We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“realistic”
Review of Elpida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elpida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“realistic”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Second time in alykeness and had a fantastic time the elpida is a very typical greek family run hotel. If you are looking for a friendly clean base to do your island discoveries it is the perfect base. We were given a ground floor room next to the pool on arrival, nice room but a little noisy for me and the wife who didn't intend to use the pool, so asked for a exchange, this was sorted for us on the second morning with a perfect 1st floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool, more privacy less noise, no extra charge.Would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    62
    28
    14
    15
See reviews for
115
108
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family, my parents and I stayed at the Elpida between 25th July and the 9th August. We were met by Dennis who showed us to our rooms. Perfectly clean and adequate for what we wanted. A base for a relaxing 2 weeks.
My mother had 1 minor complaint. No toaster in the room.
And that was it.
Spiros my Greek Geek friend. (a semi professional Greek Wrestler ;-D) was absolutely brilliant for the whole 2 weeks as were his parents. The cleaners kept the rooms clean and tidy with bedding and towels regularly changed. The pool area is lovely. Plenty of sun loungers and close enough to the bar for drinks but far enough from Spiros's taste in music. ;-)
Alykanas and Alykes are wonderful. The Elpida is a short stroll from the beach, which is beautiful and the bars and restaurants. The usual mix of Greek traditional and Holiday traditional food is available at all of them. La Caretta being our favourite.
We enjoyed it so much that for the first time ever we're definitely going back.

Room Tip: As has already been mentioned. the rooms at the back of the hotel are the quietest. The views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Another year staying at the Elpida (3rd year)!! You could not get a better, more friendly establishment to stay at on the island. Spiros and his family could not be more friendly and accommodating. If there are any problems (which personally we have never had) they are attended to immediately. We love both the family the location and will be going back again next year....... 2 star this should be awarded 5!!!!!!! Roll on 2014 :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dumpling1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My 5th time to zante & my 2nd time staying at the Elpida. Spiros & his family are great. Kids loved their stay & had some fun times at the pool. Spiros speaks really good English & is always helpful. His Spiros special (cocktail) is very nice.
Will definitely stay again. Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great time at Elpida. Room was clean and comfortable, and the lovely cleaner (Natasha) came every other day to do a thorough job. The pool was well sized, the bar was more than reasonable, and the shop had everything you could want, including a card machine for 'cash passports', which a lot of other places didn't have, annoyingly enough. Spiros and his family are very welcoming, do whatever they can to help, and do it with a smile.
The resort of Alykanas is great for families as there's something for everyone, and Elpida is far away enough from the louder end, but still close enough to the beach.
The worst thing about Alykanas is the dreadful woman (Diana) who harrasses you every time you pass her restaurant, 'Memories'. You can't get past her without her insisting on being your best friend (if you escape without a hug once you won't get away the second time!) and when we did finally succumb to her persistent pestering, the food was rubbish! But at least she left us alone after that. Not far from crappy 'Memories' is a great place called 'Greek Acropolis'. The food was super (best chips in Aykanas) and they sell their own olive oil which is good enough to drink! So nice, we brought 3litres back with us.
Far and away the very best food though was to be had at 'Mantalena', a fairly quiet unassuming family restaurant on the main strip, with masses of grapes hanging from a vine pergola. The food was more traditional Greek rather than pandering to the burgers and chips brigade. Fresh, simple home-made dishes, cooked to perfection (the spanakopitakia are awesome!), and fast, friendly service. Even the wine was a cut above at this place.

Room Tip: rooms at the back, away from the bar and the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at the elpida for 2 weeks , gotta say it was lovely , we couldn't find fault with anything the rooms are clean and bedding and towels changed regular , the pool is very clean and inviting just what you need when its boiling hot , the whole family is welcoming and nothing is to much trouble .we would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedee196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at the Elpida Hotel from the 11th-25th August, this was our first time and will definately be back next year! Spiros and his family are lovely, always got a smile on their faces making everybody welcome. The rooms are kept clean, clean bedding and towels and bins emptied regular, the cleaners work so hard.
The grounds are very well looked after. My 2 children aged 6 & 10 loved it in the pool. The food from the hotel was great especially the English breakfast and my daughter loved the omlettes which come with a mountain of chips.
You must try the Mythos beer from the bar at the Elpida, comes in an ice cold glass mmmmmmmmmm just what u need when it's red hot weather.
All the bars/restaurants are in very close walking distance, did not have one bad meal, such a great atmosphere everywhere you go in Alykanas! The beach is a must, so sandy, lovely, clean and the sea is nice and warm.
Spiros and his family we will definately see you next year coming back on the 7/8/14 for 2 weeks, already sorted our family rooms out with Spiros, booking our flights too :)

Room Tip: We stayed in studio 348/349 which was up at the back in a quiet location of the hotel, definately re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.1 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
220 reviews
4.6 mi away
Alamis Apartments
Alamis Apartments
#29 of 51 in Tsilivi
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zantegarden Apartments
Zantegarden Apartments
#5 of 19 in Alykanas
46 reviews
0.7 mi away
Antonio Studios
Antonio Studios
#11 of 19 in Alykanas
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elpida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elpida Hotel

Property: Elpida Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Alykanas
Hotel Class:2 star — Elpida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elpida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing