We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly, spottless, relaxing and wonderful views, great value.”
Review of Renieris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renieris Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“friendly, spottless, relaxing and wonderful views, great value.”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks in September 2011 and if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff are extremely considerate, very helpful and approachable as well as friendly and very professional. Rooms and public areas are bright and airy, the complimentary breakfast was fresh and delicious each morning, the beds were comfortable and rooms were cleaned and linen changed each day bar Sunday. The hotel has a lovely garden, a small, peaceful and immaculate pool area with sun loungers and a pool bar. The view from the rooms were fantastic and all had balconies. There was a road that ran along side the beach and there must have been some traffic noise but I can't remember noticing it much. We walked for miles along the beach which was literally down the steps of the hotel and across the said road. These steps are the only down side of this hotel, there are 97 of them and need to be negotiated each time you leave the hotel (you can go round by the road which is longer, but still steep) we had no problem with them, they are wide and well lit at night and helped us walk off all the extra food we consumed on holiday! But it is something to be aware of when contemplating booking. The beaches along this stretch of coast are all blue flag and are safe to swim and snorkel in. We often walked from Kato Stalos to Agia Marina and Plantinias along the beach, lots of tavernas and sun loungers available along the way. If you go in the opposite direction you will discover quiet coves to swim and sunbathe in, Iguana Beach is also delightful to just laze around in, 7euros each for the day. If you want to explore the area buses are frequent and stop at the bottom of the hotel steps going to Plantinias, Kissamos etc or in the other direction into Chania (approx every 15-30 mins). Ate in lots of different restaurants, tried all the local and more obscure dishes and never had one bad experience, the food is very good and the people serving us were all lovely. All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank valerieyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    84
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
385
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

If your travels are taking you to the town of Agia Marina this should be the hotel of choice. The plus sides are a sparkling clean room, congenial hosts, great water pressure in the shower ( very important to me) and an adequate delicious breakfast. The pool and grounds are pristine and immaculate. The beach is not. It is clearly the most brackish in all of Crete and you would be better off doing a day trip down the road to somewhere more spectacular. The restaurant they recommend which is Maria's taverna is really very good and opens at 4. If you want lunch there are a few other places on the same side of the street and two blocks up which open earlier. Both were adequate. We stayed two nights while waiting for our villa to be ready and were more than happy with the accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront triple room even if there only two of you. You will appreciate the extra room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haroula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

First visit in May
Here again for another week in September, just back home and have to say, for value for money this is the best hotel ever.
If you are looking for a nice quiet location within walking distance of many great restaurants and bars look no further its here.
Great service, great views, clean, friendly, must try this one.

just walk down to the sandy beach and sample the crystal clear sea was hotter this time as you would expect up to about 33C, if you go to the beach there are many but try the Kimatogi beach restaurant the service and food are great, also one to try is the Pirimis Or Piramis forgot the spelling sorry think its the second one the pool side barman is great and the food is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gts280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Me and my wife spent 3 nights in Renieris Hotel in July 2011.
As everybody probably know already, the hotel is situated on the top of a small hill with a very nice view of the sea.
The owner (Andreas) picked us up from the bus station in Stalos and give us short but very helpful indications about the area.
We discovered a very quiet and clean hotel with a very nice pool and excellent breakfast.
Thank you for your hospitality Andreas and we wish you good luck with your business as you are trully gifted as a host!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CristianGherghinoiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed here in August 2011 and were pleased to stay in this lovely, family run hotel. The owner is very friendly and willing to help. We got the impression as we were a part of this caring family. He really runs this hotel in a professional way.

The rooms are very clean, have fast and free Wi-Fi broadband. If you get a sea-view room, you'll get, probably, unique in the area, outstanding view to the sea and Stalos beach located near by the hotel.

You'll also get a free breakfast included, which can satisfy most of the tastes. The food is always fresh and tasty. I'm not an early bird and whenever I have free breakfast included, I rarely use the opportunity, but in this i haven't missed a single breakfast. Also, a good thing is that breakfast is served from 8am till 10.30am.

I'm not sure if you'll be able to grab a snack or order a meal into your room in this hotel (at least this wasn't advertised), but there's no restaurant in it (only a excellent view bar near the pool, where we enjoyed watching sunsets). On the good side, we didn't have to walk far to have dinner, because we found an excellent restaurant called "Amethystos" (highly recommend it) just down the stairs of the hotel, were very delicious Cretan food was served and locals were eating(which i find is a good proof that the food is good and not touristish).

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay there! Will def. recommend it!

Negatives - none. A wardrobe in the room could have more shelves for clothes.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room for a fantastic view of crystal clear sea and sandy Stalos beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evgeny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed there in the early August of 2011.
The hotel was very clean, very quiet, had a great view and the staff was exceptionally polite and helpful.
All in all, considering the price level of the hotel, this hotel is run in a rather professional way.

Only advise would be to try and add some traditional jams at breakfast (instead of jelly-like portions) and perhaps some pastry from a local bakery. Givven the effort put already on the breakfast preparation and the quality of the rest of the products, this would be the "cherry on the cake" as we say in Greece!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamprosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is a gem; it is hard to believe it only rates 2 stars. I had just moved out of a 5 star hotel and, as far as the basics of comfort, cleanliness and service go, Hotel Renieris suffered nothing by comparison.
I arrived early, was warmly welcomed by Giorgos and invited to sit by the pool with a complimentary cold drink until my room was ready, taking in the amazing view.
The room was immaculate, fresh and modern looking, well furnished with comfortable bed and good shower, and a strong WiFi signal.
The location is very quiet and, even though quite close to the coast road, most of the surrounding area is semi-rural. Kato Stalos is not as intensively developed as some parts of the coastal strip and driving up to the hotel by the back road, you pass by vineyards, olive groves, small farms and scattered houses. There is a nice sandy beach, but watch out for slippery rocks a short way out under the surf.
Breakfast is a simple, but ample buffet. The hotel does not have a restaurant but provides snacks and drinks as room service, or served in the breakfast room or by the pool. I can recommend the grilled vegetables and feta, and the dakos.
I had evening meals at Triana Restaurant, which is a short distance from Maria's up the back road. Not all the menu is available off season, but the food is excellent (traditional), and the house red is rather nice.
The Renieris family are kind and caring hosts and, as others have noted, they make you feel like part of the family. The atmosphere is warm and friendly, more like a guest house than a hotel. Even when I was leaving, Giorgos insisted on driving me down the hill to the bus stop (I think he had noticed my legs were still a bit sore after walking Samaria Gorge).
Negatives – none. If I am luck enough to visit Crete again, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
101.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
3.5 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 108 in Chania Town
472 reviews
34.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#12 of 108 in Chania Town
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 22 in Stalos
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renieris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renieris Hotel

Property: Renieris Hotel
Address: 1 Psathi Hill, Stalos, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#1 Family Hotel in Stalos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#1 Best Value Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Renieris Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renieris Hotel in Kato Stalos sits upon a hill with a spectacular view of Kato Stalos beachfront, the Theodorou island and the blue Aegean Sea and only 200 meters away from the sandy beach. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while bathing in our custom pool with a separate children's pool. Our amphitheater-style design captures sea views in almost all of our rooms. Our hotel is family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renieris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renieris Hotel Kato Stalos
Renieris Hotel Crete/Chania - Stalos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing