We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel and holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cretan Dream Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cretan Dream Royal
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Stalos
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We spent a week here in late October and were looking for a restful break.We liked it so much that we spent the majority of our time in the hotel.

The food was delicious, plentiful, and they seemed to use a lot of local produce.The alcohol was good quality, and we thought very reasonably priced.The staff were genuinely very friendly and helpful and really made the holiday.The infinity pool was fabulous and really beautiful to sit by.It was a tad cold at that time of year but once you were in completely fine.The views from the hotel were lovely too.

We had an apartment with a sea view -and what a view it was.The apartment was spacious with a large lounge/dining/cooking area , bedroom and bathroom/toilet. We found the bed really comfy.The balcony was large and very private-great really!We had both traveled to Crete before so we did not feel it imperative to explore too much but we really loved Chania which is easily reachable by local bus.

We would both definitely go back both to this hotel and to Chania and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CretanDreamRoyal, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you very much for choosing Cretan Dream Royal and writing a review, for your stay during your recent visit to Crete and for your kind words!

Thank you also for your comments which of course take into consideration and we would be honored to welcome you again in our hotel, in your next visit to Chania!

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    140
    35
    13
    10
See reviews for
115
257
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We travelled to Crete as a last minute holiday on 22/10/13 and found this hotel online. As we were just going for a relaxing break in the sun I wasn't too bothered about the hotel but as soon as we arrived I knew we had made an excellent choice!
The hotel was amazing! The Reception area spacious and welcoming and our room was beautiful, large and so clean! We ate at the hotel a few times and enjoyed every meal and the breakfasts were scrumptious!
The pool area was great even though the water was quite cold. We drink far too many cocktails at the pool bar and the atmosphere was just what we wanted - calm, friendly and relaxed.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will return next year with the kids!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 311 which was very quite with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNottsLot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your good wards , that encourage us to continue our efforts to offer our guests the best service.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

very good hotel with pleasant staff. much good food BUFFET and five stars VERY GOOD TRADITIONAL TASTE in ala carte restaurant delicious breakfast with variety of sweets and cheeses Congratulations to chef and his team every day cook health food!!! !!!!! amazing the whole set of

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gio k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your good wards , that encourage us to continue our efforts to offer our guests the best service.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had an excellent relaxing two weeks holiday here.The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. There was great variety in the meals, all of good quality, and the a la carte meal we had was top class. And the bar served the best Caipirinha in Crete. Our room was very good, too - it had a little kitchenette, which was helpful at times but more than we really needed. Having said that, I feel that it was not the five star rating as advertized - probably 4 star. You can't drink the tap water, and there wasn't any provided at the hotel - you either bought some at the hotel supermarket or you carried some back from the nearby supermarket (cheaper): it is a little point but it makes a difference. The beach across the road was disappointing, so for relaxing and sunning ourselves we preferred to stay by the swimming pool, although the water in the pool in October was quite chilly . There is a bus stop right outside the hotel with a 15 minute ride into Chania. However, you need to catch the bus no later than 9.30 am or else the bus is already full and won't even stop. But we had a great holiday and enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: Room 215 had a kitchenette and was reasonably quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your notices, that will make us improve and be better.


We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends and, like them, found the hotel to be superb. We stayed there as part of a package holiday and think we were upgraded as we had a fabulous suite with two lots of patio doors leading on to a balcony looking out towards the sea. Everywhere is kept spotlessly clean both inside the hotel and in the grounds. Although the water in the infinity pool was chilly in September the views were splendid. The food was good with a wide variety of dishes to cater for the different nationalities staying there. The staff are all friendly and helpful. As previously mentioned it is helpful to have a car as the hotel is a little way from Chania.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Customer

Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your good wards , that encourage us to continue our efforts to offer our guests the best service.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked in here for one night after we were forced to leave our 2* accommodation down the road two days early. We were hoping for a bit of peace and some rest, and that was certainly delivered.

On arrival we were greeted warmly, and told we'd received an upgrade to a family suite.

The room was suitably large, but lacked a few of the 5* touches we've seen at other 5* hotels in Europe: for example, there was no dressing gown or slippers, a cigarette hole was found in one of the net curtains, the kitchenette had pots, plates and pans but no cutlery. There was also no bath in the bathroom, just an open shower, which tended to soak the bathroom floor.

There's no gym or spa on site, although a local beauty service can deliver treatments to you at the hotel on request, just go and speak to the receptionist. Treatments weren't particularly cheap, but our masseuse was good, if a bit too chatty.

We found the bar and room service to be extremely reasonably priced, well worth staying in and enjoying the views rather than traipsing out to find a local bar.

There are a number of tavernas and bars nearby if you want to venture out for your food. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast buffet was again, more four star than five star.

All in all, not a bad place to spend a few days in Chania, particularly if you're not paying 5* prices.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel.
especially we thank you about your notices, that will make us improve and be better.
Referring to the facilities of Spa and Gym, is something that is in our plans.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel.

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We're currently staying at the Creten Dream Royal. The Building, Service and drinks are 5* but disappointingly, the same can't be said for the room or the Food. The rooms are more 4* no kettle, tea spoons or brew making facilities. The food is the biggest let down, cold, bland and repetitive. The drinks are fantastic but very expensive. Although we are having a lovely time we just feel that this hotel should be downgraded to a 4* so that the guests expectations aren't set to highly. I would recommend staying here but on a room only basis and go out to eat in some of the local restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrenBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NIKOS K, Manager at Cretan Dream Royal, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear customer,

thank you for writing a review about our hotel and your good wards about our stuff .
Especially we thank you about your notices, that will make us improve and be better.
We are surprised of your suggestion to downgrade our hotel since you never gave us the opportunity to satisfy your requests( kettle, tea spoons,cold food ? e.t.c). you could just notice it to our reception and at the same moment that would be solved as the second matress on your bed for your wife's back problems.

We hope that at least you enjoyed your fist night in one of our Superior suites with private swimming pool, an upgrade free of charge that you get as a new customer in our hotel, since you mentioned nothing about it.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel

From the hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stalos
0.1 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 22 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
2.3 mi away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Creta Palm
Creta Palm
#4 of 22 in Stalos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
3.1 mi away
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
Minoa Palace Resort & Spa
#1 of 69 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cretan Dream Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cretan Dream Royal

Property: Cretan Dream Royal
Address: Manousou Koundourou, Stalos, Crete 73110, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Stalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Stalos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stalos
#4 Family Hotel in Stalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cretan Dream Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cretan Dream Royal is a new 5-star hotel, 6 km from Chania towards Platanias, in Kato Stalos,offering luxurious accommodation.Cretan Dream Royal is opposite (20 meters) of the beach of Kato Stalos and has access to the beach through an underground tunnel.Another feature of the Cretan Dream Royal hotel is the main fine-dining restaurant as well as an informal tavern with an a al carte menu. There is also an elegant pool bar with outside seating so you can enjoy a cocktail along with fabulous ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cretan Dream Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cretan Dream Royal Hotel Kato Stalos
Cretan Dream Royal Chania
Cretan Dream Royal Crete/Chania - Stalos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing