We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and unique ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Mosteiro Amares
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

As a plus, the architecture is fabulous as well a the surroundings. Ideal for quite leisure, couples, mature even families. Access should be by car since it is indispensable for visiting the many spots around in this Geres area.

Rooms are quite good, facilities also. Service is of quality but with space for improvement and management should read and tackle the many issues referred by other visitors here. Prices are high and as such, service and meals need improvement to be up to the expectations. Breakfast for instance is hardly a reference. No fresh juice is unforgivable. And in the area of Portugal with more cookies a wider variety was expected


For visitors: explore the old monastery from the XII century superbly restored by the Portuguese Prtizker winning architect with so many hidden and amazing places and details. Explore the surroundings as well and the many, many amazing restaurants in this north part of the country, famous for their hospitality and gastronomy at incredibly cheap prices. A lot better than the the fancy and pricy at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank jescalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares) and in giving us your feedback both with regards to the many aspects you liked, as well as those areas where the service was not immediately at our usual level.

You mentioned the rooms and the facilities, indeed the Pousada was restored by the Pritzker winning architect, Eduardo Souto Moura, with all its amazing details.

We are looking into those areas of the hotel that you mentioned had less than perfect service, to rectify the various occurrences that were not in line with our usual high standards and we would like to apologize for these. Please know that your constructive criticism will be used to good purpose and we thank you again for your time.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

the arrival was a little bit of an appointment, the monastery is in the middle of the village and the tranquility we sought for was not as present as hoped for. Our room was towards the street, so we heard the traffic all night - it was not a lot, but still woke us up. There was a wedding going on with fireworks after midnight, not really helpful either. Staff at the reception was rather unfriendly at check-in, but in the restaurant they were very helpful and attentive. The restaurant, terrace and view were very beautiful and the building is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Franziska300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Franziska....

Thank you very much for providing information about your stay with us. All our guests’ feedback is very important to us, to help us evaluate their experience. We are glad that you appreciated many aspects of your stay at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares).

We wish to apologise, however, for the areas that did not meet your expectations, and for the service in those areas you mention that was not up to our usual high standards. Please know that your comments will be passed on to our staff in order to rectify areas that need our imediate atention.

With Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

.... Compared to other pousadas we have stayed at. The building is restored nicely, but the staff rather cold and uninterested. The place is cavernous, but the rooms themselves quite small. We were surprised to find them furnished in Scandinavian style. Lots of steps to navigate, so I would not recommend this place for anyone who has trouble walking.

Despite it's name, it is a long way from Amares, but is reasonably close to the Geres National Park.

Breakfast was hardly inspired, but we found that most pousadas were rather boring when it came to breakfast. No other choice for dinner in the little town, so you are a captive audience..... We were getting a bit tired of pretty much the same menu in each,pousada we visited.

Room Tip: Away from the road. Can be noisy, especially when the market sets up at outside the pousada at 6am o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares).

We appreciate your valuable feedback and we will use it to our advantage to improve our services.

We would love to host you again and this time exceed your expectations!


Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

While the place is beautiful we found the breakfast and service to be underwhelming.

Our room was very nice, bright, with huge windows onto the courtyard full of orange trees. The bath was very nice also with a big window and great view. We had no problems in our room. We befriended another couple who were not so lucky since their A/C went out during the night and they could not open the windows because of noise from the cobblestone streets.

We were very disappointed with the breakfast. No fresh juices - really a shame, since down the road 100m were 2 women selling very cheap bags of fresh oranges. I almost bought some and brought them to the Pousada to take to the kitchen and ask for them to be prepared for the Pousada guests to enjoy. Also fresh fruit on the buffet was a bit odd - maybe prepared and left to sit overnight? A bowl of mixed fruit was available but seemed to be a lot of canned peaches and thick with peach syrup so was nearly inedible for us. Again quiet odd since just outside the front door there was a fruit stand selling fresh fruits when we arrived. There were some cheeses - very difficult to cut and the staff didn't carve off any pieces to make them easy to take. The quince was so gummy and hard to cut - it was like trying to cut off a piece of chewing gum and it had crystallized - we expect it had been left over several days and put back into refrigeration (uncovered?) to keep for at least 3 days, perhaps more! There were only jams in small jars available.

When we checked in we were told we could come to reception to get ideas of places to visit. We did that the next morning but the only suggestions were to visit the Pousadas in Viana do Castelo or Guimarães! So we went off on a drive on our own.

Based on the breakfast, we decided not to eat dinner at the Pousada and were prepared to eat cookies in the room instead if all the nearby local restaurants were closed (it was a Monday night). Fortunately we found a couple of good tasty local restaurants within 10 min. drive (or a walk).

Room Tip: Be sure not to get a room that faces the street. We had room 208 - excellent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank indotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent visit at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares).

Regarding the breakfast, we appreciate your honesty and we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with our service. Your feedback is very important to us because it’s through guest feedback that we are able to confirm our strong points as well as identify areas that may require improvement.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It is an historic building restored a few years ago by a famous Portuguese architect and the result is excellent . The building is beautiful and well taken care. The surrounding area is fantastic, especially the terrace overlooking the countryside and also enjoyed the pool . The rooms are not large but are adequate. The bathroom is average/large and well equipped , good shower , nice toiletries . Water flows with difficult same times and hard to warm up.
The dining room is lovely , huge, you feel in medieval times , breakfast is good and varied with cold cuts , cheeses , cereals , various drinks , fruit , sweet and hot sausages scrambled eggs , bacon , etc
The only thing that we didn’t like was the dinner that we felt did not live up to the establishment. We ate the suggestions of the day , without being bad were vulgar and not even very well done , as was the usual couvert / starter. Maybe choosing by the list is better. The dessert buffet was good . Please note that wine prices are very exaggerated.
Is good choice for staying if visiting this area of the Portugal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing information about your stay with us. All our guests’ feedback is very important to us, to help us evaluate their experience.

We are glad that you appreciated many aspects of your stay at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares). We wish to apologise, however, for the areas that did not meet your expectations, and for the service in those areas you mention that was not up to our usual high standards. Please know that your comments will be considered in order to rectify these areas in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A fabulous setting among the hills of Northern Portugal. The Pousada is a converted XII century Cistercian monastery that after the ceasing of monastic orders in the XIX century gradually became a ruin. Sympathetic restoration and the concept of using old derelict monasteries, castles and palaces as exclusive hotels makes this a sanctuary for rest and relaxation as well as a good base to explore the historic north of Portugal. Old cities like Porto, Braga, Guimarães, Barcelos etc are within easy reach as is the wonderful Penêda-Gerês National Park. The area is also famous for its natural spas.

The rooms at the Pousada are very spacious and have wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The dining room is located in the refectory next to the old kitchen that still has the old ranges, fountains and the magnificently huge chimney. The food is excellent and so is the service.

The extensive gardens include an outside swimming pool and tennis courts. Outside the Pousada there are some cafés and little restaurants.

All in all an excellent location for resting and exploring.


Portugal

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoBloggs771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating review. Your positive feedback is a source of motivation for us to start the day with lots of energy and with a big smile!

It is a pleasure to hear about your enthusiasm and we are delighted that you were so much satisfied with your experience at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares).

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and facilities, excellent food and relaxation. We will share your excellent comments with our staff.

We all look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A grand piece of history beautifully restored. A fantastic place to get away. Meals were great and not overpriced considering the remoteness and 'captive market'. A pleasure to sit in the spaces and just relax.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cgmewatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Amares, Gerente at Pousada Mosteiro Amares, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your encouraging words about your stay with us.

Our level of service, customer satisfaction and indeed the whole experience of our guests is extremely important to us at the Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro (Gerês-Amares). For this we are glad to hear that our service and staff met with your standards.

Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurante which does indeed provide creative and sumptuous meals created by our Chef, Conceição Cunha and her team.

There are indeed so many activities one can do at the hotel (from learning more about Portuguese wines, taking a walk in the gardens, talking a swim in our marble pool and visiting the National Reservation Park - Peneda Gerês), as well as visiting the city of Braga.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amares
4.5 mi away
Pousada Canicada
Pousada Canicada
#1 of 1 in Canicada
346 reviews
15 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#1 of 19 in Guimaraes
731 reviews
9.6 mi away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Moderna do Geres Hotel
12.6 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
347 reviews
24.6 mi away
Monverde - Wine Experience Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Mosteiro Amares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Amares

Address: Rua de Santa Maria | Santa Maria do Bouro, Amares 4720-633, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Amares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Amares
Price Range: £68 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Amares 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Santa Maria do Bouro, more commonly known as Pousada Mosteiro de Amares is a Small Luxury Hotel. It is located in Amares, between the city of Braga and the Serra do Gerês. The Pousada is the result of the restoration of a Cistercian Monastery from the 12th century, a work of distinguished architect, Eduardo Souto de Moura, winner of the 2011 Pritzker Prize, the most important worldwide architecture prize. The Pousada is located only 17 minutes from Peneda Gerês National Park and is enveloped in fascinating scenery. During your stay, you can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, the tennis court and leave your vehicle in the car park. For dining, we offer a restaurant and a bar with a fantastic fireplace, great for lighter meals on winter days. The rooms are welcoming and comfortable, furnished in the name of Siza Vieira and equipped with cable TV and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Amares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Amares - Santa Maria Do Bouro Hotel Amares
Pousada De Hotel Amares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing