We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lonely and bucolic, really wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solar de Boaventura
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boaventura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Boaventura really is in the middle of nowhere, so don't expect to find anything to do besides enjoy the spectacular beauty of the place. The building is lovely. Tile floors and interesting artifacts in a sort of atrium. My room had antique looking (although not actually antique) furniture. The one woman working there the night I stayed did not really speak English, so we communicated in a combination of Spanish (mine) and Madeiran Portuguese (hers). She did manage to convey to me that the internet was available at the church. While I could see the church from my room, the connection did not extend that far. Despite what some of the ads might say, there is not internet at the hotel.

The treatment I received there was wonderful. I was traveling alone, and there was just one other couple at the hotel. I was alone in the dining room when I went for dinner. She set a place for me in the dining room at a table right by a roaring fire. (Nice as it was kind of chilly that evening.) The food was quite good. She convinced me to order a half bottle of Madeiran wine. She was quite proud of it, so I was convinced. Unfortunately, it wasn't so good. I learned to stick to Portuguese vino tinto.

I slept with the window wide opened and heard roosters in the morning. The only down point was that I could sometimes here people walking around very loudly. But, overall, it was a fine experience.

Stayed: January 2008
4  Thank 10fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2006

The hotel is a beautifully renovated old property in the lovely little village of Boaventura in northern Madeira. The surrounding scenery is stunning and you can walk out of the hotel and within a minute or two you are walking up the mountain to the levada. The views are really special; green mountains steeply falling away to the sea.
The hotel is very well run. Our room was immaculate and beautifully furnished. The restaurant served excellent food and all the staff spoke some English and were very friendly and attentive.
Boaventura is a lovely village. It is not a resort, so don't expect nightlife here. There are a couple of restaurants/cafes and a small shop or two.

  • Stayed: May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank clémence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melusine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank man-ge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boaventura
3.7 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
Estalagem do Vale Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sao Vicente
191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cabanas de Sao Jorge Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monte Mar Palace
Monte Mar Palace
#1 of 1 in Ponta Delgada
536 reviews
11.1 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
379 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar de Boaventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Boaventura

Address: Sitio do Serrao | São Vicente, Boaventura, Madeira 9240-046, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Boaventura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boaventura
Price Range: £36 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Boaventura 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boaventura Manor has been carefully refurbished and converted into a hotel, retaining all the original features of rural Madeiran Quintas, offering its guests the pleasure of a comfortable stay together with full and exquisite service. Thanks to its location, you can hike or drive to direct contact with Laurissilva Forest in its purest state, where you can enjoy breath-taking and unparalleled scenery. It offers Living Rooms, a Museum consisting of traditional Madeiran artefacts, Billiards, Bar, Restaurant, Terraces, Gardens, Miniature golf, all designed to offer you a relaxing and very enjoyable stay in Boaventura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Solar de Boaventura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Boaventura Madeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing