We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busman's :-)”
Review of Creta Palm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Creta Palm
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

This is our first visit to the Crete Palm. We booked this hotel through a traveling agency. The room (631) had two balconies with a great view, TV and safe (pay a small fee) there is a second room part from the bedroom with coffee table and two sofas. There is a small kitchenette with electric rings, sink, fridge and coffee maker, and small table with four chairs at the balcony. Good place to have breakfast.
The bathroom has an over bath showering and a tub and a hair dryer. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed every second day - beds made everyday except on Sundays.
Both room has sliding doors with roll down metal blinds so you can even leave your doors open when you go out, or to sleep. Air con in both rooms and independent to one another (pay a small fee). wiFi is also available in the room. (pay a small fee) Entertainment is on several times a week. The staffs at Crete Palm are friendly. The hotel has two pools in the grounds and drinks and snacks are available in both. Chania is a bus ride away (8km.) Taxis will cost you 10-12EU. There is a beach across the road and a convenience store on both side of the hotel. There is a super market about 2km from the hotel. Go lift when you get out of the resection.
Restaurants:
You & Me Crepe, Platanias (Good place to have your dessert. very friendly staff and very good English)
Platanias Palace, Platanias (Overlooking the town of Platanias, friendly staff and ok English)
Poseidon restaurant, Platanias (Overlooking the harbor of Platanias)
Dos Amigos, Platanias (very friendly staff and very good English)
The olive tree restaurant Platanias (Bad service, cold food and the staff are very rude. I will not recommend this restaurant)
Zepos Café and Restaurant, Chania (seafront promenade, very friendly staff and very good English)
Strata Restaurant, Chania (very friendly staff and good English)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SalomonKwadwoOppong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

we have been staying at the Creta Palm for the last 2 years!The apartments are set back from the road so it stops a lot of traffic noise!it is a very clean place, pool is clear, and the bar serves nice food and snacks. Charmfull people and excellent service!!! Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Spent one week all-inclusive vacation in this hotel with my family. While almost everything has been discussed in this forum, I will pick the main pros an cons

First, about all-inclusive option: Non-alcoholic drinks and local alcoholic drinks are complimentary from 11AM to 10PM. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet included as well. Outside meal serving hours, ice cream and sandwiches (occasionally pizza) is available from pool bar. The buffet food is ok for first days but then it starts to be repeating itself. This is good option if you plan to spend most of your vacation at the hotel or nearby beach.

Rooms are large with private balcony. There is fridge and cooking facilities if the all-inclusive option is not for you. Daily cleaning is effective and maids are very polite. Air conditioning comes at extra cost but on other hand is very effective. Rooms face to pool area and noise from low-quality evening programme at pool bar might disturb your or your kids sleep

You need to go across a busy road to get to the beach. Beach is not particularly nice and we spent most of the time at hotel. Pool area at hotel is nice though.

If you get bored to pool life at hotel, a local bus takes you to Chania city in 20 minutes (just jump in and pay for the cashier). Personally, i recommend renting car and exploring the Island. Europcar rental agency is just 2 blocks away. They have very good fleet with normal Europcar pricing/warranty policy (except full insurance is included), so there is no need to pay more for travel agent to get you a car. Just be careful in narrow mountain roads.

Room Tip: room a bit far from the pool area will likely to be more quiet in nightime balconies of 1st floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank eskobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is our fourth visit to the Creta Palm since 2006.

We book this hotel direct and have done since our second visit.

Our room this time consists of a bedroom with safe, at a very small coast. There is a Tv in the bedroom but we have not used this to be honest . We then have a small kitchenette with electric rings, sink, fridge and coffee maker, a breakfast bar with four chairs, Again we only use the fridge to keep water and soft drinks in.

The bathroom has an over bath showering sink and loo.There is also a hair dryer. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed daily beds made etc, everyday except on Sundays.

In addition to this there is a further room with two coffee tables and two sofas which I believe turn into beds. There is a balcony with a table and two chairs from this room and another from the bedroom also with a table and two chairs.

The sliding doors have roll down metal blinds so you can even leave your doors open when you go out, or to sleep. Air con in both rooms and independent to one another.

The hotel offers Breakfast for a small price, this has become more comprehensive in the last year. wiFi is also available in the room.

Entertainment is on several times a week.

The staff at Creta Palm are friendly and helpful and go out of their way to help you, they willalso share their local knowledge with you. The hotel has two pools in the grounds and drinks and snacks are available in both . There is also a restaurant.


Chania is a bus ride away and they are fairly regular, however taxis can be expensive. Hiring a ar is not too bad but the driving is not for the feint hearted!

There is a beach directly across the road and a convenience store about 100 metres up across the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room? A Suite as we have had is obviously larger but the standard rooms are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanfairyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I spent a week at this hotel with my daughters.
Check in was a breeze and Eva and Sofia at reception were very friendly and helpful.
Eager to please and assist...

Our one bedroom air conditioned apartment was lovely and clean and spacious, overlooking the garden.
The one issue I had was that the room and its cupboards had a musty smell. Being on the ground floor apparently was a common occurance.
I got the housemaid to spray it for me daily.

I did not use any facilities of the hotel as I had a car and would go on daily excursions.
Personally did not enjoy the breakfast one bit. Food is low quality, not a great selection and the coffee was awful. I prefer quality over quantity...
I must say the service at both pool bars were ordinary, staff were a little on the dry side!!

This hotel is quite a distance from Hania and Platania, so you do need to rely on transport to get around. Great beach across the road..
I also must mention even though the housemaids are friendly I found them so noisy around 9 - 930 am to start cleaning common areas, clash bang the mop buckets.
If you are going to stay there request for rooms on 1st or 2nd floor for some peace.

Would I go back, probably not.
Having said that the hotel was packed and buzzing with people..

Room Tip: Request rooms on the first or second floor for peace and quiet and non smelly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My sister and I have just stayed 7 nights at Creta Palm Beach Resort. It is a very nice hotel with a great location. You just have to cross the road to get to the beach. There are two swimming pools - we only used the one in the back, where we also had our room. It was nice and quiet, friendly staff and very clean every where. The breakfast buffet was ok but the same every day.
There is a supermarket just next door and restaurants nearby. So all in all, a very good choice :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed for one week there in June 2011 and we were very dissapointed. The worse thing was service at the bar/pool, so places where you spend quite a lot of time if you don't leave the hotel during the day. We had 'all inclusive' option and we had that kind of feeling that they treat us the way 'if you already payed, we are not interested in you anymore'. When asking for a drink, we had to wait very long. If there were any other guests at the bar (without all inclusive) they were always served first, even if we came to the bar earlier and were waiting for a long time to order. Food in restaurant was very simple, but not that bad. Snack during the day - only frozen pizza with cheese (from microwave). They didn't have imported alcohols, only local which weren't good. Just to mark in points:
1. Service at the reception desk - 4/5
2. Rooms/cleanness - 4/5
3. Restaurant - 3,5/5
4. Neighborhood - 1/5 (nothing to do, you will have to take taxi - about 15EUR one way or travel with bus to get to Hani - city where you can find nice restaurants and bars)
5. Variety of drinks (non alco/alco) - 2/5
6. Pool/bar - 2/5
7. Service - 0/5 (we really had a feeling like we were disturbing them).

Well, if you are not sure which hotel to book, I will not recommend this one. It wasn't expensive but it's definitely not worth this money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fionson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.4 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 21 in Stalos
542 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 21 in Stalos
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
0.4 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#10 of 31 in Agia Marina
571 reviews
5.8 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Palm

Address: Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Stalos
Price Range: £49 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Palm 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creta Palm Hotel is situated in a small village called Kato Stalos and it is only 7 km far away from the city of Chania, 19 km from the port of Souda and 23 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Creta Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Palm Hotel Kato Stalos
Creta Palm Crete/Chania - Stalos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing