We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable and historic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amares
Certificate of Excellence
paris
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable and historic”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

The pousadas of Portugal are by in large a real treat. This one definitely is. The staff is good, the location perfect for the view. They all seem to be slightly run down, in an almost charming way. I would stay in the pousadas in general, and specifically in this one, again. That said, the restaurant was not very good.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cest243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    76
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
142
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This is a concerted monastry with quite grand public areas, however some of the architectural features are for me out of place. However this cannot detract from what is a memorable building. The village is typically Portuguese and there is not much there as you are off the tourist trail, however 20 mins drive away is Portugals national park which is great for hiking. They have a lot of special offers and when we dined there we honestly felt really looked after. The food is more expensive that the average village restaurant but for me it was typically Portgueuse and well cooked. I really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it as an out of season stay, the winter walking in the mountains offers a tranquility which can be difficult to achieve in Western Europe. We hiked for ten miles with only eagles for company! Also in winter it is nice to sit in front of the hotels wood burning fires with a nice vintage port.

Room Tip: Check out special offers and travel in low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpescadosucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed for 1 night after travelling by car during the day in the area of Terras de Bouro and National Park Peneda Gerês. Very interesting and good recuperation of the building. Nice people and confortable place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortoDeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

only worth the trek up the mountains if you want silence and impressive monastery style hotel. We picked this hotel thinking it was near Guimaraes... big mistake! It is an hour away and in the most deadly boring village you could find. The room service menu which is also the bar menu is unbelievable: cheese sandwich, ham sandwich or toast... So if you need to escape and be in an "ivory" tower up there, perfect, any other reason... pass! Also beware of vindictive staff behavior who will book you in the next pousada for above the official rack rate, that really takes the biscuit in our book.

Room Tip: We had a suite, it is obviously not a busy place so check out the special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

- our whole stay at this Pousada! From our arrivel, by foot, after walking in Penedes de Gerés. The impressing building, so beautifully and respectfully restored. Congratulations to the architects! The peaceful, beautiful rooms, indoor and outdoor. The great meals and splendid wine. The nice waiters. We loved Pousada de Santa Maria.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place just 8km from Amares. We ate at a village restaurant nearby which served local fare and was excellent value. Vino Verde just so good! Please do something about the awful music!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mike17Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Located somewhat out of Braga, this Pousada was a little hard to find (to say the least).

However once we found it we fell in love with it. From the architecture to the staff we could not fault it.

Like some other reviewers, we too were travelling in the off season so sometimes the barman was hard to find, and the dining room a little spars on other guests but that is to be expected when travelling in the off season and this is why the room rate reflects this.

The service in the dining room was very professional, and although the food was, probably at best described as OK, it was more than made up by the breathtaking dining room (absolutely amazing, like eating in King Arthurs dining room), and the service received.

On one night we were celebrating my wife’s birthday and a very nice surprise was the hotel supplying a gratis glass of Champagne, and a cake and candles for our table. Very thoughtful and much appreciated.

The rooms were modern, with great views. Very comfortable, clean and functional.
This is a former Cistercian Monastery of the XII century so the history this building alone has is worth a stay

I Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amares
4.5 mi away
Pousada do Geres - Canicada Charming Hotel
15.0 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
12.6 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sao Bento
Hotel Sao Bento
#1 of 1 in Rio Caldo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
7.4 mi away
Aguas do Geres - Hotel, Termas & Spa
14.6 mi away
Torre de Gomariz Wine & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Amares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Amares

Property: Pousada Mosteiro Amares
Address: Rua de Santa Maria | Santa Maria do Bouro, Amares 4720-633, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Amares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Amares 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the road from Braga to Geres the Pousada Mosteiro de Amares emerges, Santa Maria do Bouro is a result of the restoration of a twelfth century Cistercian Monastery, one of the more characteristic of this period in Portugal, of a remarkable work by architect Eduardo Souto de Moura, awarded the Pritzker award in 2011, the highest award in the architectural world. This fantastic hotel in Geres, surrounded by stunning gardens, has been extensively restored and adapted for modern times, has been transformed into a temple of peace. The Pousada Mosteiro de Amares is located mere minutes from the National Park of Peneda Geres, where you can enjoy the experience of a lifetime immersed in the stunning environment. The Pousada is only a few kilometres from the city of Braga, one of the focal religious points in Portugal, known for its baroque churches, splendid eighteenth century houses and elaborate parks and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Amares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Amares - Santa Maria Do Bouro Hotel Amares
Pousada De Hotel Amares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing