We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lunch to remember”
Review of Casa de Cha O Fio

Casa de Cha O Fio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tea House with amazing views over the ocean.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lunch to remember”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just imagine you arrive at this welcoming restaurant in pouring rain, very hungry and thirsty. We received a warm welcome and chose a table. The menu had a good choice we chose the fresh herbal tea and Mediterranean toasted sandwiches. We watched the lady pick the herbs for our tea from the garden. The sandwich had cheese and tomatoes in it and some herbs delicious! The tea was super and we finished off with a slice of homemade cake, a simple but perfect lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    109
    18
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We've hired a car whilst in Madeira as we wanted to see as much of the island as possible........without being tied to organised trips. It's worked very well for us and one of the delights we found was this place! Breathtaking views and plenty of parking spaces so no problems there : ) We only actually popped in for a cup of coffee before setting off back to our hotel at the end of the day. However, the place looked so inviting and the staff SO helpful that we decided to check out the menu. We enjoyed the food and then tried their speciality tea, it was spot on......mint with a bit of lemon and fennel. Please try it if you visit. This place is run by several ladies and it really shows, it's lovely and clean and the loos are a delight! I would certainly suggest you at least pop in for a drink if you're nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
340 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for the views”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This restaurant which is run by several ladies is well worth a visit. The staff are very friendly and although we only had a snack were made to feel very welcome. The views from here are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceman123EastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location for early supper”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Why five stars? Location and service. Stunning views as sun goes down and delightful service. Get there early as in March the kitchen shuts at 7. The food is very good we both had the scabbard fish. I think the herbs, garlic and wine version won out over the version in batter with banana. They do a great herbal tea made with herbs from their garden. In the end it is the view that does it. If you don't believe me read John & Pat Underwood's Walk & Eat Madeira where they have recommended walks with food, unsurprisingly this place gets a big mention along with the recipe for the herbs, garlic and wine sauce!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrStuffy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a tea!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Amazing location on the view point, easy to reach (go for Miradouro in Ponta do Pargo) and park your car. And after or before visit in the restaurant take a walk through the green fields to the light house, even if it is windy - the views are worth it, and you can always get your hot tea in the Casa de Cha!
The fresh leaf tea was amazing - orange leaves gave it wonderfull taste. I think we will get back to try the meals, not only the tea and cake.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ttiaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa de Cha O Fio also viewed

Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 
Ponta do Pargo, Calheta
 
Jardim do Mar, Calheta
 

Been to Casa de Cha O Fio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing