We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th time and already booked 5th!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“4th time and already booked 5th!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Vasilli is the perfect host of this paradise. Set in the peaceful hills, a 20 minute beautiful walk from town, it is a very relaxing place to be. The view across to the town cannot be bettered in Greece. Apartments are typically Greek. Two beds , a shower, a cooker and a balcony with table and chairs. All kept clean. What more do you need. Vasilli has a bar where he serves drinks and breakfast/snacks so you can spend all day by the pool if you want. Molyvos has some very good restaurants and bars (and an outdoor cinema). You will never get tired of exploring the town and harbour. It is as spectacular as the view from the apartment.

Room Tip: Best rooms are upstairs facing the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Garysevern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    34
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
73
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived at the Marianthi after only a 1hour & 40 mins delay at Manchester!!, to be greeted by the lovely friendly face of Vasilis, and during our stay realised he is one of the most genuine owners we have ever met on holiday in Greece.
We had a lovely high floor room overlooking the pool with fantastic views of the sea, castle & Molyvos. Watching the sunset most evenings from the balcony will stay in our memory for a long time.The room was spacious enough for the 2 of us and the bathroom even had a cabinet over the sink for toiletries instead of having to balance them on a window ledge like some rooms we have stayed in Greece!! One evening the bulb went in the bathroom and Vasilis came straight away with a replacement....what a star.
The pool area is very spacious with plenty of sunbeds available, also nice and quiet for relaxing & reading. Most days there was a lovely breeze which was refreshing, also there are great views from round the pool...sea, castle & surrounding gardens.
The gardens are very well kept by Christos,Vasilis' brother, and are a credit to him.
The bar/taverna at the Marianthi serves excellent food especially their 'beef stifado' cooked by Vasilis' Mum, one of the best we've had in Greece. All their ingredients, salads & veg are home grown, and their tomatoes & olives were very tasty.
During our stay we did many walks around the area. One day we took the bus to Anaxos and walked back to Molyvos via Petra. Another day we walked up the road towards Vafios, and took the path to Petra via the reservoir. On our return from Petra we took the signposted path up to Vafios village. By this time we were getting hungry. We went to a lovely restaurant called 'Vafios' where we enjoyed a lovely meze starter for 2 people, which included cheese & spinach pies, zucchini flowers, stuffed vine leaves to mention a few. Then we walked the meal off back to base.
We also decided to take a one way boat trip from Molyvos harbour to Skala Sikaminia, a lovely quaint fishing harbour, and walked back along the coastal path, dropping down to the beach before arriving at Eftalou. Then continued on back to Molyvos....would not have missed doing this walk as the scenery was superb!! This walk took us about 2 and a half hours with a couple of refreshment stops. .
A trip to the castle with an entry fee of only 2 euros is a must but closed on a Monday. The views over to Turkey are stunning. The steps up to the castle are not steep so easily negotiated for those people who think it may not be accessible.
There is so much more to do and explore, so a return visit is definately on the cards and we will most certainly be staying with Vasilis & his family again.....cannot recommend the Marianthi highly enough.
Thanks again Vasilis for a great 2 weeks and look forward to our next time xxx

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have afternoon sun from around 2pm until sunset but all the rooms look gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the good points. Vasilis is a great host, welcoming and always has a smile. Our room was a good size, with a free safe for valuables and air-con (although we didn't need it as there was a lovely breeze). Pool is a good size and there are plenty of sunbeds. It's a 15 minute walk into town, and if you're feeling fit you can walk up the hill to Vafios where there is a superb taverna, or take the trail to Eftalou and the hot springs (pleasant stroll early in the morning but get the bus back!) another good point is that there is free wi-fi although the signal only really works near the bar!
On the negative side, we were woken constantly on most nights by cars arriving or leaving between 1am and sunrise - we think it was various staff using the little car park opposite the restaurant/bar as opposed to other guests.

Overall it was a good place to stay, it was just the noise which spoiled things, ironic really as we chose the place so as not to be in the centre of town! I guess we could have shut the doors and put the air-con on but it was bliss to sleep with that lovely breeze :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TME67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Yes. We went again! Year 7 (and already planning Year 8!)
Arriving late due a 6 hour delay out of Manchester all the stress of that was immediately forgotten when my old friend Vasilis appeared from the reception area.

Room 44 was ours this year with the goats as neighbours again but who cares?

Room was clean and big enough for the3 of us....and whilst the rooms were all taken in the 2nd week we didn't have any problem securing our sun beds. The infamous cheese ham and tomato toasties took some hammer as did the Amstel

A night on the Ouzo until 4 in the morning with Vasilis is highly recommended - but not the hangover!!!

The walk into town was pleasurable and set us up nicely for an evening meal down in the harbour....an all round brilliant holiday

Room Tip: ...beware of Greeks serving ouzo....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daggy1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned today after 15 days at the Marianthi. An extra day/night due to a 24 hour flight delay with Monarch!! Other reviewers have already said this but one of the best things about the Marianthi is Vasilis, the owner, who is extremely firendly and welcoming. On arrival there was no booking in, he just showed us to our blocks, told us our room number and said the key was in the door. On the day we were due to leave he told us of the delay and told us to take our cases back to our rooms and keep them until further notice. As it turned out we stayed an extra night so he got the maid to come back and clean and change the bedding and towels. The apartments are further out than we expected so a walk into town was a good 20 minutes but we hired a scooter so it wasn't a real problem. A taxi was just 5 euros. Yes the apartments maybe could do with a few extra nicities such as mirrors, more storage, pictures, better flusing toliets etc but then thats Greece for you. If you're not a good sleeper then beware of the sheep in the field behind who were herded every morning by the shepherds at around 6am. They wear bells so are noisy!! It was good value for money so would definately return. And lastly the safe deposit boxes were free and Air Con wasn't needed.

Room Tip: We were in Room 26 which was in the second block. Our room was on the side of the block so never got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howeand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose Marianthi as the apartments are in a quiet area and not overlooked, but still only a short walk from Molyvos. Vasilis made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, such a friendly host always happy to help and advise. Rooms are basic but more than adequate, cleaned daily with good views and comfortable beds. There's a decent size pool with plenty of seating and sun loungers around it, and the complex feels uncrowded surrounded by pleasant views of the countryside and castle. If you fancy eating onsite the pool bar serves really good homemade food, much of which is sourced locally or grown on the surrounding farmland. We rarely go back to the same place twice, but we certainly hope to return to Marianthi Paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jilawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

all I can say is that we had a fantastic holliday from start to finish the studios are basic but I must say the beds were very comfy and had some lovely sleeps there.and that was good enough for us because that the only reason you want as most of the time you are out it takes about a hour and a half on the coach from the airport.the walk down into molyvos is lovely but we did sometimes get a taxi home it was only 5euros all te resterants that we ate in were lovely and they will do all they can to please you this is a lovely island and the marianthi is a lovely place to stay vacilli and his family r lovely and r always joking around and will do anything for you waiting for it to go on the web site so I can book for next yr

Room Tip: room 37 over looks the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molyvos
1.3 mi away
Akti Hotel
Akti Hotel
#9 of 12 in Molyvos
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
0.9 mi away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#7 of 12 in Molyvos
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Assos Dove Hotel
Assos Dove Hotel
#6 of 20 in Assos
264 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments

Property: Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments
Address: Vafios Road, Molyvos 81108, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Molyvos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments Hotel Molyvos
Marianthi Hotel, Studios And Apartments
Marianthi Hotel, Studios & Apartments Molyvos, Lesbos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing