We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically Greek”
Review of Belvedere Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belvedere Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Typically Greek”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My husband, myself and teenage daughter stopped at the Belvedere on an all inclusive basis in August 2012. From the moment we arrived to going home we had an absolutely fabulous time. We had no rep (brilliant!!) and the receptionist was on hand to take us to our room and tell us about the hotels facilities and had our suitcases brought to our room. The room was spacious and cleaned daily with fresh towels every other day and clean bedding every 3 days. We had a seaview overlooking Turkey which was private and quiet. The pool area, which included a jacuzzi (free of charge) was always clean and plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The food was excellent ,but very Greek, so if can't live without a good English Breakfast, turkey twizzlers and John Smiths stay in Spain! Big shout out to Katrina, Strados and the best pool player in Molyvos, Yannis. All staff were brilliant and coulldn't do enough for you. The walk into Molyvos is a good 1/2 hour but the walk was welcomed to walk off all the food and drink consumed each day. Molly's Bar by the harbour is well worth checking out say hello to Martin who runs it. Magners cider and Smirnoff aplenty reasonable prices and good music. Take a look at the castle only 2 euros with fantastic views of Molyvos. Will definately be
returning we were the only British in the hotel it was quiet relaxed and very chilled LOVED IT

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Frenchy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    37
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
46
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I fully recommend this place.Clean hotel, romantic views, sunset, night view of the illuminated castle and swimmingpool, very friendly people, great staff, delicious food, coffee was to drink-this happened to me first. Beach is downhill distant about 250 m... but If you want sand in the sea you must go to left until almost the shower... :-) I dived there so I know where is what :)
It was simply PERFECT HOLIDAYS-I NEVER FORGET and I will go again there.
unless you are not conceited people-who sees the mistakes everywhere this is hotel for you.

Room Tip: 319 :-) the toilet seat creaks :D but It was funny... :D This is only mistake... :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank _274714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel on all inclusive basis. There are quite a few äspects of this hotel we liked, but they can be aspects of dislike for others. The hotel is is situated on a hill, ca 3 km outside thevillage of Molyvos: it means stunning views on the village and castle of Molyvos, and the sea, no noise of traffic, very relaxed, but it also means that you are "in the middle of nowhere" and that it is quite isolated. The hotel provides 4 time a day a shuttle service to Molyvos; close to the hotel is a bus stop bringing you to nearby Molyvos and the attractive village Petra for 1,60 E per ride. Taxi cost to Molyvos 5 E and to Petra 11, so it is not impossible to go back to the more lively world.
The hotel has 70 or so appartments/villa's units, that are quite spacious, the decoration is simple and a bit old fashioned (no flat screen); our room had a shower + toilet, no bath. All rooms dohave balconies/terrace, most with a splendid view.
The all inclusive food & drink is OK but basic: breakfast: yoghurt, honey, cheese, ham, eggs and jam; lunch and dinner: all knd of greek food: salads, potatoes, vegetables, most of the time cooked lamb and chicken, some desserts and water melon. Drinks: some non alcoholic drinks (watery fruit juice, cola, soda, lemon, sprite) and local beer, red & white wine and ouzo. All other drinks / cocktails etc you must pay.
There is asswimming pool with ca 50 beds and 25 umbrella's for about 150 guests, so everyday some guests put their towels already on the beds very early ;-(. The hotel has a nice terrace overlooking the swimming pool area.
The hotel says they have theiir own beach, but that is not worth a visit; the better beach you can find in Petra, 5 km from the hotel.
Because of the hill, it can be difficult for people with a bad condition to walk up and down (in the summerheat), it might be a boring place for younger people.
There are large groups of Dutch and Scandinavian guests who seem to like to chat and drink the whole day together, sitting on the terrace or near the swimming pool, and the only way to avoid that is to go somewhere outside the hotel.
Lesbos is a nice island, if we go back we will select a hotel nearby Petra.

Room Tip: if you have difficulties walkin up and down the hill, ask foor a room on the level of the swimming p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reparepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Very Poor Hotel for food and drinks. No choice for food and the drinks was very limited and only free until 10.30. Had to eat out day and night because the food was so bad. Do no go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 825BobHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stayed here for 1 week in May. Long ride from airport, lovely views but hairpin bends so not good if a poor traveller. Hotel is on hillside so some of the rooms are down a lot of steps and paths, we were lucky as we were at the top same level as the bar and pool. The rooms have been refurbished and it was clean and modern but the bathroom could have been better although the shower was handheld it was modern and always plenty of hot water. We were as most people on all inclusive but be warned the drinks part of the package is only beer, wine and oozo also soft drinks, and you can only have it until 10.30pm and then you have to pay and it is expensive!! The bar and seating area are modern, as is the pool area although there are only about 30 sun beds, as the hotel was not full it was not a problem. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly and if you need anything you only have to ask.
The food was not bad, for breakfast there was a good variety, cereal, ham, cheese, tomato,hot boiled eggs, scambled eggs, yogurt, honey, lovely fresh bread to cut , jams and also a toaster. Lunch and Dinner were were similar Great greek salad with fete cheese and separate tomatoes cucumber ,beans ,mayonasses, beetroot, and again fresh bread to cut, on the hot side greek type stew, cheese pie , different vegetable dishes, and the chef there to do stir fry and to tell you what he had to offer each day. I will say we had moussaka twice while we were there and it was the best I have ever tasted. On a friday evening they have a greek night but you have to pay . We didn't but we could watch the greek dancing and join in those that had paid got a slight different meals but not 10euros worth. It is about 35 mins walk in to molyvos and it is a pretty place with lots of tavernas and also a pretty harbour with more tavernas. The courtesy bus runs so far into town 4 times a day. The local buses were not running until our last day so we went to Petra which is small but flat and pretty gave our legs a rest.
This hotel and Molyvos are not suitable for anybody with walking difficulties as it is very hilly to say the least. All in all we had a great week with good company and the weather was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with a 3 eg. 304 near pool and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kaytraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

The location of the hotel is great, with most rooms having superb sea views, though a fair walk from the centre of Molyvos. The hotel was supposedly revamped in 2010, however that did not stop plumbing issues in our room and the room above, though the problem was soon rectified.
We went through Thompson Holidays on an AI basis but be warned that as far as drinks go, the AI only includes tea/coffee/local beer/Ouzo and some soft drinks. Unfortunately the food and drink side of things is where things start to be less than satisfactory. " Fruit Juices" out of the self service machines appear to be watered down fruit drinks and not juice at all. However, the main area of concern was, the "HOT" food, which unfortunately was rarely more than luke warm, whether this contributed to 2 bouts of stomach problems for both me and my wife I can only surmise. Whilst we were there, the hotel had guests from Holland, Belgium, Germany and UK all of which seemed to be on an AI basis and a lot of which were less than happy with the heat of the food. As a previous reviewer has also stated, if you are into desserts, you will be doubly disappointed, as they are almost non existent.
Thompson rated this hotel as 4T when we went........ well, I don't know how they award "T's", but don't take T's as stars because 4* it certainly is not.
Overall, the hotel is clean and comfortable enough (probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, in Greece). The staff are very friendly, ( a lot of which are Bulgarian). It's just a shame it's let down on the catering side of things.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WR9Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We just came back from 1 week holidays in Belvedere Aeolis ... supposed to be 4 * hotel near the beach.

Do not go in this hotel if you would like to eat greek food, hot meals (4 stars hotel with no own kitchen!), delicious geek desserts (they don't have any desserts, only watermelon if you are lucky), don't belive that you will get the room, which you can see on their website (rooms are small, dirty and old - specialy bathroom).

In NO case take ALL INCLUSIVE - you will be so disappointed how the staff will treat you; like you did not pay a large sum of money to stay there! You have to begg to be served with the cheapest food and drink you can imagine - hot wine, artificial cola and juices, ice cream is not the same if you pay there or you have it in your AI, for breakfast you will get old bread and old sausage, spoiled milk for coffe, just once in 1 week we have olives ...

If this would be our first time in Greece, would probably be our last too. In 9 years of greek experience - this is the worst ever!!! If you are looking for accommodation in Lesbos - find some nice place to stay on the Molyvos beach or in Skala Eressos.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molyvos
0.5 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viva Mare Hotel
Viva Mare Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akti Hotel
Akti Hotel
#9 of 12 in Molyvos
21 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Molyvos 1
Hotel Molyvos 1
#7 of 12 in Molyvos
61 reviews
12.1 mi away
Assos Dove Hotel
Assos Dove Hotel
#5 of 20 in Assos
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belvedere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belvedere Hotel

Property: Belvedere Hotel
Address: Molivos Eftalou, Molyvos 81108, Greece (Formerly Aeolis Hotel)
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Molyvos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Molyvos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belvedere Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belvedere hotel ex- Aeolis is in a great spot if you want to get Away from it all without being out on a limb. Built into a hillside overlooking the sea, it’s in a quiet position just outside Molyvos – but it’s only a ten-minute walk from the town centre. The hotel suns a twice –daily courtesy bus into town, as well. Plus, you’ve got a beach a few minutes’ walk away.The pool makes the most of the hotel’s location. Positioned at the back of the main building, it’s surrounded by teak decking and likes straight out over the countryside and sea. Wooden sunloungers and parasols line the water and there’s a whirlpool bath for some post-swim pampering. And if you want to burn off some energy, you’ve got an open-air gym tucked behind the pool.Inside, everywhere feels shiny and new thanks to a recent Facelift.Big windows usher in the light and flocked salon chairs, leather sofas and gleaming marble floors take pride of place in the public rooms. The restaurant is a case in point. Approached down a sweeping marble staircase, it’s spacious and light with a grandiose feel. You can enjoy the American-style buffet breakfast here and head for the hotel’s on-site taverna for lunches and dinners.As for the rooms, they’re bungalow-style affairs tiered into the hillside. Recently refitted, there’re smart and clean, with faux leather headboards, ceramic floors and stylish peach and coffee colour schemes. In-room fridges, satellite TVs and balconies or terraces add the finishing touches. If you like the idea of more independence, meanwhile, it might be worth choosing the studio rooms, which come with their own kitchenettes.LOCATION. 80m to the beach, 800m to the resort centre, shops, restaurants and nightclub, 20m to the bus stop, complimentary shuttle bus to Molyvos 4 times a day.TRANSFER TIME. 1hr 45 minsSWIMMING POOL. swimming pool, sun beds, umbrellas, large gardens, pool towels, pool bar serving snacksMEALS. Main buffet restaurant-indoor with outdoor seating-offers Greek and international cuisine and Show cooking.ACTIVITIES gym, whirlpool bath, gamesENTERTAINMENT lounge-lobby, satellite TV in lobby main bar, traditional Greek nightFOR FAMILIES playground kid’s menu ,cots highchairsOTHER FACILITIES 24hr reception, internet, library, exchange money, laundry service, massage, room service.ROOM FACILITIES all rooms have air-condition, satellite TV telephone fridge, bath or shower, hairdryer and balcony or terrace with sea views.STANDARD ROOMS sleep up to 4 with a double and 2 extra beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Belvedere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Molyvos, Lesbos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing