We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it was closer to Viana”
Review of Hotel Minho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Minho
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thought it was closer to Viana”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

It was our mistake, but when we booked, we thought this hotel was closer to Viana do Castelo. When we finally arrived we realized that it was almost in Spain.

The hotel, it was a nice, clean, trendy hotel with a nice pool. The employees were nice enough, but we were tired from driving a long way. We were surprised that there was so little to do in the evenings in town. Nothing was open, with the exception of a few cafe's. Our little one was just too tired to stay up.

The wifi was slow in our room, but in the lobby and near the pool it worked fine. As for the pool itself, the water was a little chilly but the kiddy pool and the adult pool was clean and refreshing. We enjoyed it quite a bit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    316
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
297
339
19
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice place to rest and use SPA facilities. Area is very beautiful to visit with own transport. Hotel has very clean modern lines and service is as expected (****). Had no chance to try SPA though, lot of outdoor activities Maybe next time. Will come back if possible.

Room Tip: Try Trivago web site and contact hotel to get a counter-offer. Lower rooms have direct access to sw...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nearby trail routes and Restaurants are a few Km away. Try Caminha or Vila Nova de Cerveira for restaurants or all the West coast.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbermonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga District, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very beautiful and cosy design (light wood + white details). Such a helpful and dedicated staff. Everything functioning so well. Starting from the fruit in the room, followed by a relaxing massage, ending with a live Fado music - all was so beautifully thoughtful. Hotel has all one needs and with a very high quality products. All clean, comfortable and beautiful. Delicious breakfast with a green mountain view. Recommended thousands of times! :) We simply loved it!

Room Tip: We had a swimming pool view and it was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ausraaraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Warmfull and calm. Well located and not far from Valença or V.N Cerveira. Spacious rooms with a nice terrace! The SPA has a good and varied offer! Nice swiming pool, framed by a beautiful landscape!...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JoaoTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wentzville, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We came for a family wedding in England and the 2nd part of our trip was thru Portugal and Spain. Our last 4 days of our journey we had a car and my Husband wanted to go to Fatima and to Santiago De Compastela. as we drove I found the country just breath taking and the people so helpful and friendly. We asked our front desk clerk to please book us a room in nice quiet village on our way back to Lisbon, and she booked us into this beautiful hotel. We stayed in a five star and that hotel didn't even measure up to this one. When we checked in, our room wasn't ready yet, so we asked for a recommendation to eat, and where the locals go, Bruno recommended the Casa Lau restaurant, the food was excellent, it was really nice and the weather was beautiful. when we checked in the room was beautiful, the bed was great, because we have slept on some really awful beds during our trip. the room was more that what I expected, the patio off the room right to the pool and the tennis courts. We didn't part in the Spa, but I did check it out and I would have used it. I honestly have to say that in America we can take tips on customer service from them, because they were incredible. When we checked out in the morning they were kind enough to help us book our hotel at the Lisbon airport. It will be awhile before we come back, but the Hotel Minho I will recommend to my travel agent, and to anyone I know who is going to Portugal and going to the Northern region. I would give them 10 stars if I could.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stay overnight after a day of site seeing in Northern Portugal. We were treated to the most incredible elegant hotel on the edge of wine country - we had a balcony room facing the outdoor pool. The concierge were very attentive and well spoken English - the spa and mineral pools, lounge spaces all beautifully designed and detailed with a high level of quality materials wood and stone. Breakfast was elegant (straightforward fruit, eggs, deli, cheese )overlooking the countryside - it is remote but well worth the drive if you plan to spend time in this area. Very traditional restaurant great family (separate review). Knowing this place would recommend at least a 2 nite stay. Well crafted Portuguese design and hospitality. Bravo.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RenanteSolivar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I got to stay at the Hotel Minho in northern Portugal at the end of May for a few days. The main thing here is the staff are extremely courteous and helpful in this recently-renovated hotel. I learned that the staff were all retained by the owners while the hotel was closed during the renovation which shows great loyalty. While it does not have its own restaurant, this is not a drawback as the same owners own the restaurant situated alongside the hotel - it serves fantastic food at reasonable prices and focusing on local cuisine. while the menu was only in Portuguese, the waitress explained everythign in English. The hotel rooms are spacious, if box-shaped, but the private terrace was almost as big, including table and chairs, facing over the pools, tennis court and vineyards. There were not a huge number of people staying at the hotel when I was there, but this was probably as it was not yet high season. The breakfast was very healthy, in keepign with the focus on the 600m2 spa. There is a huge amount to do in the surrounding region, by car, which I wrote about in by travel blog - see http://www.chronicle.lu/categoriestravelopinion/item/7430-geoff-thompson-destination-minho,-northern-portugal-nature,-history-wellness.

Room Tip: ask for a hotel overlooking the pool and you geta great balcony/terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vila Nova de Cerveira
17.9 mi away
Tempus Hotel & Spa
Tempus Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Ponte da Barca
316 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Porta do Sol
Hotel Porta do Sol
#1 of 3 in Caminha
574 reviews
23.3 mi away
Monte Prado Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
INATEL Cerveira Hotel
INATEL Cerveira Hotel
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
133 reviews
10.5 mi away
Design & Wine Hotel
Design & Wine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Caminha
233 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Meira
Hotel Meira
#1 of 1 in Vila Praia de Ancora
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Minho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minho

Property: Hotel Minho
Address: En-13 Vila Mea, Vila Nova de Cerveira 4920-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viana do Castelo District > Vila Nova de Cerveira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vila Nova de Cerveira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Minho 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Alto Minho, our hotel is the symbol of an intimate and leisure modern concept. Elegance and simplicity define our project - elements that are visible in the architecture, design, the way we receive our guests and other little extras that will make you stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Minho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing