We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Gianluca”

Novacortica Cork Factory Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.24*
and up
Cork Factory Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Contact for availability. Discover the story and witness the processes of one of the most characteristic industries in Portugal. You will never look at cork the same way. CLOSED from 18.December.2015 to 03.January.2016 and from 28.July.2016 to 21.August.2016
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank you Gianluca”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Thank you Gianluca for such an interesting tour of the cork factory in Sao Bra. Your presentation was very informative and you patiently managed to answer all our questions and we had many, causing our presentation to go over the allotted time.
I was so impressed to hear that there is absolutely no waste to the cork as any waste material is turned into granules and reused. We now check every wine bottle we open to see if the cork has single, double or no discs at all. The ladies in the tour loved all the designer items. purses, umbrellas, hats etc.
This tour was certainly worth taking and would recommend any body visiting the area to visit Novacortica
Thanks from Canada, Bud, Marion, Peter, Barb, Rose, Maurice, Michael and Diane

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysonthego77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianluca P, Tourism Department at Novacortica Cork Factory Tour, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi,

First of all thank you all for the visit and the review.
As I mentioned, I feel very happy to be able to show others all the transformation processes of cork in our factory. It is indeed a very versatile natural material.

Thank you again for your visit. Hope that everything is well with all of you.

Best regards,

Gianluca Pereyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    29
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eyes opening into the cork industry”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We are very happy to have visited the cork factory Nova Cortica, it really opened our eyes into the cork industry, how things work and how much work and time cork actually needs. Thanks to Gianluca's presentation skills we learned a lot and we didn't a single moment loose our focus on the presentation. We recommend this visit to anybody in the area with interest to learn more about the Portuguese culture/industry.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianluca_turis, Tourism Department at Novacortica Cork Factory Tour, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi Laura,

Thank you for your review. The cork industry is very important for the Portuguese, culture and economy. It's something that has been like this for many years and we are proud to have the opportunity to share this with you.

Best regards,

Gianluca Pereyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus8800
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cork Factory”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visited the Cork Factory while staying with friends in the district.
This was much better than we had expected. The reception was extremely friendly and the tour quite fascinating, ending with a visit to the outlet for cork products which is quite amazing.
This is a visit well worth the couple of hours required and some of the products, handbags, hats, umbrellas will surprise you!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank lysosians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianluca_turis, Tourism Department at Novacortica Cork Factory Tour, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Hi lysosians,

Thank you for the positive review. We aim our best to make you feel welcome, we are glad also that you enjoyed the handbags, hats and umbrellas made from cork.

Best regards.
Gianluca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almancil, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fascinating and informative tour”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

26 members of the Estoi Palace Rotary Club had a guided tour of the factory preceded by a very enlightening presentation about how cork is prepared and what can be made with it. This list may include more things than you might first think of - handbags, umbrellas, mobile phone holders, even furniture coverings a full range of items can be seen at their on line shop www.pelcor.pt. The factory produces over 1.5 million cork discs a day to be used in wine bottles. They pride themselves on quality and there is still not a machine that can pick out unsightly discs spoiled by fungus as well as the four ladies they employ to do this. If you are staying in the area this is well worth a visit for a very small entry fee. They can be contacted via their website http://www.novacortica.pt/

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrillyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianluca_turis, at Novacortica Cork Factory Tour, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi,

First of all thanks for your positive review. Is always a pleasure to tour groups from 50 to even just 1 person. There are indeed no limits for the uses we can give to cork.

We hope to see you again.

Gianluca Pereyra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olhao, Portugal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Novacortica: A must a visit!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We visited the factory Nova Cortiça on Friday 24/01/2014. We were hosted in an excellent and professional way by Gianluca Pereyra. There is a world opening in front of your eyes if you understand what cork actually is. An environmentally friendly material with unique characteristics and not only used for the wine and champagne stoppers but also in fashion, fantastic! This factory and its important division for fashion accessories Pelcor is a very nice example of innovation and it lifts cork as a Portuguese national symbol to another level. We advise everybody with an interest in local industries to include this company on their list of important “to visits” when you are in the Algarve. It is more than worth!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Robrecht D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gianluca_turis, Tourism Department at Novacortica Cork Factory Tour, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi,

First of all thank you for your review. Cork is one of the most eco-friendly materials that nature as given us. It is good to know that we are making our best to pass on this message as well.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Novacortica Cork Factory Tour also viewed

Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
Sao Bras de Alportel, Faro District
 
Loule, Faro District
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 

Been to Novacortica Cork Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing