We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice”
Review of Quinta Do Estreito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quinta Do Estreito
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camara De Lobos
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Very nice hotel, clean rooms, with nice swimingpool, two very good restaurants with delicious meals and very kind hotel stuff. The only trick is that it is so far from the sea, that you have to drive at least 20minutes to get there. On the other hand, there is beautiful view from the rooms.

Room Tip: anything except first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamroucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

We booked our stay direct with the hotel and we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated in its own extensive gardens in a small town a short distance from Funchal, we felt that we were staying in the real Madeira rather than the tourist areas. Transport was not a problem as the hotel operates a very effecient mini shuttle bus service into Funchal several times a day at no extra charge.

The hotel was spotlessly clean with our room and balcony having a view towards the sea (I think all the rooms were the same). The hotel staff were very effecient and friendly. We were greeted in our room with a complimentary bottle of Madeira wine, a nice touch. The hotel has two restaurants but we only sampled the traditional Portuguese one where the food was excellent.

We had a very enjoyable stay and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed in this hotel in March and was quite lucky with the weather. Unfortunately the hotel didn't live upto the standards we expected for a 5 star hotel.
Although the old building with Bacchus Restaurant looked nice in photos and from distance, on closer inspection it was tired, paint peeling, wooden window frames cracked and in need of repair. We only had breakfast (included in price) in the restaurant which was always good, but we didn't have an evening meal there as the choice on the menu was too fancy for us (and pricey!) We did go to one of the sister hotels Quinta do Monte, in the courtesy bus, for a meal, on the Italian night!! This was very pricey (dearest meal we had during whole week) and although couldn't fault the food, it was small amounts and really not the tastiest meal we had.
Back to hotel, this is a concrete building totally out of character to the old plantation style house where the Bacchus restaurant is although once inside it is pleasant enough, clean and tidy. Our balconey, unfortuantely had a large tree immediately outside it which blocked the sun so we hardly used it. The concrete, railings, chairs and table all needed repairs or upgrades.
The room was clean and tidy, the minibar consisted of some expensive drinks on a tray ontop of the desk! NO fridge which for a so called 5 star hotel is not good enough. The room was more of 3 star variety.
The swimming pool and grounds were pleasant. The sun loungers were old and needed replacing.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel provided a courtesy bus to Funchal and the other hotels in there chain.
Overall I would rate this hotel as 3 - 4 star (perhaps Madeira has a different rating to UK!? as I have certainly found the star rating differs from country to country).
We had a comfortable stay but would probably not return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank FrequentTravellerM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had a wonderful and very relaxing time here. We enjoyed the beautiful and quiet location, the superb breakfast and dinner, the tranquil garden, the professional and friendly staff, including the sensitive room maid, and the convenient transfer to Funchal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

The hotel Quinta Do Esterito provides very nice and comfortable rooms with a stunning view over Camara de Lobos and the Atlantic ocean. Morevoer, the service is great, the staff helps you with all sort of things and the hotel even offer free bus-rides back and forth to Funchal. The breakfast in served in the manor building and you can look forward to have your breakfast in a very relaxing environment (champange is offered too). Ca 600 north of the hotel you find the levada Norte which I highly recommend you to walk (if you are not too afraid of hights).
Overall, if you would like to stay in a nice hotel a bit away from the crowded Funchal, this is the place!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia_berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights towards the end of March. The bedrooms are all housed in a modern building with the old quinta, which is quite charming, being used for the Bacchus restaurant (where you also have breakfast) and it also houses a bar. The bedrooms are a good size with a small balcony and a spotlessly clean bathroom with a fabulous shower over the bath. Although we requested a non smoking room, unfortunately, the room did smell of stale cigarettes, and we found we could rarely use the balcony due to the number of smokers all puffing away on their balconies almost constantly. A fridge in the room would have been useful too. However, we did appreciate the courtesy half bottle of Maderia and a sample of the local honey cake. If you hire a car and use the underground parking, beware of the supporting pillars which could be hazardous! We didn't eat in the hotel at all apart from breakfast which was excellent. We did use the courtesy bus into Funchal, but due to the strange times of the homeward journey offered, we caught a taxi back which was about €20. We tried a few of the local restaurants which all offered various meats on skewers. We also went down to the meat and fish restaurant in Camera do Lobos which offered a courtesy bus to and from their establishments and would recommend both places. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and showed us where all the local amenities were. I believe there was wireless internet connection in the lobby area, but I used the courtesy hotel laptop beside reception when I wanted to check emails - very useful. All in all, I would recommend this hotel but if we went back to Madeira, might stay closer to Funchal nearer some action.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iberian_Lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

A good quality hotel in a quiet setting. Staff were extremely helpful. Good sized rooms, excellent breakfast but stick to the garden restaurant which has traditional food and good service. Bacchus restaurant for dinner overpriced and not friendly (Head waiter thought he was more important than the customers!). Hotel is a bit far out of Funchal but Mini bus service into Funchal is a good option but 3.30pm is the last return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camara De Lobos
1.9 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
182 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#61 of 88 in Funchal
268 reviews
3.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
932 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#3 of 13 in Canico
482 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Estreito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Estreito

Address: Rua Jose Joaquim da Costa | Estreito de Camara de Lobos, Camara De Lobos, Madeira 9325-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Camara De Lobos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Camara De Lobos
Price Range: £54 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta Do Estreito 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the southern coast of Madeira Island At an altitude of 400 meters from sea level Surrounded by vineyards in the best wine-growing area of Madeira Situated only a few meters from Levada do Norte, one of the longest irrigation channels of Madeira Panoramic view facing the Atlantic Ocean and Desertas Islands Only 15 minutes from Funchal About 40 minutes from the International Airport of MadeiraTransportation: Transportation three times a day to Funchal in the courtesy bus Taxi station a few metres from the hotel or directly at the reception door if requested Bus stop to Funchal and other destinations to the west part of the island, about 5 minutes walking from the hotelParking Facilities:Free, in the hotel grounds Underground free garage for guestsRooms:44 Double Rooms (21m² or 25.4m²) spread over three floors, situated on the hillside, below the centenary main house2 suites (17,6m2 + 17,6m2)8 rooms with king size beds38 twin rooms8 inter connecting rooms1 twin room specially equipped for guests on wheel chair Room Facilities: Private balcony with a superb view overlooking the vineyards and the Atlantic ocean Oak-wood flooring Bathrooms with Portuguese marble combined and oak-wood Bath with shower Heated towel-rack Selection of bathroom amenities Air conditioning and heating individually controlled Electronic in-room safe free of charge Bathrobes Room slippers Direct dialling telephone Possibility of Internet access Large chair Dressing table with mirror Hair-dryer Cable TV with 16 channels 1 television channel with ambient music Video system with 4 paid channels of movies in one only daily package Wake-up and message system with ambient music through the TV setAdditional services at the Quinta do Estreito: Room next to the garage for deposit and cleaning of the mountain boots, after the trekking Non Smoking rooms available Access to room floors through access ramp, lift and stairs Centenary house equipped with lift and stairs Library in the centenary house with an breathtaking panoramic view Reserved area in the restaurant for non smokers Separated swimming pool for children Swimming pool with a thermostatically controlled temperature of 25 degrees 2 saunas available free of charge all day Biological agriculture area Magnificent gardens and green areas with paths surrounding the property (Paved paths of hand cut rock) Relaxation and rest areas Garden corners with different features Olive tree field A vast lavender field in front of the bedrooms Typical corridor of wine-yards Free reception of faxes Sending service of faxes at Reception Laundry service with delivers in 24 hours Organization of dry cleaning service (outside the hotel) Breakfast in the room from 7:30 to 10:30 Bar service to rooms from 10:00 to 24:00 1 gourmet international restaurant, 1 typical Madeira food restaurant, a tropical bar by the swimming pool and a cocktail bar an veranda in the centenary house Reserved area in the entrance hall for assistance from tour operatorsThe details that make the difference at Charming Hotels: The Resident Manager personally receives all arriving guests and will maintain a personal and regular contact with them to ensure their satisfaction and anticipate their requirements. All our guests are accompanied to their room on arrival Gift on arrival of Madeira Wine & Madeira cake Free room safe, bath robe and slippers Free use of sauna, Turkish bath, Sensations shower, Jacuzzi, panoramic fitness room, and relaxation rooms at any of the other hotels inside the Group Guests on Half Board may eat from the À la carte menu, at no extra charge Guests on Half Board may eat at any of the Restaurants of Charming Hotels at no extra charge A policy of addressing our guests by name A policy of special attention to all our guests needs A policy of always being willing and able to help our guests A policy of making everything possibleRestaurants & Bars in Quinta do Estreito:Bacchus Restaurant: Situated in the centenary main house it provides the most demanding client a choice between two rooms of distinct atmosphere. The menu offers creative dishes that combine local produce with herbs and spices used in cooking from all over the world. The Executive Chef uses fresh herbs grown in the garden and only fresh produce that is carefully selected in the local farmers market.The Bacchus dining room is decorated in keeping with the original architecture of the house, and presents a wonderfully welcoming atmosphereThe winter garden room, a non-smoking area, creates a cool yet elegant environment, perfect for those warm Madeira evenings.The service is a full a-la-carte complemented by the chef’s daily suggestions. Open for lunch and dinner.Adega da Quinta RestaurantMade for guests who appreciate the local food, Adega da Quinta is situated at the bottom end of the property, between the organic agriculture and lavender fields.With a privileged position, it was carefully re-built to keep the traditional architecture and original materials. The lodge, with its barrels full of Madeira wines, “ginja” and local brandy is in a restored stone house, which existed already in this old and famous wine producing Quinta.It offers one conservatory and several tables in the exterior, situated in front of the wine lodge and the open cooking area, near to the grill and bread oven.Open for lunch and dinner, everyday except Mondays.Cypress BarServes the pool area with drinks and original snacks. Open for light lunches. Relaxing atmosphere with cane chairs and wood sun umbrellas.Vintage BarSituated in the Centenary main house in the floor above the restaurant, it is the ideal place to have a pre dinner drink or meet people in the evenings.The Royal Tea or Coffee, with freshly made scones and pastries is also be served in the sitting room or veranda balcony.Camélia Conference Room Dimensions: Total area 36m² Length 6.60 m Width 5.50 m Height 2.55 m Centre table – 3.50 m X 1.13m Air conditioning and heatingCapacity: Convention Type – 24 School Type – 12 U Type table – 16 One Table – 12 Reception – 30 Banquet – 24Equipment included: Flipchart appropriate paper and colour pens White board with colour pens A4 size sheets and pen for participants Bottles of water for presidential tableSpecific audiovisual equipment: Possibility of providing a large range of audiovisual equipment. The quotation must be requested in advance as well as the material needed.Coffee Breaks & Menus for Business Lunches: A full selection available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta Do Estreito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Estreito Funchal
Quinta Do Estreito Hotel Funchal
Quinta Do Estreito Camara De Lobos, Madeira, Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing