now combined into one complex – The Aquamarina Beach Club and the Adriana Beach Club. When we checked in this concerned me a little, but completely unnecessarily. In effect you have the benefits of both facilities including 3 restaurants, 2 large pools plus children’s pools as well as tennis courts, mini-golf etc. I think it works well. You can walk from one side of the complex to the other in 5 minutes but they do ferry people round in golf carts if you can’t be bothered to walk!

The grounds in which the hotels reside are superbly tended and the accommodation seems consistent between both parts – our room was spotless and well appointed and even had a fridge in the room. The grounds are very well maintained and the pools were clean (no ear infections or sore eyes). Towels were changed daily and bed-linen changed weekly.

Of the 3 restaurants on offer, there is a Grill restaurant, a Pizzeria and the larger main restaurant located in the Adriana half of the complex. The grill is a cut down version of the main restaurant and the pizzeria also has more pasta dishes. There are reviews I have read which drone on about the repetitiveness of the food – All I can say is that I managed to have a good variety of lots of different foods and you could have something different every night on a 2 week break if you wanted. Yes, chips are available every day (even at breakfast) but it’s not compulsory to eat them! I guess many are fussy eaters or try and eat some of everything every night – in which case, yes it could be repetitive - but why not take the opportunity of trying something different or discipline yourself to have (as you would at home) one starter, one main and one dessert? Unlike many hotels, they do seem allow cropped trousers (below the knee) in the restaurants in the evening.

Many reviews seem to complain about plastic glasses – this was sometimes the case but to be honest, where you have children playing around pools or around the dance floors, isn’t this a good idea? Other reviews complain that it’s not up to 4 star standards – I really don’t know what they are after? Any 4 star holiday resort is unlikely to match the standards of a 4 star hotel in London or Paris. Perhaps I could suggest the moaners go there next time on holiday?

The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the entertainment team did a sterling job. The entertainment I would suggest is more geared towards children, with different entertainment laid on each night on a 7 day rotation so, if like us you go for 14 days, some of the shows will be repeated, much to the delight of my daughter! The bar staff work hard and the longest I had to queue to get a drink at the bar was about 2 minutes, which is a darn site better than my local!

On the negative side, the hotel is positioned in the middle of nowhere so I would suggest it might be a bit remote for younger couples. You can walk to Villamoura via the beach (about 45 minutes) and the hotel does lay on a regular courtesy but transfers to Albufeira (take my advice, you want the THIRD stop if you want the shops – it’s a long walk from stop 2!!).

The hotel seems to attract more French and German than British – the only negative there is the lack of discipline for queuing from our European counterparts, particularly with regard to the free bus service! To balance the books however, in terms of sun-beds, it’s the Brits (not the Germans or French!!) who seem to do the lion’s share of sun-bed reservation. On the second week if your towel wasn’t occupying a position before 9:00 then you might have struggled and I can imagine that August would be quite busy in the restaurants and round the pool. Sun-beds and parasols are provided on the beach too which is accessible by 92 wooden steps (what a feat of engineering!!).

As the title says, thoroughly good holiday, great hotel, nice people.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaldEagle1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,198)
There are newer reviews for Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed at this hotel between 13th-20th July 2009 on an All Inclusive basis. There was myself and my husband, and a 15 year old, and a 2 and a half year old. We had a family room which is basically 2 seperate rooms with a small shared entrance hall with a front door (so you can leave your room doors open and just have the front door closed if you wanted to). We thought it would be 2 bedrooms with a shared lounge area - so were a little bit diappointed - but it was fine as it was.

Due to a late arrival by Easyjet (2 hour delay) we arrived at 10.30pm. The staff were quite helpful and told us to get some food straight away as the snacks finish at 11pm.

The general impression was a good one, everything is clean and tidy. The rooms are OK - there was cot already in one room for the little 'un. The staff were also very friendly - I think they generally like kids so tend to smile a lot when faced with a cheeky grin. We had no experience of being treated differently to other nationalities - I do think it makes a difference if you smile, and say 'Obrigado' as they do appreciate and remember politeness.

There was no real boundary between the Aquamarine Beach Club and the Adriana Resort - we were in block P which is smack bang between the two reception areas - we pretty much always used the Adriana side as the buffet had better choice and the pool was bigger.

Good points:
Buffet food always hot and vaired and plentiful.
Free shutlle bus to town 6 days a week.
Pool(s) a good size - you will have to 'reserve your sunbed' with towels by about 8.30am though!.. and theyare a bit chilly in the morning...

Niggles:
You have to hire your pool towels (5 Euro per towel per week, + 10 Euro deposit)
You have to hire your remote control if you care about the TV (2.50 Euro per day)
You have to hire the Safe (2.50 Euro per day).
The Beds in the rooms are on the firm side
No other speciality restaurants.

The beach was big, clean and not too far to walk down the stairs. It was too much to carrry every day with a under 3 but worth a visit. Again, go early as the beds / umbrellas get reserved quickly. If you have teenagers you can send them off walking ! there are no hotel facilities though - so take water / snacks etc if you plan to be a while.

Our youngest loved the kids disco, parrots etc as well (mentioned in other reviews). I can see 'teens' getting bored after a while although there are pool tables / games room / Internet post so they don't feel cut-off.

When we checked out (midday), we were still able to use all the facilities / food / bar etc until we left at 5pm.

In summary, I have stayed in many All Inclusive places and this was OK, but when my youngest is older we'll probably head back to Egypt (Sinai) where the weather is just as good but you do get more for your money... and all inclusive covers everything (inlcuding towels). Overall we all had a good time, and came away with a positive feeling about the place.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Please don't worry about any negative reviews. We were a large group of 4 families with 10 children between us. We were not treated any differently than all the other nationalities in this great hotel. We found it to have a lovely atmosphere. The kids loved the reptile show, parrot show etc, which were all translated into a few languages (including english!) The food is fantastic. We were there for 2 weeks and I don't think I ate the same thing twice! We ate in The Adriana all the time. The Aquamarina buffet had a much smaller selection. The entertainment team were really lovely and made sure that all the children enjoyed whatever they were joining in, and all the kids of all nationalities joined in together. The staff spoke to each child in their own language. The kids disco at night was loved by all our children young and old, and even the adults enjoyed the dancing.
You could actually go here and not spend a penny. There are bottled water machines to provide fresh drinking water. Tea, coffee, etc machines all day, and during dinner you help yourself to water, juice, beer and white or rose wine. Glasses and caraffes are on the table. You do have to pay for drinks after 11pm, if you are daft enough not to have got a few in before 11pm!! It wasn't a problem to get a few extra and sit up later listening to the music and having a dance. Not a cloud in the sky for 2 weeks. We'd definately go back.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e.neill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We booked this 3 day break at short notice (24 hours before) and, from the reviews, we did expect more. We have stayed in all-inclusive hotels before but felt let down by this one... charges for room safe, TV remote control, pool towels, drinks after 11pm, bottled water, coffee made by the staff (vending machine coffee was free).... not what was expected when you pay for all-inclusive. The hotel also lets itself down by not having tea / coffee making facilities in the room (and the room are very basic) and no waiter service in the restaurants and bars for drinks which I found quite unusual. Also not sure about the purpose of the fridge in the room which was not stocked with drinks?
Having said that the hotel and rooms were neat and clean and the food was good - but I can imagine that this could become a little repetative if you stay for a week or longer.
The beach is fabulous and worth the 92 wooden steps you have to contend with to get there.
Yes there are many families and yes the restaurant does get busy - but this is a large resort and we are into peak season. We didn't find this caused problems getting drinks or meals.
Our reason for visiting was to recharge batteries for a few days and for that purpose I would say the hotel was fine (albeit expensive). Not sure I would view it the same if we stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vell2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Cannot understand the negative views of some reviewers especially comments around location and steps to beach - do your homework before you go surely ! Travelled as single parent with 18yr old and 13 yr old and we had a great time. Totally chilled out around the lovely pool area, temperatures around 90 degrees, never saw a single cloud all week. No experience of children's entertainment as we don't need it but played tennis, table tennis and billiards regularly. Room was a good size for three of us, big balcony area and large bathroom, cleaned to high standard each day. Beach was lovely and only moments away. I ate smoked salmon, monkfish, langoustines, swordfish, mussels, sole, salads; kids stuck to roast meat, kebabs, pasta dishes, chips, loads ot sweets to choose from. Dining rooms got busy in evenings but I always find this at all-inclusive. The complex is spread out but you can often get a lift from a passing member of staff in 'golf 'buggy' type transport. I paid £1500 for three of us and consider it money well spent. Get out early to reserve sunbeds (have to do it everywhere don't you ?) and get used to the 'foreigners' such as Germans and Dutch, who, after all, are only there to enjoy themselves too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gladwyn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Just arrived home after 14nights at the Aquamarina and couldn't wait to let you know how wonderful it was. The food was fantastic especially in the large restaurant at the Adriana side. Vegetarians are well catered for and there was a huge variety. As with most All Inclusive hotels you would never be in the middle of everything but this hotel was ideally situated with a lovely 30 minute walk along the beach to Vilamoura a lovely resort with a fabulous marina. The complementery coach into Albufeira was excellent about six per day. There was always something going on in the hotel to amuse children and adults alike. The evening entertainment was enjoyable Lorenzo and the team work really hard. The people who have complained about the French being treated better than the English must have been to a different place as we had no problem in that way. In fact we thought everyone was very friendly and treated us very well. Everywhere was extremely well looked after and the rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. If your room was a little further away all you had to do was ring reception and a man in a little electric car would come and take you anywhere on site. They were always to be found and you could flag them down at any time. We felt we were treated exceptionally well and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the holiday. In fact it is the best holiday we have had. Thank you Lorenzo and the team you all work extremely hard.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Burty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We arrived at Aquamarina on 2nd July and checked right back out again the same day. The location was not what we perceived it to be, on a cliff edge and at the end of a long road, with nothing at all in walking disctance.
When we arrived at the hotel, i just did not get a good feel, reception wasn't the most welcoming and it just appeared to be very dark and un-inviting! We checked in and went to our room. It was on the ground floor which passers by could look straight in, the beds were damp. The bathroom just had a small shower area and no bath. The hotel in my opinion did not reflect it's 4 star standard.
The gardens were very well maintained and the pool area was really nice but the steps down to the beach, were a little unsafe! The beach was lovely but no toilets or any facilities to get a drink, just loungers.
We looked at the restaurants and the food looked ok but not where i would like to spend a whole week eating.
This hotel is dedicated to non-british people and i really felt un-welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
2.5 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
104 reviews
2.3 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,668 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort

Address: Apartado 6115 Rocha Baixinha, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-379, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £91 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in an area of 17 hectares, Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort has 439 rooms, providing family environment, diverse service offer and quality care. Situated in Olhos de Água, in the municipality of Albufeira, in the Algarve, this Resort is housed in natural environment and enjoys a privileged location next to the beach, guaranteeing the peace and privacy of our guests, yet ideal for holding events. The proximity of the city of Albufeira and Vilamoura tourist complex, two tourist destinations and animation of the region represents an alternative for those who prefer to explore the potential around the hotel. The All Inclusive concept takes in this hotel its highest expression, given that waiver include the diverse range of services provided. Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort offers a huge variety of buffets in our 3 Restaurants: A main Restaurant and two theme restaurants(availability and time-tables may change and are subject to seasonal demand), which include meat and fish dishes, as well as vegetarian options, freshly baked pizzas,soups, pasta, salads and desserts. Throughout the day, in addition to the main meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner), there are snacks. Drinks are also included, throughout the day and during all meals. There is water, soft drinks, beer, wine and other alcoholic drinks. In our hotel, the All Inclusive offer theme nights, where our buffets change and give you the possibility of enjoying new dishes: Portuguese, asian, tropical, mexican and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquamarina Beach Club Hotel Olhos De Agua
Aquamarina Beach Hotel
Aquamarina Beach Albufeira
Adriana Beach Club Hotel Resort Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing