We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
55
9
4
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
9
4
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrounded by olive groves well stocked bar gold taps only stayed one night easy access to the town plenty of sunbeds next year short stay lovely pool area minute walk clean rooms place to stay special thanks nothing is too much trouble main resort spent a week bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We visited for 2 weeks at the end of July into August. The rooms are typically Greek, basic but clean and well maintained. Gary, Lesley, Nick and Sinead are all lovely and couldn't do enough for you. Great to have English speaking owners who are integrated into the resort and can tell you the best supermarkets and restaurants. The pool area is lovely, quiet and clean. The food at the pool bar is exceptional for lunches and very reasonably priced. A fabulous holiday with owners who add that personal touch to make you return. We will be back! Louise and Chris

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0uiseb149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I’ve just returned from a short 4 night break with my 5-year-old son, I can say hand on heart that this was way better than what I expected the staff/owners of Zante Gardens are so very nice and attentive to your needs, as this was the first time I had been alone on holiday with my son I was a bit worried however from the time we checked in to the time we left the whole experience was delightful. I would like to say special thanks to Nick for putting up with endless rounds of rock paper scissors (oh yes and sword, gun, coconut) with my son Arvin.
The room was cleaned on a daily basis I had one problem with the shower head I mentioned this to Nick and Gary and it was resolved immediately without any fuss 5-star service.

Thank you all for a lovely stay.

Kash

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Whilst checking in, the guy looked very disinterested and trying to hurry us up. This made us feel unwelcomed so we tried to avoid being there for a long time for the rest of your stay. Just for sleeping. Our room wasn't cleaned and the towels weren't changed during all our stay. But for the last minute booking, it is probably not the worst choice.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Polina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Our apartment was filthy and the smell of mildew was pungent. The floor was littered with small elastic bands, plastic clothing tags, dead insects and crumbs. An exposed electrical socket was discovered hanging from the wall, luckily before my toddler got anywhere near it. In the living space were two heavily stained, musty smelling sofas that wouldn’t have looked out of place in a homeless hostel. A number of centipede type insects were found crawling over it. Accompanying this was a dining table with cobwebs hanging from it, grime under every bed and down the sides of all the furniture. A previous guest’s ‘2 for £12’ clothing label was left plastered on the inside of the wardrobe.

We were informed there were no comparable rooms available and the room was given a hasty wipe down whilst we went a walk. After returning we discovered several hairs and soft, unwashed feeling sheets in the beds. It became clear to us that the apartment had almost certainly not been cleaned since the last occupants.

We decided to check out and were fortunately able to secure last minute accommodation at the Plessas Palace, which was truly excellent. It was however a really unpleasant and stressful start to our holiday, particularly considering we had to heave our suitcases, a baby and a toddler halfway across town in the searing afternoon heat. We informed the owner that we would be leaving and the whole discussion was all quite calm and civilised, considering what we had been faced with. We actually felt quite embarrassed for the owner initially, assuming that she had perhaps been let down by her cleaning staff. She agreed to contact Travel Republic and “sort something out” with regards to a refund.

Well! Travel Republic have now advised that she is now refusing to issue a refund. She has concocted an entirely fictional story in her defence claiming that we shouted and screamed at her and planted the hair ourselves in all the beds so that we could get a room by the pool. In this alternative reality that she has invented, she insinuates that we should have had the good grace to accept the room after she gave it a quick wipe and that this therefore obviates her from any responsibility in providing a refund.

The pictures (which were taken after she had re-cleaned and kicked the socket back in) speak for themselves. The whole rotten experience cost us £428 for the week which, as a hard working family who don’t get to holiday often, has left us feeling pretty ripped off. We don’t ask for much from our accommodation when we go away, but I don’t work hard to sleep in bed sheets littered with other people’s public hair. The owner’s conduct shows a complete lack of integrity and professionalism and is quite frankly an embarrassment to the honest and hardworking local hoteliers of Alykanas.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank LyndsayF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We felt at home immediately. Situated in a quiet, peaceful spot surrounded by vineyards. 5 minute walk to the local tavernas and shops. The beach is walking distance, although we drove due to having young children.
The local beach is perfect for children as stays shallow for quite a distance and is very clean. Its as warm as a bath in the early evenings. We sampled a few local tavernas and all were great and the food and service at Zante Gardens was excellent if you wanted to stay by the pool.
We stayed in an apartment just away from the pool area overlooking the vineyard. It felt secluded and private and had a large terrace perfect for the children to play.

Our holiday was over too soon. We would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank herbertsherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews