We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”

Restaurant Vila do Peixe
Reserve with
Restaurant Vila do Peixe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of of Câmara de Lobos, the Vila do Peixe and Vila da Carne Restaurants overlook this picturesque fishing village and the most photographed bay in Madeira. Their modern warehouse design, using large glass panes to make the most of the spectacular views, makes them both welcoming and informal. Both offer an interior (with sliding glass panels to provide a real alfresco feeling for those balmy Madeiran days and nights), and an exterior terrace with large sun umbrellas, and customers are always able to choose their preferred ambiance. The Vila do Peixe reflects the best traditions of grilling the day's catch by the sea. Using only the freshest of fish, it is prepared in the simplest form (with rock salt and a little olive oil), and grilled over the open fire embers, with a finishing touch of infused olive oil (the house secret recipe). In addition, the Restaurant presents a restricted number of house specialties, such as shellfish rice, octopus rice, fish rice, rich bouillabaisse, a selection of Cataplanas and other Madeiran dishes. The Vila da Carne continues the tradition of the Madeira Espetada, using specially selected meat. Additionally, it offers, amongst others, pork ribs, pork on the skewer, chicken on the skewer, chicken piri-piri, Brasilian beef picanha with selected sauces and delicious sirloin and rump steaks, all grilled over the open fire embers. The restaurant also has a menu of Selected Meats that includes Iberian Pork and Lamb, a few house specialties (including Surf&Turf) and the renowned steak on the stone. Desserts are all homemade and traditional. Both esplanades are a wonderful place to enjoy an aperitif, and to taste the traditional village Ponchas, in what is, after all, a balcony over Câmara de Lobos CAPACITIES Vila do Peixe Vila da Carne Restaurant (interior): 180 people 150 people Terrace (exterior): 70 people 50 people Total capacity (interior & exterior): 250 people 200 people Welcome Drinks or Open Bars may be served in both esplanades.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We picked up a leaflet from a very friendly young man during a day trip to Camara de Lobos. His pitch seemed too good to be true, so we decided to give some time for thought. We went back a 2nd day for a sneak review, & decided to give it a try. The hotel were very helpful in arranging a booking, & even suggested alternative times to allow us to take in the St Peter's Festival. We ended up being collected in a very clean courtesy bus, given a window table overlooking the harbour, which allowed us a grand-stand view of the procession & fireworks. The food was exquisite & the waiter very helpful in offering appropriate sized options. At the end of the fireworks, we were given enough time to finish drinks before being invited to go to the mini-bus for the return to the hotel. The price paid for the meal was more than reasonable, but the quality of service, the superb location & setting, the transport & the entertainment, altogether made for a wonderful evening

Thank Ray_MacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

No doubt that your feedback is very important to us.

Thank you very much

See you soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This restaurant has a fish counter for the catch of the day. You can choose the fish you want and they will cook it on the grill. All you need to do next is order your accompaniments. There is meat and vegetarian food on offer too. The food is tasty and the surroundings are nice with lovely sea views.

The only thing I thought was a bit cheeky is that the waiter brought us bread and a couple of nibbling dishes whilst we were waiting for our meal only to be told we would be charge for this even though we didn't order a starter. We could have asked him to remove it from our table but couldn't be bother with the embarrassment of it all for the sake of five euros. It's quite a cheeky ploy of the restaurant forcing a basic starter on their customers which probably results in a lot of people accepting the additional cost. Something to watch out for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear customer,
thank you very much for your comment left here.
We understand that situation but please let me explain the appetizers reason.
We portuguese people like to have something at the table as soon we sit down, in the beginning we use to do that only for local people, then we had our tourist complaining they should be treated the same as the local.
We start doing for everybody, once again there were people not satisfied with that situation, thats when we decided to serve and inform ALL the clients how much will cost if you decide do have it. Feel very sorry for you, but honestly you should say "no please take it back".
Sorry but i don't agree with you when saying that we force customer having these appetizers, once again we ask if they (clients) wishes if they say yes very well if not there is no problem we take it back as i said before.
Hope to see you again.
Best regards
Vila do peixe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Excellent selection of fresh fish to choose from and cooked in a wood burning oven. The view is beautiful - overlooking the bay. Staff and atmosphere also good. Would recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jhl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you ever so much for your comment.

Hope to see you soon,

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Our group visited for lunch and numbered 28. The views of Lobos Bay are excellent and the food very good indeed. We were fortunate that they served us the fish menu of the restaurant and also the selection of meats from their sister restaurant. All in all we had a very interesting and filling meal. The bread and dips were tasty and interesting - cold broad beans are excellent when marinated!!!
The service was friendly and efficient and we would recommend a visit.

1  Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for your comment.
Please anytime you wish to came back please do.
We gonna be here.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had lunch at the restaurant on a visit to Camara De Lobos and thought the choice and quality of fresh fish on offer was excellent the friendly staff show you to an area where the fish is on display so that you can choose which one you would like them to prepare on an open fire for you, the view over the bay is beautiful and we would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2Rodrigues, Gerente geral at Restaurant Vila do Peixe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you very much for your comment.
Please came again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Vila do Peixe also viewed

Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 
Camara De Lobos, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurant Vila do Peixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing