We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White House inn”
Review of The Whitehouse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Whitehouse Inn
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“White House inn”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room very clean service was first class very friendly free wifi
The only thing it was very hot when we stopped and with no air con i found the room very hot even with the window open needed fans in the rooms
But all in all will be going back in the future

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    74
    19
    4
    14
See reviews for
81
82
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed in family room, plenty of room, clean and spacious,massive bathroom. Lovely location, friendly staff, very near beautiful beach, great for families and couples. Lovely children's play area. Very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kazzy495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here in a family room, very clean, spacious room. Plenty of tea and coffee with the coffee making facilities. Hundreds of sockets in the room so I could charge everything at once and use my curling tongs at the same time. Staff very helpful, I needed to use a printer and they kindly let me use theirs. Free Wifi is handy. Breakfast was very good. Highly recommend the house brandy (not for breakfast though). Good value for money. Also accessible for wheelchair users and people with mobility difficulties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemayjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a lovely overnight stay, very friendly staff and helpful and the food excellent...the room was clean and very modern. If there was one critism. The room could have done with a fan as it was hot. But overall a very enjoyable stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have stayed here twice, whilst on business and both times I've been really impressed with the quality of the service and the food. Whilst it's not the best looking place I've stayed in, it certainly makes up for it in the friendliness of all the staff encountered. The price includes a breakfast, which was really well presented on the plate. The accomodation is of a reasonable standard, but the beds are comfortable and well stocked, with a good tray of biscuits / tea & coffee. I would certainly recommend this Inn for the quality of food and service...Give it a try and you wont be dissapointed..

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top level if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LuisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

As my title says, we have only ever eaten here, never stayed the night. However, I think it speaks for itself when I say that we only ever eat at the Whitehouse Inn when we go for days out on the North coast. It is a great place, with an indoor play area for kids (tucked away from the main bar area) and an outdoor play area too.
The food is always good, if not excellent (the homemade chips are to die for), and the prices are reasonable too (£4.95 for the kids meals, and they're a good size).
I would highly recommend it to anyone who would like to eat out with their small children.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamingofpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

10th of June 2014.... We booked a table at the "Whitehouse Inn" at Penhallow... Table was booked for 19.30 but we were a little on the early side and arrived around 19.00. We went to the bar and ordered a couple of drinks. We were served by the most pleasant person that we have met for a long time ... We asked the lady that served us if it would be possible to go into the restaurant area for our meal despite us being early ..... "yes my darlin" she replied, of course it is and in an instant we were shown to a table.. As we were given the menu's the same lady apologised to us that the waitress hadn't turned in for work and said that she would try not to keep "you waiting my darlins"... After a very short time she was back to take our order ..

We had a very nice meal and were more than happy with the lady who was obviously doing three jobs at the same time... she was very attentive and despite running around like the "roadrunner" managed to be exceptionally pleasant to all the customers not least my wife and I .

In all we had a very nice meal in pleasant surroundings but our visit was made even better by the
lady that served us ... I found out that her name was Kelly...

Trustworthy too .... I wanted to give her a tip as we paid our bill but she said "oh thank you my darling" but she wasn't allowed to take it as all tips went into a tin .... A quick word with her boss solved that little issue and I bunged her a fiver ! ... (hey, last of the big spenders I am )...

We will visit again and hope that the management will by that time have given "Kelly" a wage increase that she obviously deserves ......

Oh, "a couple of other things" ... unless you are really hungry don't order the mixed grill... Phew!!! (lovey though)..

And, to the boss.... we were glad that the restaurant waitress didn't turn up tonight because if she had we more than likely wouldn't have met Kelly one of your best assets ...

We'll be back !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rt1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kel1980, Owner at The Whitehouse Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your most kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal but most of all that you feel about Kelly the same way that we do. We do try to pick our staff very carefully and sometimes finding a gem is really difficult in this day and age but we have found one in our Kelly.
Thank you once again my darlings and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penhallow
1.8 mi away
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
438 reviews
5.9 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#2 of 4 in Truro
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Driftwood Spars B & B
3.3 mi away
St. Agnes Hotel
St. Agnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Agnes
213 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitehouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitehouse Inn

Property: The Whitehouse Inn
Address: on the A3075, Penhallow TR4 9LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penhallow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Penhallow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whitehouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run public house, restaurant and luxury lodge based in Penhallow or Perranzabuloe parish.Set in the idyllic Cornish countryside but only approx 1.5 miles to Perranporth, 7 miles to Truro/Newquay, 9 mile to Redruth.We serve traditional pub grub with a full children's menu and specials board and we focus on good value.We have a huge area for indoor dining or if you're lucky enough to experience a sunny Cornish day we also have a very large patio area with 2 gazebos for a little extra shading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Whitehouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whitehouse Inn Penhallow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing