We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice management-loved the Alkion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alkion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alkion Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Stalos B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice management-loved the Alkion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Alkion for five days. If you don't want to spend a lot on a room, enjoy friendly staff, like simple and clean rooms and want to be centrally located-this is the place to go!! With a beach across the street, a bus line less than a block away and restaurants within walking distance-we found it hard to leave. The managment (a husband and wife team) are extremely accomodating. The pool is sparkling clean and the breakfasts were delicious!
Family oriented-although we didn't bring our kids. Trams tours of the Therisso Gorge are available (just a walk down the street). The tour is a couple of hours long and there is stop for food.
Car rentals are also just a short walk away and are relatively inexpensive. There is a cafe across the street-Tres Jolie that serves sweet breads if you miss breakfast. The management at the Alkion has made up a weight room in case you want to work out during your stay. We highly recommend spending the extra money for the air conditioning-it is worth it in the summer time!
We preferred the smaller, simple and friendly hotel over the more modern larger hotels. The management also has a family run store that will give you a discount when you mention that you're staying at the Alkion.
A small fridge is available in the room if you have leftovers.
We can't say enough about this place other than we highly recommend it!!

  • Liked — The nice staff.
  • Disliked — Small beds.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank daltam4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    29
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
39
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2006

Overall

A very well presented, clean and professional hotel, suitable for all ages, couples, families and singles. Very good value for money 10/10.

Rooms

They are all very clean, bright and airy. The rooms we had consisted of 3 single beds, 2 bedside cabinets, 3-person wardrobe, dressing table, small stool and 1 chair.

Air conditioning which was €30 a week extra or €50 extra for 2 weeks.

Balcony has a table and 3 plastic chairs. There are shutters that block out all daylight and it is very easy to oversleep!

Bathroom has sink, toilet and bath with shower over it. Loads of toilet rolls and usually hot water 24/7.

Rooms are cleaned every day. Fresh towels every day and bedding changed 3 times a week.

If you want a late check out, a room can be arranged until 18:00 for €16 paid extra to the hotel or £22 through Thomson. It is cheaper to arrange it through the hotel.

Staff

All the staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. There are English Ladies who work on Reception (Cheri), Dining Room (Andrea) and Donna who works in the Bar on an evening.

Breakfast 08:00 – 10:00

Waiter service. Within the price is:

Continental breakfast which consists of a choice of Greek yoghurt, fresh fruit salad (not tinned) or cornflakes followed with 2 slices of toast / butter / strawberry jam, 1 glass of orange juice and 1 cup of tea or coffee.

For €2 extra you can have an English breakfast of 2 fried eggs, baked beans, bacon & sausage.

Evening Meal 19:00 – 22:00

Waiter service. Within the price you get:

Starter – 4 choices - always soup, a Greek speciality and 2 others.

Main course – 4 choices – always a chicken, pork, lamb & beef dish usually 1 of them is a Greek speciality (once a week one of these is substituted with fish). These come with chips, jacket, roast and sometimes-mashed potatoes.

There are vegetarian options, which you need to ask for which are usually, Spaghetti Neapolitan, Omelette, Pizza, Jacket Potato, Battered Fish and chips or Lasagne.

Children can have chicken nuggets, fish fingers or a small pizza, which needs to be asked for.

Desserts – 4 choices – usually ice cream, crème caramel, 2 Greek speciality cakes and melon.

Drinks – to be paid for (which are reasonably priced).

There is no formal dress code in the restaurant so you can either smarten up for the evening meal or just feel relaxed in your shorts and T-shirt.

Special Dietary Requirements

My son has a wheat allergy and we took over freshly made wheat free bread. All the staff were very accommodating and his bread was put in the freezers so that he could have some for toast every morning. A big THANK YOU to Andrea.

Entertainment

Entertainment is in the dining room so it does not commence till after the evening meals finish at 22:00. There is a variety of Greek Night, Bingo (with a jackpot of over €300!), various singers and musicians (which all have karaoke) and an evening of karaoke. Usually, finishes at around 01:00

Facilities

Pool - It has a shallow, fenced off area for small children and is very clean. There are lots of sun beds and umbrellas situated around it. Pool closes at 19:00 when the evening meal commences.

Fridge – Situated in the reception area and is for use for storing medicines and baby food only. There are no fridges in the bedrooms.

Internet – 1 PC situated in the reception and has dial up access at €2.50 per 30 minutes. Has MSN installed. If you want broadband go to the “Gas Internet” towards Canal D’Amour at €1.50 per 15 minutes (3 minutes walk from the hotel).

Within the Vicinity of the Hotel

The beach is only 5 minutes walk away, which has sun beds and umbrellas for hire. There are also water sports and boat hire. The beach never gets crowded.

Bars are about 7 minutes walk away, some of them showing films during the day (many that are currently in the UK cinemas). These come to life at night and compete to see who has the best and loudest sound system! The hotel is far enough away to not be disturbed by them.

Excursions – do not book through the Thomson representative, as Thomson prices are on average between 70% & 80% more expensive than what can be booked locally. Selini Travel Agents had the best deals. At the end of the hotel road turn right and then first left sign posted Canal D’Amour. Walk over the bridge and continue around the left-hand bend and Selini Travel agents is on the left hand side. Louise (who is English) and Helen who work there are very helpful and will give discounts when more that 1 excursion is booked; also all of their prices include transfers which most of the other do not include in their displayed prices.

Excursions

Aqualand – This is the main water park on the island, which is approximately 1 hour away by coach. As the island is very hilly, the coach winds around a lot of bends so take precautions if you get travelsick. The water park has free sun beds and umbrellas. Lockers are available at € 3 + €2 refundable deposit for small lockers and € 4 + €1 refundable deposit for large lockers. You are allowed to take in your own food and drink. It has a wave pool and people are allowed to sit in rings.

Hydropolis – This is the second largest water park in the area, which is approximately 30 minutes away by coach. The route to this water park is less winding than Aqualand. The water park has free sun beds and umbrellas. Lockers are available at € 1.50 + €1.50 refundable deposit. Watch out for Mosquitoes as the locker room is full of them and the majority of the sun beds are on grass (which had not been cut). There are not many slides at this park as it is smaller than Aqualand and aimed more at families. You are allowed to take in your own food and drink.

Greek Night – This is near to Paleokastritsa, which is approximately 1 hour away by coach. As the island is very hilly, the coach winds around a lot of bends so take precautions if you get travelsick. You have a show with music, fire / plate smashing & traditional dancing and audience participation. Meal is 4 course; bread, assorted battered vegetables, pasta dish, turkey with chips / rice / vegetables, salad and melon. Free wine and orange squash all evening. If you book through the Holiday Representative, all you get for the extra money (approximately 80% more) is them re-filling your jugs of drink, dancing around over enthusiastically and blocking other peoples view as they do not have a seat. Watch out for the flower and florescent wristband sellers who are very persistent who forget that you have already said “No” and will shove flowers right up under your nose and clip bands on your wrist before you know it.

Odysses BBQ & Boat Trip – You travel to Paleokastritsa, which is approximately 1 hour away by coach. As the island is very hilly, the coach winds around a lot of bends so take precautions if you get travelsick. You then spend the day on a boat touring around the coast line, jumping off the boat to have a swim in the sea and then on to a private beach for 2.5 hours of sun bathing, snorkelling and a BBQ. The beach is private and the water is crystal clear. There are no toilets at the beach and only one on the boat. Meal is chicken, potato, bread, Greek salad, sausage and melon. White wine, water and orange squash is provided as part of the BBQ and is available for the whole time you are on the beach. The beach is shingle and gets hot so flip flops or deck shoes are essential.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank enjoysholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2006

Booked my reservations with Alkion directly from their website. Process was so convenient to book, no hassle. Victor (Directing manager) was really patient and kind. We arrived Chania at 7 AM, Victor made an exception for us to check in that early as we were really tired coming from the US, i thought that was well above and beyond that call of duty just in the 1st 2 mins of checking in. Hotel looks nice, clean and staff was always helpful. It was just me and my girlfriend, but got to meet others there as everyone the hotel environment is friendly. Hotel is very family oriented especially if you have kids. The pool looks too shallow for adults but more for kids. Breakfast was server daily from in the back patio. The bus stop is a few meters away next to maria's restaraunt which was not so bad. Trip to chania or Platania beach was about 10 mins by bus. Good location. If we needed something, it was delievered and victor made sure we were always content with our stay. I would stay here again and defintely recommend.

  • Liked — staff, location
  • Disliked — TV not avail in room, one in lounge area.
  • Tips/Secrets — Tell them Rami sent you.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ray73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2006

Stayed at the Alkion for a few weeks in January. Victor and Mihaela run the place like home. We felt very welcome from the start and the location right on Stalos beach with a bus stop to Chania right outside was ideal. The management can organise cheap car hire.
A great chocie to meet travellers from around the world and visit West Crete.

Helpful?
9 Thank MattyBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2005

The Owners could not be more friendly and welcoming a real home from home. We were given V.I.P. treatment and made to feel as if we were the only people staying at the hotel. Would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is also in a great position, just across from the beach, and plenty of Taverna's for evening meals. It is also very easy to get either a taxi or the bus to Platanias or Chania for a change during the evening. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SurreyEnglandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2005

The hotel has new owners from Canada and they are really great. I give them 5 stars for service! The hotel has simple rooms, good beds, a nice garden with a pool and bar and the beach is nearby. The home cooking is excellent and cheap. So, if your looking for a hotel near Chania check this place out.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2003

This hotel is fantastic. Great atmosphere, nice rooms, the sea and local taverns are very near. I love this place - cats in the garden and poolbar... And the owner is so handsome... :)

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stalos hotels
0.5 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#5 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Kato Stalos
Hotel Galaxy Kato Stalos
#16 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Anniko
Hotel Anniko
#12 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phaedra Hotel
Phaedra Hotel
#3 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Top Hotel Chania
Top Hotel Chania
#8 of 22 in Stalos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alkion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alkion Hotel

Property: Alkion Hotel
Address: Kato Stalos, Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alkion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alkion Hotel is just 50 meters from Kato Stalos Beach, and it features a pool area with sun beds and umbrellas, a gym and a children's playground. Free Wi-Fi is offered throughout.The air-conditioned rooms have a furnished balcony, and come with a hairdryer and coffee maker. Each also includes a satellite TV, fridge and safe.Alkion serves a daily breakfast buffet enriched with Cretan delicacies. Alkion Hotel is only 7 km from Chania and just 1 minute from the bus stop. Chania International Airport is 18 km away.Free private parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alkion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alkion Hotel Crete/Chania - Stalos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing