We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melina's Joy House”
Review of Melina's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melina's House
Ranked #1 of 6 Stalos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limassol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Melina's Joy House”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Excellent choice and a very pleasant stay. Great location, very nice and clean place at a considerably logical price. The owner was very helpful in providing us with all info and directions to get to our daily destinations.

Room Tip: Top level suite has a great view and a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Google Translation
Eυχαριστούμε,για τον χρόνο που διαθέσατε,για να ενημερώσετε πιθανούς
μελλοντικούς ταξιδιώτες στην περιοχή μας,να έχουν μιά εικόνα για το
κατάλυμα μας.
Να έχετε πάντα καλά ταξίδια.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
43
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I can not recommend this hotel for a family. The location was no good, and quite a walk down too the beach with small children on dangerous road. The hotellowner was a bit "over the top" asking questions on where we should go, almost all the time. He sad they had a agreement with another hotel near the beach, where we could use the swimming pool. We used that 1 day, but felt the whole time that they didn't like it. So, we ended up with renting a car, and only used the hotel for sleeping. But sleeping was poor because of terrible beds. I think it would be better lying on the floor. All in all, not recommended hotel for us. But they try very hard too please you. Not recommended for family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrRight2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Διευθυντής at Melina's House, responded to this review, 19 July 2016

MrRight
We would like to inform you
that after two years we have changed
our beds and pillows.Our beds and pillows
now bear the signature of one of the best
Greek companies in the manufacture of mattresses.
We are very sorry that you didn't have the holidays
that you wanted in our home.

Antonis-Melina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We had plenty of space in the apartment which was ideal for a base. We were out most of the time enjoying the area. The owners were very welcoming despite our late arrival .
We loved the location away from the coast road. Very quiet at night. Nice views over gardens and vegetable plots as well as sight of the sea ,island , and sunsets through local exotic trees.
Only 5 mins walk from the beach and various beach bars , tavernas , and minimarkets. Swimming was excellent and there were plenty of friendly bars with swimming pools too. Also very good and easy for catching buses east to Chania, about 10 mins and very frequent until quite late as well as potential to travel further west eg. to catch boat to Balos. We also booked/caught the Little Fun Train with a pick up point about 100 m distance to enjoy trips including visits into the countryside to see olive oil factory, winery ,Therisso Gorge etc.
We didn't need to hire a car. Had already done that on a previous visit and there was plenty to interest us and easy access to the buses which were also very economic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrackenandHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your summer holiday
and even more for this noble movement to describewith such a beautiful
way your staying here. This criticism is for us both useful and constructive.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

Our Family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Goncalo do Rio das Pedras, MG
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We recommend you to visit Creta and to stay at Melina´s House!!! Our time was realy good. The friendly and lovely familiy were all the time there for us. They gave us the best tip´s of the island.
Melina´s House has the best location, close to the beach, shops, tavernas and bus stop.

Room Tip: The front side has the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purucas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were fortunate to stay at Melina's House from May 6 to 10, 2013. We used the property's website to book our room, and received an email prior to arriving from Canada with instructions from Melina about where to find our keys, as the family would be away during the day for a celebration. We arrived after getting lost -- even though it is easy to find from Chania -- to a beautiful, charming hotel operated by a family that is exceptional.
Our room was located on the top floor of the property, and was cutely furnished and thoroughly clean. The room was large with plenty of windows allowing natural light, and the balcony had a stunning view of the sea. The room was very private and we felt secure throughout our stay. Wireless internet access was consistently strong, and we had all the conveniences of home while on vacation. The neighbourhood is a good one, with dining options within walking distance. Located near the highway, Melina's House is just a short drive away from Chania.
While the property was charming, it is truly the hospitality of Melina and her family that made our stay memorable. They offered us their adviceas to what beaches are worth visiting, what restaurants are the best, and went as far as to welcome us in enjoying morning coffee with them. One day it began to heavily rain, and we returned to our room to find that the family had kindly repositioned the drying rack of our laundry out of the rain so our clothes would remain dry. It is this thoughtfulness and compassion that made our entire trip to Crete so memorable.
We plan to return to Chania in the future, and will be sure to once again stay with Melina and Antonis. We strongly encourage others to do the same, and to experience Greece authentically with a local family that knows hospitality better than any large-scale resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kylejaymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Ιδιοκτήτης at Melina's House, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Good evening to dearest long distance friends

Thank you very much for your time to share some useful comments
from your short stay in our House.
We wish all the best to you and your friends.
Enjoy your summer time there,hearty greetings to your family.

Antonis-Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Warm Greek family. Cosy rooms. Low cost standard. Rooms could be equiped a bit better but anyway it was really fine. In this range of price it's really the best you can get. Location is great. Close to shops and tavernas but in a quiet area. You can feel like at home

Room Tip: Nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jucewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Owner at Melina's House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Good evening From Antonis and Melina

Once again we would like to thank you for choosing,our house for your holidays in Chania.
We wish you to have a nice and pleasant summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umea, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Everything was perfect for my needs. Nice apartment, with everything I needed. Mosquito net for one window, laundry tub, orange squeezer, large mug and always warm water in the shower. A stunning view over the sea and no big hotel in front of my eye - still close to the beach. The family is really friendly, english speaking and service-oriented - I had my best cup of tea ever. Everything was included, no extra charges. A perfect place, close to the beach and taverns, still away from the tourist area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
511__11__511, Owner at Melina's House, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Good evening Mrs Karoline

We would like to thank you for your choice to stay in Stalos and our house.
Hope everybody is doing well,wish you a peaceful summer time.

Antonis-Melina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#5 of 22 in Stalos
115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
564 reviews
0.9 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#18 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melina's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melina's House

Property: Melina's House
Address: | Kato Stalos, Stalos, Crete 73100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Melina's House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melina’s House is a charming small complex. The house is located in a village, which named Kato Stalos. It is very close to the beautiful city of Chania, only 7 km away. Chania airport is 19 km far from the house and Iraklio airport is 160 km.The house stands in a small but pretty garden of trees and plants on a side road that leads to the grand old village of Stalos. The same road conveniently leads to the cool calm waters of a sandy beach 250 m away.Melina's house consists of 8 apartments studios, which were built in 1997.There are four apartments and two studios on the first floor and one apartment and one studio on the ground floor. Furthermore Furniture varies exist on each floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Melina's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melina's House Crete/Chania - Stalos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing