We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retreat in Furnas. Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Quinta da Mo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quinta da Mo
Ranked #1 of 4 Furnas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat in Furnas. Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We are so glad we stayed at Quinta da Mo during our trip to Sao Miguel. Once you enter through the blue doors you find yourself enveloped in a tranquil paradise of flowers and all things green. You could easily spend most of your time exploring the beautiful grounds, relaxing by the stream, enjoying your own private deck, or taking a dip in the hot tub. There are 3 modern homes (as if from the pages of Dwell) and a historic stone house that has been renovated with all modern amenities. The units are clean (daily cleaning service), very well equipped, have excellent wifi, and maintained to the highest standard. The owners, Luisa & Abel, truly care about the comfort & enjoyment of their guests. Any questions that we emailed prior to our stay were promptly answered. Once we arrived, they gave us a warm welcome reception and provided us with a lot of information about things to see, where to eat, made reservations for us, etc. Abel even helped us get some yummy custard apples from their trees. They don't live on the grounds but are on site from morning until early evening. You are given a key to access the property. Make sure to confirm your arrival time the day before if you check in outside of their normal hours. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast - you are presented on your arrival with a large assortment of fruit, Azorean milk & yogurt, cereal, locally made bread, homemade jams (delicious), and some meats & local cheese. There is parking on site. It's best if you rent a compact car to get around Sao Miguel - some roads are quite narrow & it will be easier to park. Make sure to check out the thermal pools just 2 minutes away. Furnas restaurants, Lake Furnas, and Terra Nostra gardens are within walking distance. We loved our stay at Quinta da Mo and the warm hospitality of Luisa & Abel. We have already recommended this property to family & friends and would most certainly return ourselves!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycNY_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
83
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Quinta Da Mo is simply one of the nicest accommodations we have every experienced. As you enter through the blue gate, the world is transformed from the somewhat shabby surroundings on the outskirts of Furnas into an oasis of sounds, sights, and smells. There is a creek flowing through the property, with a waterfall and a wooden water mill. There are beautiful bamboo-lined pathways, and an assortment of greenery and flowers. There is a covered rest area with hammocks and lounge chairs, a covered and greenery-encased hot tub, a fully-equipped outdoor cooking area … they were even in the process of building a glass-walled library upstream from the waterfall where it is a little quieter. The accommodations are four individual modern houses – three one-bedroom and one three-bedroom. Our one-bedroom house had a small kitchen and dining table, a living room with a sofa and modern TV, WiFi, a modern bathroom, a private deck with an outdoor dining area and rocking lounge chairs, and a comfortable bedroom (though the bed was a little hard – the only negative thing I would say about the place). It was tempting to spend our days and evenings at Qunita Da Mo rather than visiting the sites of Furnas. On one rainy day we did just that, soaking in the hot tub, napping in the hammocks in the covered rest area, watching a movie in the little house. We were so glad we were at Quinta Da Mo and not stuck in a hotel room waiting for the clouds to clear.

The hosts, Louisa and Valerio, are simply wonderful people. Louisa gave us cake and tea upon arrival and oriented us to the sites in the area, numbering everything on a map with detailed notes so we could actually use the information, rather than having it pass into one ear and out the other. At one point we asked where we could buy a 220V-110V voltage converter as the one we brought had malfunctioned. Valerio picked one up for us in Ponta Delgada (an hour away) and dropped it off the next morning. While soaking in the hot tub later that day, Valerio brought me a bottle of one of his favorite Portuguese red wines, which was indeed excellent. Some other personal touches - I’ll warn you that this is a “spoiler alert” so if you have already decided to stay here don’t read the rest of this paragraph - they have on their gate a set of international flags, and they make a point of flying the flags of their current guest’s counties. If they have a guest from a more obscure place, Valerio has a new flag made. And upon leaving, they present you with a personally-engraved glass paperweight to commemorate your visit.

We’ve traveled a fair bit and stayed at some lovely places, but rarely if ever have we found such accommodating hosts and such lovely surroundings. If you are lucky enough to find vacancy here while planning your trip to Sao Miguel, I highly recommend you book Quinta Da Mo right now.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at Quinta da Mo' with our extended family - our family of five, my parents and my brother and his children. Between the main house and the Casa de Granel, we were comfortable and very well taken care of. Others have described it as an oasis, and I cannot disagree. Other reviews talk about Valerio and Luisa's hospitality and helpfulness, and I cannot disagree. But I will add that Quinta da Mo' was like visiting a favorite relative's home - you are made to feel welcome and at home, you are invited to use the facilities for your own pleasure and relaxation, and you are given treats - home made jams, bread and cheese, snacks and even cake to make you feel cared for. It was wonderful and we are already looking forward to our next trip to Sao Miguel, Furnas and most of all Quinta da Mo'.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N N M R B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Quinta da Mo was a fantastic choice for our 4 night stay during our 10 days in the Azores. We rented a car (with the help of Luisa) and enjoyed the drive up through the hills. Behind the blue gate was paradise. Luisa and Abel welcomed us with open arms and were fantastic hosts. They created a perfect place for vacation in Furnas. The grounds itself were immaculate. We could come and go as we please, we cooked using the wood fire grill, we enjoyed the ducks and all of the natural plants and wonders of this place. It was hard to leave to explore the island because everything we wanted was there; A waterfall, bamboo garden, a little boat, and a relaxing cabana.

This was the perfect way to celebrate our honeymoon. Thank you to the Quinta da Mo team and especially to Luisa and Abel for being so accommodating!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Quinta da Mo is a treasure. We stayed for 10 days in Casa do Engenho and never wanted to leave. The owners, Luisa and Abel Valerio, are the picture of hospitality. Stone waterways, beautiful gardens, a private spa, and a wooded surrounding made for a breathtaking oasis. All accommodations were of the highest caliber.

The proximity to the town of Furnas made venturing to the local attractions very pleasant. We visited the local geothermal pools for a soak on multiple occasions, and visited Caldeiras & Vulcoes for dinner as well. The food was incredible! Another local attraction that is a must see is Lagoa do Furnas. We hiked from Quinta da Mo to the lake and then hiked its perimeter. Amazing!

We did lots of hiking all over Sao Miguel island and always looked forward to returning to Quinta da Mo and Furnas at the end of each day. Our experience far exceeded our expectations, and the Valerios will forever have our gratitude.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinFrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a great week in Casa do Granel! The place is simply wonderful.

It as been a great pleasure to know Valerio & Luisa (owners) which have given us plenty of good tips and spent some good time with us drinking some good wines ;-).

We can just recommend the stay at Quinta da Mo!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rideboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It is incredible to see how some people try to please and help others far beyond expectations. This is the case of Luisa and Abel, the owners of this fantastic place called Quinta da Mó. They gave us such a warm welcome that we felt as if we were life long friends. Luisa gave us really useful información about the magnificent Island upon arrival. She looks carefully at every single detail to make sure you feel confortable and happy: and I assure you every ingredient for happiness is in there.
The houses are beautifully furnished and decorated and everything is absolutely clean. The gardens are perfectly entertained and gorgeus. You are in close contact with nature but with top confort incide the house.
There is a barbecue ready for use with everything you can imagine for a posh dinner outdoors in a beautiful spot by the stream.
And our kids aged 9 and 8 loved rowing in a small boat in a small and absolutely secure pool made in the stream, perfect for them to handle without adult help.
I could write for ages, every detail was surprising.
But most of all we would like to thank Luisa and Abel for their amability and care. Although we only met shortly twice we could feel they really try to make the best of your stay.
We will definitely come back to Quinta da Mó and we will recommend it to all our friends and family without hesitation.
The Island of Sao Miguel is definitely worth a visit and i can not thank of a better place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Furnas
0.4 mi away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
11.2 mi away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#8 of 41 in Sao Miguel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.9 mi away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Mo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Mo

Property: Quinta da Mo
Address: Rua da Agua Quente 66 | São Miguel, Açores, Furnas, Povoacao, Sao Miguel 9675-040, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Povoacao > Furnas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Furnas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta da Mo 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Quinta da Mo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Mo Furnas, Portugal - Azores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing