We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful authentic villa in Douro Valley”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Alijo, Vila Real District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Megan M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful authentic villa in Douro Valley”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Joao is an excellent host. He communicated extremely well and gave us so much wonderful information about the Douro region and activities we could do. He met us on our arrival with a tasting of the delicious family port and farewelled us on our departure. The home was very spacious and exquisitely decorated with antiques and family heirlooms in every room, but also the modern conveniences necessary for a very comfortable stay. The gardens and pool area were gorgeous and we used them several times a day. We were supplied with delicious local bread daily along with ham, cheese, juice and milk for our entire stay. We were very sad to leave and recommend very highly this beautiful home if you want a luxury stay in the Douro Valley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Dear Megan, thanks for your kind words. It was really a great pleasure having received such great Family and Guests. We were the best! Hope we can meet again, here or in New Zealand. See you. Cheers. João Carvalho
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shags_Rog...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Rural Villa”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A group of 8 of us stayed here for 4 nights recently.
It's an excellent, well kept property, with plenty of space.
The pool area was well used and is beautiful. The BBQ is great for everyday use - we cooked on there everyday, and ate outside everyday on the roof terrace.
The underground "games" room is great for chilling out at the end of everyday, and for cooling down as it stays so much cooler than the rest of the bar.
Great place for exploring the Douro. The drive down to Pinhao is short, if a little scary. Supermarket isn't far away for everything you'll need. And if you're brave, there's even a little local bar for a cheap bottle of Superbock beer.
And a short walk up behind the property gives a great view of the Douro and the valley.

Can not recommend this property enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Dear Susan, it was a pleasure have received you and your lovely group in Casa Castedo do Douro. I am glad that you´ve liked it as well as beautiful Douro Valley. I hope you can comeback again and experiment other things in my property, like a SPA massage near the pool or an intimist&genuine Douro Valley Tour provided by me. See you! Kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiagofds
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with real charm”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently stayed at Casa Do Castedo and the experience was fantastic. Joao the owner is extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. He's done a great job at preserving the property's original features and history which adds to its charm. It is spacious, clean and very well presented with a beautiful garden and pool.
I highly recommend this place if you are looking to travel the Douro Region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and games room
Liked least: The floor noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Hi Tiago. Many thanks for your kind words. It was also a pleasure to received you and your nice group in Casa Castedo do Douro. You are all welcome and hope you comeback soon. Casa Castedo do Douro.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFSBR
Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
“Absolutely great location, great house!”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had the chance to stay at this great traditional Douro house for a couple of nights. Our host João was outstanding and went out of his way to make sure all of our questions and needs were attended. Joao included some local traits which made my friends and I a delight.

The house maintains the traditional traits while providing all the modern amenities.
A great pool with a barbecue and a deck.

I look forward to staying there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool.
Liked least: The short time i got to stay and enjoy.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your kind words Pedro. It was a pleasure to have received you and your friends in Casa Castedo do Douro and I am also looking foward to receive you and your friends again. Casa Castedo do Douro.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruedlinge...
Widnau, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Dear Florian / Dear Guests, thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure having received you all, lovely and nice family. I believe we established a good communication during your stay and you were all very nice and respectful. Hope you can return soon for another week of adventures, in Douro Valley - Casa Castedo do Douro. Until then, see you all.Regards.João
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing