We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elpida Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Danny's Hotel(Alykanas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Letsos(Alykanas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valais Hotel(Alykanas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ionian Star Hotel(Alykes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
168
67
32
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
67
32
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusy roadnext yearall mod consrooms are basiclovely familyfamily run establishmentsmall shopsupermarket attachedair congreek islandsgood sizebaby poolnice poolgreat holidayoverlooking the mountainsbasic cooking facilitiessnack bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We are a young student couple and have just returned from a week at elpida, this made the price favourable but unfortunately the rooms were not as nice as expected. The only real criticisms were, the room had a funny smell to it, the shower was awful; it was such a small space to try and wash which causes the bathroom to flood. The Air con is also another 50 euros if you'd like it.There were limited kitchen facilities (which didn't really matter as there are plenty of nice places to eat out). Spiros was very friendly and greeted us each time we passed but was not particularly helpful when we asked about directions etc. The pool was nice, although, it was on the edge of the main road, but it was not used by us as the beach in alykanas was beautiful! The location of the hotel was ideal, 10 minute walk to the beach, 5 into town and 10 to the furthest restaurant.

Room Tip: If you want wifi in your room, a room at the front, above the bar is favourable. There is some traffic noise but it isn't significant.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristiane19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at The Elpida for 2 weeks once again in late August 2013.

Having read some of the other recent reviews by different people, we really wonder what it is that some families expect. That is not being critical of them, but just trying to be realistic.

We have previously holidayed in numerous countries including Spain; Malta; USA; Italy; Cyprus; Austria; Bulgaria; Ex Yugoslavia; Croatia; Israel; Egypt; Morocco and at least 5 or 6 of the Greek Islands. Other countries offer many attractions, and different styles and qualities, but for us as a couple (now), for the last 5 years or so we have kept coming back to the Elpida.

We believe it to be a superbly run Greek family hotel and the warmth, friendliness and help from Denise, Dennis Spiros and the Staff are far superior than we have experienced elsewhere. We have only just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks but we are already planning our next trip to the Elpida.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Elpida .(12-09-2013) from the moment arrived and we were greeted by Spiros we felt totally relaxed, knowing we had chosen a great hotel . all the family and staff were really first class and nothing was to much trouble .(even when we broke our door handle ,sorry Spiros ).we travelled as a foursome and had rooms 327 and 328 overlooking the garden and we thought it was perfect , totally peaceful and relaxing .the rooms being typically greek were basic but had everything we needed and lovely and clean ,maid service was excellent with clean towels and crisp white sheets changed on a regular basis. our morning always started with the Special english breakfast,not to be missed and at 5 Euro ,great value .local facilities in alykanas are very good with some very good restaraunts Alyikonis,Levantes and La Caretta to name our favourites. lovely beaches nearby and a very good excursion was the Island tour by coach at 15Euro per person was brilliant . All in all a brilliant 2 week holiday made even more special by spiros,his parents and his staff. You may read a few negative comments on the elpida ,my advice is IGNORE them and make your own mind up .you will not be dissapointed !! thank you again to all at the elpida you go that little bit extra for your guests and we hope you have contiued success you really deserve it ..........

Room Tip: rooms to rear garden area are the most quiet and very little traffic noise can be heard .lower rooms 327/328 tend to be not so private as the path goes right by window .
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Just had a fab 2 wk break here. Rooms tho basic were clean with comfy beds. Maid came in every few days to change towels and bedding. We really enjoyed our stay and Spiros was always happy to help. Our only moan was that the air con wasn't brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srawberrymilkshake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Both myself and my parter both work in Central London in hectic, fast paced jobs.

It's great to get away where we can both relax and unwind in comfortable, safe and warm surroundings and I can think of no better place than this superb family run establishment, a stones throw from the beach with great bars and restaurants right on your doorstep.

The Elpida caters for all ages, from younger couples like myself and partner, to those with small or young children, to those slightly older but go on like you children themselves (...I'm not naming anyone :)

All are made to feel welcome from the second they arrive.

I first stumbled upon the Elpida as a happy accident over 4 years ago as a last minute bargain via Teletext holidays.

From the second we arrived we were greeted by Spiros and his mother, father and staff and welcomed with open arms. They honestly could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable, sharing local sightseeing tips, restaurant recommendations and more.

So enjoyable was our stay that I actively sort out the hotel the following year and booked direct and have done so for the past 3 consecutive years since. I'm not the only one either

A quick glance at their facebook page or guest book and you'll find there are many like myself that since first experiencing this well kept secret have been going back for years.
With such an open, honest and friendly atmosphere it really isn't hard to see why.

If you are looking for a loud, noisy, hectic stay in Zante, this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a relaxed, vibrant and rewarding stay to recharge your batteries, take in the scenery, sun and local spirit with great food, drink and excellent company, I can honestly think of no better place.

Long may it continue.

Viva la Elpida!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews