We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Difficult to find fault with this villa...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sun seeking in the cool of the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun seeking in the cool of the pool
Al Fresco days Al Fresco nights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Sun seeking in the cool of the pool
Al Fresco days
Al Fresco nights
View from the sun decks
Star gazing in the moonlit pool
Hibiscus in bloom
Downstairs facilities
Just chillin'
Its holiday o'clock!
Celebrity cooking
Sophisticated dining
Well equipped kitchen
Loreto Luxury
Master Bed
Family bathroom
Activity holiday!
Over the bananas to the ocean ...
Bedroom terrace for reviving coffee with a view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Arco da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LondonJmj
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Difficult to find fault with this villa. Comfortable, well equipped in peaceful location.”
Reviewed 23 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The villa is one in a small development of 5 adjacent properties, but being the end villa is fairly private with a well tended allotment to the left and (currently unoccupied) villa to the right. It has unhindered views of the sea, so a lovely, peaceful location. Boundary walls ensure you feel 'self-contained'. The development and individual properties have electronic gates for security. It is a short (uphill) walk to Loreto (or you can drive) , where there is a Santander cashpoint, cafe, pizzeria, hardware shop and good local supermarket which sells basic provisions and freshly baked bread. Recycling facilities are also available between the villa and main road.

It is a short drive to Arco de Calheta where there is another mini market, pharmacy etc, and also not far to the seafront at Calheta where there are cafes/restaurants on the marina and a good Pingo Doce supermarket. (We preferred this to Continente at Ribeira Bravo.) If you go to Calheta make sure you park in a designated parking space (20 cents for each 15 mins in main street), the supermarket car park or the main car park for marina (with bright blue wall). We made the mistake of parking on the hill coming in to Calheta by the Savoy hotel. There are no yellow lines here but we got a 30 Euro ticket as apparently if cars need to drive on the other carriageway to pass by parked cars it's a traffic violation.

The villa itself has contemporary decor, is spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. There is a large kitchen and open plan living/dining area (with 3 sofas), seating for 6-8 at dining table and internet TV picks up UK TV channels. There is also a utility room and handy WC on this level. French doors open out onto a large patio area with loungers, a dining table/chairs, BBQ, with gated steps down to pool area.

Upstairs (level with front entrance/car port) the master bedroom has a large shower room, with WC,bidet & double sinks (I did find these a bit shallow and plug seals didn't seem to work very effectively but a fairly minor inconvenience). There is another double bedroom, a twin room, family bathroom with jacuzzi bath (+ shower attachment), sink, WC & bidet.

The local agents were friendly, reliable and dealt promptly with any queries. We were also impressed by the communications we had from the villas owners before/during our stay ensuring that everything was clearly explained and demonstrating that they genuinely care that people renting the property have an enjoyable and problem-free holiday.

We have stayed in villas for nearly 40 years and this is probably one of the best I have rented in terms of quality.

We went whale watching with Lobosonda on the Stenella rib in Calheta and would recommend this if you like exciting boat rides and wildlife. We hired our hire car from Zest Car Rental/Insularcar, who were good value and efficient (though as others have mentioned you may want to hire a more powerful car than usual as Madeira is so hilly!). We drove round the perimeter of the island (though never got to Funchal or Monte) and particularly enjoyed watching the waves crash against the rocks at Porto Moniz (nw tip of island - the natural swimming pools here looked like they might be great on a calmer, warmer day!), the old style houses near Santana, and a long walk out on the far eastern tip at Ponta de Sao Lourenco. If you are a keen walker there are obviously lots of levada walks to explore (take sturdy walking shoes). The weather varied a lot during our stay, so I would recommend taking a cagoule/raincoat and umbrella if you visit in October, but it was consistently warm and we also had a reasonable amount of sunshine for days by the pool.

Loreto/Calheta are on south west coast of Madeira about 40 minutes drive from airport & half an hour from Funchal - so a quick , easy drive from airport.

If you are looking to rent a villa in this area, I have no hesitation in recommending this one.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Dear Julie and Peter,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your excellent and comprehensive review of your holiday in Madeira and your stay in Loreto Luxury.
We really appreciate the helpful and detailed nature of your review and the insight and guidance it will provide to future guests.
Kindest regards

Donna and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annmarie1...
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views, calm, restful location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Amazing, quiet hilltop village location with stunning views of the sea. Donna & Hugh went out of their way to provide a cot & play mat for our youngest traveller (4 months old). Lovely comfortable, airy house which worked really well for the four generations of our family who stayed. Needed the car, as the walk up the hill to the village was too much for our eldest traveller (82 years old) but good exercise for the rest! We will hopefully visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Hi Annmarie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate your comments.

Kindest regards

Donna and Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Luxery Loreto, Beautiful Villa.”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I, and our two Sons stayed in this fabulous villa for a week in April, we cannot recommend it enough, we were met by Peter the Manager who could not do enough for us, the owners Hugh and Donna Reader, were extremely helpful with all the details and directions that made this holiday memorable. This spacious villa has everything you need for a relaxing holiday, The ocean veiws are suberb, and the patio area and pool are lovely and private, the local shops are in easy reach, and the people are very friendly, you must try the Pizza restaurant in the village, it is excellent, the beach in Calhelta is only a short journey away and also has a supermarket for all your needs, we had such a wonderful relaxing holiday, excellent location, great facilities, set in a beautiful part of Madeira, in luxurious surrondings, such a fantastic villa, we cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JerseyBoy...
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
578 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It's not often you find a perfect villa for you holiday in our experience of past rentals.. always something is broken.. but not here
From the pre book email & phone calls that I had with Hugh the owner, to been meet by Peter (1 half of the couple that looks after the property for Hugh) on our arrival at the villa with pizza & wine (it was late) to our exploring & enjoying of both of the property & the surrounding village the next day. We thought this could be it, the best yet by far!
And after 1 week staying in the property, sunning by the pool, eating in the local restaurant, walking the levada's, just admiring the sea view from the terrace with a cold beer.. we didn't want to leave & are looking forward to coming back soon. As it is perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian441
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brillian Holiday”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed in this spacious villa for two weeks. Wonderfully quiet location with an unbeleivable view down the hillside and over the ocean.It was a pleasure waking up every morning, pulling the curtains and gazing out to sea.
The directions to the villa from the airport were good as was the road..its only about a 45 minute drive.We were met just outside the villa by the owners representative who provided a comprehensive tour of the facilities and who left us in no doubt if anything went wrong (it didn't), he was only a phone call away..
Accommodation was well planned and well equipped for all needs (our only "disappointment" was that the bananas growing in the garden were not yet ready for eating.)
The local shops are all within reasonable walking distance and the Pizza /Italian restaurant in the village is highly recommended...we ate there on several occasions. Also recommend a short drive to Praxeres which is a beautiful village with some nice restaurants (we enjoyed Chicos).
One tip...do not make our mistake and hire an under-powered car. When they say mountains in Madeira, they mean MOUNTAINS. The views all over the island are stupendous, but reaching some of them can be a little heartstopping!!.
All in all, a brilliant holiday, great weather, excellent location and facilities and best of all a great villa,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and the view
Liked least: Driving out of the property...very steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ray_gwyn...
Lake District, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I recently had a 10 day break with my teenagers at the Villa. The Villa itself was ideal with all the facilities to make a break special. Pool and Patio area was fantastic, as was the interior of the Villa. Loreta had a small Supermarket that was well stocked and a Pizzeria that was very good also. Driving through the many tunnels on the Island was quite an experience. We were there at the time of the Forest Fires than completely covered the Villa and Pool in ash and debris, however as soon as it had calmed down Peter (Local Villa Rep) and his team arrived to complete the clean up exercise very professionally. All in all a lovely break.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumo9
Lewes East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well equipped Villa with beautiful views over the coastline and the Atlantic”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Loreto Luxury is a superb place to base yourself for a week or more. The spacious property, which can comfortably accommodate six people, is very well equipped throughout. It has a wonderful south facing patio for 'alfresco' dining and a decent sized swimming pool at a different level. There is a very good restaurant and well a stocked mini supermarket in Loreto itself and more good restaurants and a bigger supermarket less than 10 mins drive down the hill in Calheta. It is a great place for exploring the island, being less than an hour from the airport and 40 mins from Funchal. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for your very positive review, which we shall share with our team in Madeira.
We are so pleased you had an excellent week in Madeira and thoroughly enjoyed your time at Loreto Luxury!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing