We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice restaurant in Agua de Pau overlooking the village church” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paraiso do Milenio

Paraiso do Milenio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This restaurant is an unheralded gem! Two of us had 3 courses plus an excellent bottle of wine from Pico for 42Euro. Service (English well-spoken) was prompt, friendly and helpful. Compared to a "prominent" restaurant in Lagoa ("Bord a Mar") where we'd gone the previous day, this was a gourmet meal. It's a shame it's not listed!
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in Agua de Pau overlooking the village church”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had a good dinner here and the service was attentive. Well worth a visit if u are staying locally and ask to eat on the terrace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjnaylor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    33
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had a good dinner here. Staff we particularly helpful and friendly, with a little picture book to show you the different types of fish. Nice food although portions were huge so be careful about over-ordering.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, don't listen to your hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Caloura in July 2012. Our guide recommended this restaurant. The restaurant moved from the above address I think. The story is that the family had two places then they consolidated down to one. It is located right in the center of Agua de Pau near the church and where people play soccer.
There is a bar downstairs and restaurant upstairs with inside and outside seating. Looking at the place and then the menu we were expecting just an average meal. As it turns out we had one of the best meals of our trip. Not because it was really fancy or that service was fantastic but because the fish I had was fresh, simply prepared and delicious. My wife enjoyed stewed octopus, she loved it and still talks about how good it was. The wine list was not overly marked up. We were there a little late for dinner and ended up being the last table. The founders son who now owns the place, he is about 28 years old, was there and we had a very nice conversation with him and then his wife. They were just married like us within the past few weeks. Very genuine people and like almost all Azorians exceedingly proud of their island.

I will go back here next time I am on Sao Miguel.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

In agua de pau are not so many restaurants. But the Milenio was wonderful. Good food, nice service. Great choice between meat and fish and seafood. I was there for 10 nights and had dinner for 8 nights in Milenio.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilena73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Industrialized frozen meals”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

The food lacks taste and reminds of industrialized frozen meals.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mknordstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paraiso do Milenio also viewed

 
Vila Franca do Campo, Sao Miguel
 

Been to Paraiso do Milenio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing