We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view”
Review of Pousada Canicada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pousada Canicada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

great hotel, good service, worth spending the money on a room with a view. 2 days is enough time to drive around and admire the views. Do not bother to go through the park to Spain, the views are better on the Portuguese side. Go to Vieira do Minho ( next town over ) pick up a nice bottle of wine at the local supermarket (pingo doce ) and enjoy it on you balcony !

Room Tip: 208 has a decent size bathroom, gorgeous view but AC was not working very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biedronka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Customer,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Pousadas de Portugal, especially in Pousada de S. Bento – Gerês.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our services and Staff .
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Pousada is very well located and some rooms have stunning views over the lake and surrounding mountains. There is a beautiful and inviting pool.The room I was allocated to was nice, although the bathroom is very tiny. I was on my own so no problem there but with two persons the space is really not sufficient. Bathroom fixtures are a little outdated, with a textile shower curtain that tends to stick to you body. Some stains in room carpet.
The staff is extremely nice and accommodating.
The only negative point would be the restaurant. Breakfast and light fares are correct but could be better. The "à la carte" meals were really unimpressive, which is a shame in a region with such gastronomic tradition. I had a trout that was overcooked, arrived lukewarm and accompanied with a mixture of canned vegetables. Some other guest was having a steak served with the exact same canned vegetables. Why on earth do they serve canned vegetables ?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal – Pousada de S. Bento - Gerês and for taking the time to write your feedback about the stay in this Pousada. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our staff . We take notes about the Restaurante to better our services. We look forward to welcoming you on a next visit. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The room had an amazing view across the valley. The place is beautiful.
While the room was a nice size the bathroom was tiny. So small that the toilet seat wouldn't stay up as the toilet bowl was squeezed so close to the water tank. Sound minor? I found it annoying.
The food at the restaurant is very limited which is not surprising as there were only us and 2 more guests in the restaurant. The food was also disappointing. The chicken soup had no vegetables, almost no chicken but lots of pasta. The sausage on corn bread with tomatoes sounded much better than the reality. The corn bread was perhaps baked (perhaps fried) but quite hard and crispy.
I was concerned about breaking a tooth. The bacalhau was quite good, but we swapped mashed for fried potato which was our mistake. We complained about the fried potato and the waiter said he would talk to the chef........and we are still waiting to hear what the chef thought.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking time to share your experience in Pousada de S. Bento - Geres. We take all your feedback about the room and dinner in our Restaurant, which certainly help us to improving the quality of our services. We hope to see you again in Pousada do Gerês. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for four nights in room which has a side view of the river and everyone must admit that the view is amazing. You'll get a better view on the terrace and at the restaurant. However it's a charming pousada with character it would benefit from a refresh in the rooms (already said by other visitors). The furniture of our room and our bathroom were a little bit old but it corresponds with the style of an hunting lodge. And everything inside our room was clean. We appreciated a lot the pool : nice and very clean. The only thing we have to say is to be careful with the boarding around because it's warping. The deckchairs are comfortable. According to the food, we enjoyed our dinners and breakfast...it's a little bit expensive in comparison with local restaurants/bars but it was gastronomic taking in account the culinary local specialities and really worth it. The fish was delicious and cooked in a special way.
The staff was kind and helpful. The location is outstanding, the hotel a little bit old but charming. It is a good location to visit various cities and villages of the region (Guimares, Braga, Chaves, Porto, Coimbra) and also to take advantage of the nature (trekking, taking pictures). When we leave this place we've done The Douro Valley, it was also amazing.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask a room with a terrace (a little more expensive) to benefit of the amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne-chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Anne Chantal,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in Pousadas de Portugal, especially in Pousada de S. Bento – Gerês.
We deeply appreciate your good review about our services and Staff as well as we took note of your suggestions and we will take it into account in order to improve our offer.
We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Charming pousada with character perched on top of mountain. As mentioned in recent reviews it would benefit from a refresh, especially the rooms. The pool is nice especially in a hot day and from the terrace you can enjoy a great view over the river and montains in the distance. We had both a nice dinner and breakfast again enjoying the same spectacular view. I would definitely recommend this Pousada.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PedroVasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear customer, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Pousadas de Portugal, specially Pousada de S. Bento – Gerês.
We appreciate your positive description about our services and location and we took note of your suggestion to improve the spaces.
We are thankful for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The location is outstanding, the hotel a little bit old but charming. The room offered to us was small and dark. For just 28 Euro more per night we had the perfect room with a terrace with a perfect view into the valley in the new part of the hotel. The upgrade was worth every cent of it. The restaurant is comparingly expensive (same menu as all other pousadas). I liked staying there, I'd wished the pool was warmer in September to dip in after our day trips.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada do Gerês and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your review and would like to thank you for your evaluation. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights in room 213 which has a side view of the man made lake. As previous reviewers have said the view is amazing. Shame the pousada does not reflect this beauty.

Our room had a large stain on the yellow carpet, the shaver socket was loose in its housing and did not work, the leak from the tap in the bath had been there for so long that it had stained the bath. The shower head was the wrong one for the fitment and could not be angled. The bathroom was a fair size, no complaints there.

Good pool but the boarding around it needs attention as it is warping.

Built some decades ago the outside of the building was in a sad state and needed painting. What a shame for such a fine setting. As with all pousadas the rates are not cheap and this one is in need of investment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshirehogs21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_SBento, Gerente at Pousada Canicada, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear customer, First of all we would like to thank you your preference for Pousadas de Portugal, specially for Pousada de S. Bento – Gerês. We took note of your suggestions/opinions and we will make our best efforts in order to improve. We look forward to welcoming you in a next opportunity. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canicada
4.5 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
5.7 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
16.4 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
100 reviews
5.6 mi away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
5.7 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#3 of 3 in Geres
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canicada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canicada

Address: Av. da Canicada no 1518 | Peneda - Geres National Park, Canicada 4850-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Canicada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Canicada
Price Range: £65 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Canicada 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Caniçada-Gerês is located near the incredible Peneda-Gerês National Park, the only area in Portugal classified as a National Park. The Pousada is located in a gorgeous mountain chalet, sitting high in the mountains between forests, translucent waterfalls and unforgettable scenery. It is a vista point over the Cançada Dam, in the middle of the Rio Cávado. During your stay, you will be able to relax in our various common rooms, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and enjoy a meal at the restaurant with panoramic views and an esplanade. All of the rooms are climate controlled and have free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada Canicada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Sao Bento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing