We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it again”
Review of Villas d'Agua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villas d'Agua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2012

we were at the villa d'agua from Oct.9th to 21.. this was our second time there . the last time was 3 years ago.
our experience then and now were very positive; in other words we would go back. The personal at the front desk were always ready to help and maids did an excellent job.
The restaurant (Tangerine) served very good food and the owner and staff were very friendly.
Thank you to all
Roger and Denise

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Villas d'Agua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel is in a very quiet area: quiet enough that is not crowded with tourists, but with two nearby supermarkets to buy the basic stuff. The appartments are modern, well equiped (although the rying pans need renewal), spatious and very clean. The swimming pool area and the swimming pool itself is amazing. We didn't try the restaurant, tho. The beach is a 10 minute walk away... but with high tide there is no beach, only an ashtounding view to the cliffs and the sunsets. People at the reception desk are kind and very helpful. We only had one problem with the cleaning service being noisy too early in the morning, and after our complaint, they never made noise again.

The cons? You certainly need a car to move around (plenty of restaurants only 5-10 minutes away by car) and free wifi is only avaliable in the reception area, which closes at 10pm. I think that such a high class hotel should offer free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Langly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I got married here in July organised by Sonhos a Dois wedding planners. It was perfect. 60 of our friends and family came out and everyone commented that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. The setting is unbelievable and very romantic. The staff were very friendly and accommodating for what we wanted. The food was amazing and we opted for a BBQ buffet which all our guests said was some of the best food they had ever had. Several of our guests including ourselves stayed here over the wedding and as self catered accommodation this place is unbeatable. The villas spread over 3 floors give lots of space and the views are incredible. The cleaners are friendly and meticulate visiting everyday when we were there. The pool is huge and not deep so good for kids. The view from the pool is second to none. I would highly recommend this venue for those considering a wedding in Portugal. If prepared to spend a bit more on a holiday this hotel will not disappoint with the friendliness of its staff, picturesque setting and great local town.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Aidanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

very spacious and everything we needed to have an excellent two week holiday.great location for all amenities.reception staff very helpful.room cleaned every day and clean towels every day.massive l shaped balcony with sun beds.be nice to staff it goes a long way.

Room Tip: apartments have great balconies and lots of sun.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Just spent a lovely week here and was very impressed. There were 3 of us sharing a one bed apartment so we were worried that it might be a tight squeeze. Quite the opposite, the apartment was really spacious and spread over 3 levels with a patio on the ground floor as well as an additional balcony with a gorgeous sea view. Pool area was clean and lovely and the staff friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet chilled out time in a picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

These studios are part of the Oceanus Hotel next door, which is where we checked in. We were expecting a one room studio so were pleasantly surprised to be checked into a large studio, comprising sitting room, with screened alcove off, containing the beds. The sitting room with table & chairs, flat screen TV/DVD, easy chairs & coffee table, led onto a large enough balcony with patio table & chairs. There was a separate kitchen equipped with toaster, kettle, microwave, fridge 2 burner halogen hob & sufficient equipment to put a very simple meal together. The bathroom had a walk in shower (not a bath) & a hairdryer plus the usual. If you like boiled eggs, take egg cups with you, aswell as washing up liquid & dishcloths. T Towels are supplied. The supermarket is just a few yards away & there are a couple of routes to the beach, one of which is steep!-not a problem for most people.
The apartments were kept reasonably clean, & the towels & linen were changed regularly We would go back there without hesitation.
Getting around is easy as the bus stop & taxi rank is just across the road from the Oceanus Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best as they are away from a fairly busy road. The Olhos does have li...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank granwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

By south-european standards, Villas d'Agua still is above average! It's in the higher price-range.

Location: Villas d'Agua is a low-rise accomodation complex in Olhos d'Agua, a small fishingvillage close to Albufeira. It's on the outskirts of the small village (but within walking distance of all the shops&restaurants) and it's very quiet. If you want to party: please don't go there! If you like nice, relaxing and quiet: yes, this is the place to be! Rather easy to find (well marked throughout the village).

Check-in/out: Upon arrival you'll immediatly have the 'wow'-factor if you step inside the lobby: there is that beautiful seaview right away! Personell is very friendly and accomodating: I arrived horribly early (before 9am) but use my apartment right away! Upon availability they'll offer late check-out (till noon without a charge, any later then that for a E35 fee) aswell.

Accomodation: In my opinion I had the best acco available: #11, a 1 bedroom multi-level apartment (they call it apartments, but it's more a townhouse-style construction): livingroom&terras on the groundfloor, half a level up the kitchen (with all the appliances you'll need including a dishwasher & washing machine), another level up the balcony and on the top level the bathroom & the bedroom (these are not suitable for the disabled, but there are some that are!). Bathroom is a bit dated. Steel shutters (instead of traditional wooden ones) on groundfloor adds to safety. Airconditioning in livingroom and bedroom: only had to use it once in the bedroom and the noise from the unit was acceptable (cooling was great). There is also a small tv with a couple of channels: portuguese tv uses subtitles, so'll you'll have the original languages in films/series. The balcony has a table and 4 chairs. I found the beds in the bedroom extremely hard: ended up putting the 2 matresses on top of each other, which helped a bit. Enough closet-space and free use of in-room safe. Lots of space for a solo-traveler and probably enough space for a couple as well. There is a sleepersofa in the livingroom (I'm not sure if it's suitable for adults), but they can place additonal beds (for a fee). As soon as you're traveling with more people, you should probably opt for a 2 bedroom apartment: they'll have 2 bathrooms. Walls are (ofcourse) not soundproof, so you'll hear your next-door neighbours.

Grounds: Very well kept! Every acco has it's own parking spot. Acco's are built in a semi-circle around a large infinity-style pool. The pool (not heated) is on a raised area (so you'll have a nice seabreeze there on most days!) and you'll also find the restaurant on that level. Seperate childrens-pool. There is a play-area for kids, a poolbar (closed when I was there), a bar-area at the reception level and a gazebo (which can be used for private functions) in the gardens.

General:
- VdA offers 2 types of accomodations )1 bedroom & 2 bedroom) with various lay-outs. Keep in mind that most - BUT NOT ALL! - have some sort of (partial) seaview. And NOT are townhouses! Some 2 bdr apartments are on the groundfloor with 1 bdr apartments on top of them: not much of a view and probably noisy (all units have tiled floors, moving furniture makes a lot of noise!)
- VdA has a small Spa center: I found the services very relaxing, so do try them!
- Mini-mercado (mini-market) next to the Spa, daily fresh bread .. but don't rely on the opening-hours: somethimes they're just closed ;-)!
- About 5 minutes down the road you'll find a larger grocery store, which is open from 8am till 8pm and 5 minutes from there is a hypermarket (large store).
- VdA has it's own restaurant (Tangerine), but there are lots of other (small) restaurants close by, especially near the beach.
- On low tide you can reach the small Olhos d'Agua beach (tends to fill up rather quickly: limited amount of loungechairs etc.) by using the path right in front of the complex (steep!). On high tide you'll have to walk back through the village. On low tide you can also walk from the OdA-beach to the larger beach . Keep it mind that it's a stiff walk (ca. 45-60 minutes, in the heat!) back to your accomodation as you can't walk back past the cliffs on high tide.
- Housekeeping is friendly, but inconsistent: never sure when to expect fresh towels/linens and how many. No basic supply of dishwasher tabs etc. are povided, so bring your own.
- Pool towels are provided: just get a towel-card at the reception and exchange it for a towel at the restaurants! I found these towels to be of better quality then the ones in the unit!
- They play music at the restuarant, but not that loud that it will bother you when you're lounging at the pool.
- Noise around the complex will intensify especially on saturdaynights (mayby more evenings in high season): live music nearby and party-boats (!) on the water.

Overall: Guests are mostly Dutch (60%), some English (20%) and the rest Portugese (mostly owners). When I was there, they made sure nobody used the 'reserve-your-sunlounger-by-leaving-your towel on it'-policy. In high-season the pool area will probably fill up quickly and there may not be enough loungechairs/umbrellas.

Unforunately, the complex is not brandnew anymore (8 or 9 years or so) and you'll find wear and tear all around (had a weird - mold stain on the ceiling between kitchen/livingroom: it seemed to grow a bit bigger every day ....)! It doesn't look like any renovations/maintenance are to be scheduled, so without that it'll get a bit worse every year .. that's a bit sad, because the location is so marvelous! But for the near future it sure is a recommendable place to stay, especially in low-season!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview: it's worth it!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Anika43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhos de Agua
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falesia Mar by 3HB
Falesia Mar by 3HB
#5 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,668 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
ClubHotel Riu Guarana
#3 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas d'Agua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas d'Agua

Address: Travessa Torre da Medronheira, Olhos de Agua, Albufeira 8200-635, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira > Olhos de Agua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Olhos de Agua
Price Range: £38 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas d'Agua 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villas d'Agua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas d`Agua Hotel Olhos De Agua
Villas D'Agua Portugal/Algarve - Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing