We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elpida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elpida Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a fab 2 wk break here. Rooms tho basic were clean with comfy beds. Maid came in every few days to change towels and bedding. We really enjoyed our stay and Spiros was always happy to help. Our only moan was that the air con wasn't brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Srawberrymilkshake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    59
    25
    14
    13
See reviews for
102
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Both myself and my parter both work in Central London in hectic, fast paced jobs.

It's great to get away where we can both relax and unwind in comfortable, safe and warm surroundings and I can think of no better place than this superb family run establishment, a stones throw from the beach with great bars and restaurants right on your doorstep.

The Elpida caters for all ages, from younger couples like myself and partner, to those with small or young children, to those slightly older but go on like you children themselves (...I'm not naming anyone :)

All are made to feel welcome from the second they arrive.

I first stumbled upon the Elpida as a happy accident over 4 years ago as a last minute bargain via Teletext holidays.

From the second we arrived we were greeted by Spiros and his mother, father and staff and welcomed with open arms. They honestly could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable, sharing local sightseeing tips, restaurant recommendations and more.

So enjoyable was our stay that I actively sort out the hotel the following year and booked direct and have done so for the past 3 consecutive years since. I'm not the only one either

A quick glance at their facebook page or guest book and you'll find there are many like myself that since first experiencing this well kept secret have been going back for years.
With such an open, honest and friendly atmosphere it really isn't hard to see why.

If you are looking for a loud, noisy, hectic stay in Zante, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a relaxed, vibrant and rewarding stay to recharge your batteries, take in the scenery, sun and local spirit with great food, drink and excellent company, I can honestly think of no better place.

Long may it continue.

Viva la Elpida!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Second time in alykeness and had a fantastic time the elpida is a very typical greek family run hotel. If you are looking for a friendly clean base to do your island discoveries it is the perfect base. We were given a ground floor room next to the pool on arrival, nice room but a little noisy for me and the wife who didn't intend to use the pool, so asked for a exchange, this was sorted for us on the second morning with a perfect 1st floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool, more privacy less noise, no extra charge.Would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family, my parents and I stayed at the Elpida between 25th July and the 9th August. We were met by Dennis who showed us to our rooms. Perfectly clean and adequate for what we wanted. A base for a relaxing 2 weeks.
My mother had 1 minor complaint. No toaster in the room.
And that was it.
Spiros my Greek Geek friend. (a semi professional Greek Wrestler ;-D) was absolutely brilliant for the whole 2 weeks as were his parents. The cleaners kept the rooms clean and tidy with bedding and towels regularly changed. The pool area is lovely. Plenty of sun loungers and close enough to the bar for drinks but far enough from Spiros's taste in music. ;-)
Alykanas and Alykes are wonderful. The Elpida is a short stroll from the beach, which is beautiful and the bars and restaurants. The usual mix of Greek traditional and Holiday traditional food is available at all of them. La Caretta being our favourite.
We enjoyed it so much that for the first time ever we're definitely going back.

Room Tip: As has already been mentioned. the rooms at the back of the hotel are the quietest. The views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Another year staying at the Elpida (3rd year)!! You could not get a better, more friendly establishment to stay at on the island. Spiros and his family could not be more friendly and accommodating. If there are any problems (which personally we have never had) they are attended to immediately. We love both the family the location and will be going back again next year....... 2 star this should be awarded 5!!!!!!! Roll on 2014 :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumpling1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My 5th time to zante & my 2nd time staying at the Elpida. Spiros & his family are great. Kids loved their stay & had some fun times at the pool. Spiros speaks really good English & is always helpful. His Spiros special (cocktail) is very nice.
Will definitely stay again. Xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a great time at Elpida. Room was clean and comfortable, and the lovely cleaner (Natasha) came every other day to do a thorough job. The pool was well sized, the bar was more than reasonable, and the shop had everything you could want, including a card machine for 'cash passports', which a lot of other places didn't have, annoyingly enough. Spiros and his family are very welcoming, do whatever they can to help, and do it with a smile.
The resort of Alykanas is great for families as there's something for everyone, and Elpida is far away enough from the louder end, but still close enough to the beach.
The worst thing about Alykanas is the dreadful woman (Diana) who harrasses you every time you pass her restaurant, 'Memories'. You can't get past her without her insisting on being your best friend (if you escape without a hug once you won't get away the second time!) and when we did finally succumb to her persistent pestering, the food was rubbish! But at least she left us alone after that. Not far from crappy 'Memories' is a great place called 'Greek Acropolis'. The food was super (best chips in Aykanas) and they sell their own olive oil which is good enough to drink! So nice, we brought 3litres back with us.
Far and away the very best food though was to be had at 'Mantalena', a fairly quiet unassuming family restaurant on the main strip, with masses of grapes hanging from a vine pergola. The food was more traditional Greek rather than pandering to the burgers and chips brigade. Fresh, simple home-made dishes, cooked to perfection (the spanakopitakia are awesome!), and fast, friendly service. Even the wine was a cut above at this place.

Room Tip: rooms at the back, away from the bar and the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Sirena Apartments
La Sirena Apartments
#14 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Litsa Studios & Apartments
Litsa Studios & Apartments
#2 of 19 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elpida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elpida Hotel

Property: Elpida Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Alykanas
Hotel Class:2 star — Elpida Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing