We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quinta da Mo delivers exceptional experience”
Review of Quinta da Mo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta da Mo
Ranked #1 of 5 Furnas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quinta da Mo delivers exceptional experience”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Quinta da Mo is a treasure. We stayed for 10 days in Casa do Engenho and never wanted to leave. The owners, Luisa and Abel Valerio, are the picture of hospitality. Stone waterways, beautiful gardens, a private spa, and a wooded surrounding made for a breathtaking oasis. All accommodations were of the highest caliber.

The proximity to the town of Furnas made venturing to the local attractions very pleasant. We visited the local geothermal pools for a soak on multiple occasions, and visited Caldeiras & Vulcoes for dinner as well. The food was incredible! Another local attraction that is a must see is Lagoa do Furnas. We hiked from Quinta da Mo to the lake and then hiked its perimeter. Amazing!

We did lots of hiking all over Sao Miguel island and always looked forward to returning to Quinta da Mo and Furnas at the end of each day. Our experience far exceeded our expectations, and the Valerios will forever have our gratitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinFrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
85
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a great week in Casa do Granel! The place is simply wonderful.

It as been a great pleasure to know Valerio & Luisa (owners) which have given us plenty of good tips and spent some good time with us drinking some good wines ;-).

We can just recommend the stay at Quinta da Mo!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rideboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It is incredible to see how some people try to please and help others far beyond expectations. This is the case of Luisa and Abel, the owners of this fantastic place called Quinta da Mó. They gave us such a warm welcome that we felt as if we were life long friends. Luisa gave us really useful información about the magnificent Island upon arrival. She looks carefully at every single detail to make sure you feel confortable and happy: and I assure you every ingredient for happiness is in there.
The houses are beautifully furnished and decorated and everything is absolutely clean. The gardens are perfectly entertained and gorgeus. You are in close contact with nature but with top confort incide the house.
There is a barbecue ready for use with everything you can imagine for a posh dinner outdoors in a beautiful spot by the stream.
And our kids aged 9 and 8 loved rowing in a small boat in a small and absolutely secure pool made in the stream, perfect for them to handle without adult help.
I could write for ages, every detail was surprising.
But most of all we would like to thank Luisa and Abel for their amability and care. Although we only met shortly twice we could feel they really try to make the best of your stay.
We will definitely come back to Quinta da Mó and we will recommend it to all our friends and family without hesitation.
The Island of Sao Miguel is definitely worth a visit and i can not thank of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My daughter and I absolutely loved the Quinta da Mo! Upon entering the blue gates you are entering peaceful, beautifully kept gardens, the soft sound of waterways, a stream and a small waterfall. There are landscaped and well thought out walkways providing privacy and beauty to all fortunate enough to be staying in the estate. If you have a car, there is secure, convenient parking right inside the gate of the estate. There is a well equipped outdoor barbecue/cooking/dining area next to the stream and near by is a covered outdoor relaxation room with hammock, reclined lounger, table and chairs. Perfect for a gathering of friends or a hideout from the world next to the stream and waterfall. Our house was modern and furnished beautifully with a fully stocked kitchen for cooking. Luisa has a basket of breads, fruits, milk, yogurt, jams, ham and cheese, and cereal to get you started. It was more than enough for our four day stay. The house and the entire estate was immaculately cared for. We were greeted by the owners- Louisa and Abel, who provided some tea and homemade cake while they explained the area and possible sights we would like to see. This was all written on the map they provided for us. We think they were the most gracious hosts we have encountered on our travels. We loved the Quinta da Mo so much, we spent one day just relaxing there after so much sight seeing in the previous days. We watched the world cup on our TV. They have thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and convenient. There is a private coin laundry house at the end of one of the walkways that is clean and detergent is included in the wash already. There is much to do in the area. Walking around the lake, soaking in the hot springs 2 blocks away for 2 euros. We went in the morning and had it to ourselves- heaven!
The gardens of Terre Nostra were beautiful and there is another hot springs pool to try there, a lovely dinner at the hotel in town (a bit pricy but a special occasion), drives to either coast to go to beaches. This is a perfect home base for seeing this entire end of the island. We would recommend staying here over anywhere else in the area. It would be perfect for a group of travelers allowing them to have their own little house but getting together in the various sitting areas to cook together or relax. This would suit those who are hiking the islands but want some comfort and peace at the end of each day. Our four day stay was barely enough.

Room Tip: There is a main house a group of three couples or a family would be very comfortable in with three b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigskymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I found this place from Trip Advisor and seen all good reviews encourage me to book this place.
This was the first time staying in this type of accommodation and to be honest, Since I was travelling with my family I was a little nervous. But it was exactly as described by other travellers, even better. Every thing is designed and prepared carefully and beautifully.
We were a family of 5 and stayed at Casa Do Granel Vila which is an one bedroom T1 villa.
It is large enough, very clean and comfortable. Very beautiful setting and view.
Luisa and Abel are very warm and kind and ready to help in every way.
Luisa welcomed us with making 3 different home made jams and fresh breads and Abel with a bottle of wine. It was really touching.
Quinta da Mo has very thing that you need to make your stay really memorable and comfortable.
If you are looking for a safe, clean and high end in Sao Miguel, this is the best place.
There are Mini Market, restaurant and Hot spring spa in walking distance.
We stayed 4 Nights there but we enjoyed every minutes of it. we definitely will love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Casa Do Granel Vila has the best view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asp4970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

There wasn't anything bad or even remotely negative that I could say about this accommodation. Everything from the view to the service recieved was top notch!! I was truly speechless when I arrived.

The villas were very modern, clean and fully stocked. They were also cleaned daily. Every Villa had a little private porch with patio furniture and comfortable chairs - perfect for eating breakfast outside in the morning. There was also a jacuzzi, BBQ area and an outdoor lounge with hammocks- all very secluded and private.

When we arrived there were bread and pasteries as well as home made jam in the fridge, among other things. The service was personnalized!! The owners, luisa and Able Valerio were extremely kind and courteous. They checked up on us to see how we were doing.

The view was amazing, the landscape beautifully crafted and the service impeccable. This would be one place I would definitely come back to.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Farshid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

What a beautiful place this is! The quinta is quite a large estate, beautifully preserved and cared for by the owners who are ever so helpful and friendly and try to give you the best time in their accomodation, but of course also on Sao Miguel. We unfortunately only stayed here for three days, but it was by far the most beautiful accomodation of our trip and hence the perfect ending of what had been a beautiful 2-week round-trip on the Azores. The house in which we stayed was very new, modern and well catered for and was cleaned every day, even the dishes would be done should you lack the time to do it yourself. There is a garden with a nice terrace surrounding the house so you have enough privacy and really feel at home in this beautiful natural surroundings. There are plenty of things to do in quite close proximity of the quinta and we liked this part of the island actually a lot better than Ponta Delgada where we stayed the first few days when we arrived. Also plenty of restaurants around (walking distance from the Quinta) if you don't feel like making use of your kitchen in your own house. In short: if you're visiting Sao Miguel this is definitely the best place to stay, you will immediately emerge in the tropical holiday feeling and everything on the estate ( not in the least the owners) will make sure you will continue to feel that way your entire stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furnas
0.4 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
11.2 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Mo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Mo

Property: Quinta da Mo
Address: Rua da Agua Quente 66 | São Miguel, Açores, Furnas, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9675-040, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao > Furnas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Furnas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta da Mo 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Quinta da Mo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Mo Furnas, Portugal - Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing