We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Fish Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Vila do Peixe

Restaurant Vila do Peixe
Reserve with
Restaurant Vila do Peixe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the heart of of Câmara de Lobos, the Vila do Peixe and Vila da Carne Restaurants overlook this picturesque fishing village and the most photographed bay in Madeira. Their modern warehouse design, using large glass panes to make the most of the spectacular views, makes them both welcoming and informal. Both offer an interior (with sliding glass panels to provide a real alfresco feeling for those balmy Madeiran days and nights), and an exterior terrace with large sun umbrellas, and customers are always able to choose their preferred ambiance. The Vila do Peixe reflects the best traditions of grilling the day's catch by the sea. Using only the freshest of fish, it is prepared in the simplest form (with rock salt and a little olive oil), and grilled over the open fire embers, with a finishing touch of infused olive oil (the house secret recipe). In addition, the Restaurant presents a restricted number of house specialties, such as shellfish rice, octopus rice, fish rice, rich bouillabaisse, a selection of Cataplanas and other Madeiran dishes. The Vila da Carne continues the tradition of the Madeira Espetada, using specially selected meat. Additionally, it offers, amongst others, pork ribs, pork on the skewer, chicken on the skewer, chicken piri-piri, Brasilian beef picanha with selected sauces and delicious sirloin and rump steaks, all grilled over the open fire embers. The restaurant also has a menu of Selected Meats that includes Iberian Pork and Lamb, a few house specialties (including Surf&Turf) and the renowned steak on the stone. Desserts are all homemade and traditional. Both esplanades are a wonderful place to enjoy an aperitif, and to taste the traditional village Ponchas, in what is, after all, a balcony over Câmara de Lobos CAPACITIES Vila do Peixe Vila da Carne Restaurant (interior): 180 people 150 people Terrace (exterior): 70 people 50 people Total capacity (interior & exterior): 250 people 200 people Welcome Drinks or Open Bars may be served in both esplanades.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had lunch at the restaurant on a visit to Camara De Lobos and thought the choice and quality of fresh fish on offer was excellent the friendly staff show you to an area where the fish is on display so that you can choose which one you would like them to prepare on an open fire for you, the view over the bay is beautiful and we would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you very much for your comment.
Please came again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    194
    58
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great fish with an awesome view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had an amazing holiday in Madeira, but at the end we found out that it's not a great place to eat. We tried this place at the end of our holiday, hoping to eat nice and fresh fish.
We had a table near the windows with a great view of the city, we ordered a bottle of wine and some fish. They arrived proposing a starter (2€ each to be added to the bill if you want) with bread and some small things, really nice. Then we ordered a portion of Octopus cooked according to the Madeira style. It was amazing, we really enjoyed!
We couldn't wait for the fish risotto we ordered..we waited a bit (20 mins), looking forward to taste it...but it wasn't what we expected. Rise was overcooked and some fish smelled bad, like if it wasn't fresh. Portions were rich but fish was better in other places.
We didn't pay much, around 30€ each, but if you consider that the rice wasn't really good in terms of quality I'd consider it a bit expensive.

The place is really elegant, the atmosphere is great and the staff is nice, but I wouldn't recommend if you want to eat great fish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessia_Camera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário,
è sempre muito triste saber que nao conseguimos satisfazer os nossos clientes a 100 por cento.
Acredito que uma próxima vez faremos de tudo para merecer a sua confiança e ouvir dizer que o senhor/ adorou o nosso restaurante em todos os aspectos.

Ate breve de toda a equipa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish on Madeira Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We hiked to Camara De Lobos from Funchal as a day trip and were looking for a nice place to have dinner. We arrived just at 6.30PM (their opening time) and had an excellent table on the terrace looking over the harbor. The view is amazing!

The staff was extraordinary: Kind and very helpful with both wine and our selection of the fresh fish. All waiters were fluent in English and very courteous. They really know their craft and assisted us in selecting our fish. We didn't want to try their tuna fish filet, but they conviced us to and we didn't regret it.

Great food, great wine, great view, great service! A wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Muito Obrigado.
È muito importante para nós ouvir os feedback dos clientes.

Obrigado de todos nos e volte sempre.
Ate já
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We discovered this restaurant on a day trip and it made our day! We had an absolutely delicious lunch in wonderful surroundings. The fish was cooked superbly and totally delicious. The staff were so friendly - one of the waiters had spotted us walking by outside and when he saw us in there a little later, he thanked us for coming in! When at the fish counter to choose our fish, the staff were again friendly and helpful. As we discussed our selection, we talked about sharing and they divided the fish and served it between us, which was observant and saved us dividing at the table. The wine was also delicious and the view lovely, gazing out over the Atlantic ocean. We had a delightful meal and it was great value. So glad we walked up the hill and didn't just dive into some of the other establishments down below!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mad6903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Boa tarde,
muito obrigado pelo seu comentário.
É muito gratificante saber que o nosso trabalho é reconhecido e admirado.
Prometemos manter a qualidade mas acima de tudo manteremos o nosso prazer de servir os nossos amigos clientes.
Em nome de toda a equipa OBRIGADO e volte sempre.

Até breve

Acácio Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great fish with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We arrived just as they were opening for dinner (6.30pm) and so had the place pretty much to ourselves for the first 30 mins...but it soon filled up after that. Excellent fish that you pick out yourself (and if you're not an expert the waiter will make suggestions as to what goes with what)

The restaurant is situated at the top of quite a steep hill leading from the centre of town so the view is great (we were there the night Benfica won the championship and watched the mayhem break out on the streets below)

Not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and for a special occasion this place will do nicely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chaplainsRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Google Translation
Obrigado pelo seu comentário.
Estamos sempre prontos para sugestões.
Aguardamos sua próxima visita aos nossos restaurantes.
De toda a equipa o noss muito obrigado.

Até breve

Acácio Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vila do Peixe also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
Funchal, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurant Vila do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing