We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“family friendly”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Alykanas Beach Hotel is where families go to not only have a great holiday with their children, they are there making memories for then.

The staff are always very friendly and welcome to see you. It is clean and well kept. The cleaners work hard to keep every thing ship shape. it is the one place you will want to come back to.

Room Tip: rooms on the same side of the reception area are quite and cooler in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moe-mrsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    255
    93
    22
    8
See reviews for
321
279
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was our first trip to Zakinthos (2 weeks 10/07-24/07) - but we’ve been to many other Greek islands over the years so knew roughly what to expect. By far the best aspect is the hotel location; this is right on the clean sandy beach and within very easy reach of a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops.

Booking-in was quick and easy, our bags were taken to our 1st floor sea view room (340) - Though very basic, the room was clean and very spacious with a large double aspect balcony with some plastic garden furniture.

Small kitchen area with cupboards, fridge, 2 ring hob toaster and kettle. Might be time for some new utensils.

Cable/satellite television, English = sky news only, but that suited us.

The bed was enormous and comfy, I personally like a very soft bed at home and I found this perfectly fine. The bathroom has a shower, the curtain is too short and the result you’ll get water everywhere (absolutely everywhere!) but don’t worry it’s really more a wet room with drains in the tray and middle of the room

Daily maid service is good – some days the towels were fluffy, some days flat and hard.

Air-con is a chargeable option @ 60 euro’s/week

There’s free Wi-Fi, best signal is in reception and around the bar

The view from our room (340) overlooked the large lawn area, used as a kids play area and sunbathing area (with plenty of clean loungers). We never had a problem with finding free loungers but I could appreciate how there may be a potential problem with this during peak holiday.

The first week appeared to be older couples, the second week attracted younger families with children. We didn’t experience any groups of boozy lads throughout our stay (not even in the town) – they tend to stay in the Laganas area of the island

We booked room only so experienced an evening meal as part of the Greek night BBQ with dancing @ (2 x 12 euro’s) – the food was mediocre and entertainment was ok, prepare to participate (though not compulsory)

The hotel doesn’t take MasterCard; many places didn’t seem to have the facilities either which is a shame and reflection on the Greek economy I guess

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room then don’t pick a room anywhere facing the bar area, they have frequent k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Branko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Have had a really good two week break here with children. Hotel has great entertainment. All staff helpful. A supermarket stocking all basics was on-site. So carrying water etc not a problem. This was a quiet resort with good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First impressions not good, lots of mould on bathroom wall but this was soon rectified after my husband complained the next day. Lick of paint did the trick temporarily but it was making a come back by the time we left 10 days later. Room basic, cleaned daily, (no hair dryer ladies). Bed not to my liking, too hard. My advice, pay for air con, that way you can sleep with the doors shut and won't be disturbed by the karaoke, elvis tribute or the comings and goings of other guests. 3 days we never got sunbeds at the hotel so had to pay the €5 for 2 beds on the beach next to the hotel. This was due to towels being put on beds early in the morning despite the threat of notices by the pool that beds cannot be reserved and towels will be removed. 1 of those days There were over 20 beds with towels on and not one person using them for over an hour. The position of the hotel is literally right on the beach, water warm and you have to walk out for ages to get to waist level ideal for young children who want a paddle. We hired a boat for the day off Nikos at the hotel and took it to the blue caves and shipwreck beach. We only ate toast for breakfast at the hotel and had salad and a pizza there for lunch which was lovely. The oasis bar next door do great pancakes for breakfast. We ate out every night. Town with restaurants and shops is only a 5 minute walk. Recommend The Apollo and The Lemon Tree and Danny's if you want a Devine strawberry daiquiri. The lemon tree is out of the town but we went by quad bike or you can get one of the horse drawn carriages (local taxi) to take you. The Ammos bar next to the hotel was a place we frequented to get out the sun and enjoy a mythos at lunch time. Also had salads there which were good. As we went out every night can't really comment on the evening entertainment we usually got back as it was finishing. Our room which was 346 got the sun in the evening and had a sea view and overlooked the car park at the side of the hotel and we also had views of the mountains. All in all a relaxing holiday. Can't say we would go back as we never return no matter how good the hotel, too many other Greek islands to visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the 300's are away from the noise of the karaoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Wanted to book somewhere quiet as it was my first time abroad on my own with 2 young boys. Hotel is exactly as it is in the pics. Directly on the beach, sea is clear and like a bath. It's a big hotel but very quiet and relaxed. Staff are lovely. Food is great. And all the other tourists were nice to. You don't need to fight for loungers as there is always some spare, and rooms were very big. Alykanas is an ideal location for family's with kids, and lots of places to
Go. Spent an absolute fortune as I'm not used To using the euro but it was well worth it. Got to be honest though I wasn't fussed on the Greeks, found them rude,arrogant And they look you up And down as if your a piece of dirt. Would defiantly go Back to the hotel but not in a hurry.
P.s don't go near hotel letsos and the cocktail bar there it's an absolute dump and the staff are horrible people!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks here, the location is absolutely fantastic. On arrival we were a bit disappointed with the bathroom which was in bad need of updating, we could hardly turn the taps due to the build up of lime scale. The main room was quite large and clean. We had asked for a room away from the bar and was in room 322 which was right at the back facing the car park, very private and a good room, sun in the afternoon until early evening. We were a party of 7 so found it difficult to get sunbeds unless we were prepared to get up very early. On our last day people were putting towels out at 6.45am. We sat on the beach to the left through the restaurant, owned by a grumpy old man but only 4 euro's for 2 beds and a brolly. The beach is fantastic clear blue calm waters and lovely soft sand. We went out every night to eat so missed the entertainment. Had a couple of lunches at the bar which was quite reasonable. The area was very good for eating out lots to choose from. Would definitely go back to Alykanas but not sure if I would stay here we did get a good deal only paid £454.00 for 2 weeks in July which is really cheap. Would not want to pay any more as it is in need of an update and there were lots of other places to choose from.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After another holiday in Alykanas Beach Hotel cannot wait to return. In fact already booked to go back in September. Don't know what it is about the place but to us it is special. As with all Greek accommodation it is very basic but the friendliness of the staff and the locals more than make up for that. We were in room 141 which was on the outside of the hotel with Sea Views and Country Views. Entertainment isn't up to much but got to say they try. Beautifuly sandy beach. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool. Cafe/Bar with friendly staff and good choice of menu at fair prices.

Room Tip: Not around the pool or over the cafe/bar tends to be a bit noisy there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.2 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
9.6 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
13.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel

Property: Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29090 , Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alykanas Beach Apart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Also Known As:
Alykanas Beach Apart Hotel Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing