We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place...”
Review of Calhau Grande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calhau Grande
Reviewed 17 March 2011

If you are going to Madeira and you want to plan to have peace and calm with the most amazing view from a bed possible...this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Calhau Grande
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2011

We stayed at Calhau Grande for 6 days and it was a magnificent stay, breathtaking sea-view, cosy room, very sweet people and splendid hospitality. We felt at home and very welcomed.

Calhau Grande is truly Madeira's best places to stay with good atmosphere and very caring and sweet hosts. 5 out of 5 stars! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We stayed a couple of days at Calhau Grande, house Palheiro. The house is inconveniently placed on a steep hill in the middle of nowhere, inside is small and furniture uncomfortable. You will have a hard time relaxing in the house. The worst part is the bed, which is short and small, hardly fitting one person, with old bedding. We had ants all over the kitchen, and there were no cleaning supplies.

The house itself has not enough privacy, as the other cottages on the property are placed too close to each other. As a mater of fact, house Palheiro was right next to where the owners mother lives, so you will share your lawn/garden with her and other guests passing by. The pool is small with a great view, the owner is kind and the garden lovely.

The Calhau Grande website is deceiving and we will not go back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
4  Thank ivpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We had a really wonderful stay in July 2010 in Casa Calhau Grande (House Sapateiro). The place is so peaceful, charming - you can feel the good vibrations of the old stones and walls there! I can reconmend Casa Calhau Grande very much for all those, who hate faceless hotel-cubes but want to make an individual and independent holiday, where you can feel the "soul" of the country and his history - and you will meet people there, who think the same (Eva at first). Of course these are self catering homes, so there is no "Service", no Breakfast-buffet, no room service, but you have time and space to do all YOU want to do. A great experience!
BY the way: there are defenitely no problems after the storms in february 2010 in Madeira. Well, one or two tine roards are still closed (because washed away and not here) and in Monte/Funchal you can see some damages still. But this does not mean any problems for visitors!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClaudiaKritisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We really enjoyed our visit in Madeira and staying in Casa do Calhau Grande made our stay even more memorable. It was very nice to take a swim in the pool after a day of discovering Madeira and to be able to relax with a nice view on the sea.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The situation is such as presented on the photographs: old houses entirely renovated and decorated and furnished with taste. There is a swimming pool in the flowered garden. The hostess accomodates us with kindness. I recommend this place to you without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank menruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

casa do calho grande is a group of typical madeira-style bungalows scattered in a magnificent tropical garden. there's a pool and a fantastic 180° view on the atlantic.
it is very well located : the place is very nice AND it's a good starting point to visit the island. the owners are very friendly and helpful : they gave us many tips about places to visit, tours and hikes. we recommend ! be careful : a car is absolutely necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francois92210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arco da Calheta
5.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 7 in Calheta
1,215 reviews
5.1 mi away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 7 in Calheta
789 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#2 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
495 reviews
20.6 mi away
Quinta do Furao
Quinta do Furao
#1 of 3 in Santana
515 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quinta das Vinhas
Quinta das Vinhas
#1 of 4 in Estreito da Calheta
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calhau Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calhau Grande

Address: Caminho Massapez no 10, Arco da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-077, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta > Arco da Calheta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Arco da Calheta
Price Range: £73 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calhau Grande 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calhau Grande is a group of rural self catering cottages located in Arco da Calheta with panoramic views over the ocean.The cottages were careful and eco-friendly restored, fitting in the natural and country environment, framed by the beauty of the sea view and the energy of the stones.It´s familiar, romantic, cozy and peaceful!You can also find the gardens, relax by the swimming pool, enjoy the agricultural land with fruit trees, vegetable gardens and aromatic herbs.Live this Madeira experience with us! You will be warmly welcomed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Calhau Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calhau Grande Arco Da Calheta, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing