We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I was there”
Review of Valais Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valais Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife & myself holiday in this resort once or twice a year for the last 9 years, we have stayed at Valais a number of times and love it to bits, it is a relaxed chilled out holiday, waited on hand and foot if needed or you can jetski yourself into a frenzy if that's the mood your in.
Valais water sports run by Capitano George Valai and Wayne have all you could need in the way of water entertainment and are on the beach to advise you.Boats can be hired for the day and take yourselves to the blue caves and St Nicholas harbour for lunch next to the water, a great day out and not to be missed.
Hotel has a nice well maintained pool and pool bar serving really good food,you will be looked after by Katerina Valai and Julie, both great fun and very helpfull if you need anything.
James (AKA) Speedie will serve you breakfast overlooking the sea in the morning and fetch drinks to the beach later on if needed.
there is a whole kilometre of sandy beach to stroll on and plenty of watering holes on the way, try Palm Tree two for a relaxed coffee or drink before waking back. The beach is lovely and shallow right out to about 50 meters.
We hope to go back later this year,( if we can get flights at the right price) as Valais is not with any of the tour companies
we have always found the cleaning excellent, any extras just ask.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel couple of times, stayed in this area several times, great location, basic rooms, typically Greek, but some updates on last visit, ie tea making facilities, flat screen tv, hotel has a lift so ideal for disabled persons, all staff friendly, especially our Jim, sometimes find Katerina a bit offish though, food and drink all good, would stay again

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool and road have best views
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank 101Christina101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We always take a walk to the beach and stop and sit on the terrace for a drink and sometimes a snack facing the lovely view of the beach. We have also been to eat in the evening and the food is very good with a lots of things to choose from on the menu. The family and staff are very welcoming and friendly and it is a very clean and well run hotel. Once again guys big thanks for making another holiday special.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We visit to Valais in August. The hotel has good out atmosphere. But room is quite old and not well furnished. Cleaning is very bad and poor breakfast. It has nice location in the beach. Pool and bar is bit better. Most bad experience is not a good place for staff to work here. I have heard that staff are paid only 1.50 Euro per hour and need to work continue very hard. Owner is not good to the staff unfortunately. Hope things will change and staff will have better working hour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Once again the Valais just got even better- theyre improving every year.Exceptionally clean and comfortable with great service from all of the team.The rooms are excellent with fantastic maid service nothing is to much trouble for Elaine or Tanya. Breakfast is very good again with incredible service from Jim and overall the foods probably the best in the village the meals we ate at the hotel were far superior to food in restairants in village.The special of day is amazing value.Georges boats continue to improve too and have become a very enjoyable part of our holidays.We will of course be back again next year but would like to thank Kat George Momma and all of the team for another wonderful holiday.See you in the spring.

Room Tip: If you know which room you like ask Kat for it shes happy to oblige whenever she can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzyfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Went back to Valais for the 3rd year in a row and already planning to return next year.
Why - because to us this is a wee slice of paradise. If you are beach lovers like we are, you will love the location. Beautiful sandy beach straight across from the hotel, plenty of sun loungers, only 7 euros a day for 2 beds & a parasol and bar service which makes you even lazier than usual. It was brilliant to catch up with all the staff at Valais - Jimmy & Julie (you are both STARS), Tanya & Helen, Bonnie & Augusta.
The biggest thank you to the boss - Katarina, who makes the whole process of staying here very easy, just go to Valais website as you won't find this hotel available as a package deal. Katarina gave us a lovely welcome back. We stayed B&B, the breakfasts are very tasty - table service with a good choice.
I love the rooms at Valais - basic but everything you could possibly need, a fridge is provided and aircon is only 5 euros a night. Food is excellent - I nearly turned into a chicken souvlaki as I ate this for lunch every day - so delicious !!! All food and drink at Valais very reasonably priced.
We love Alykanas and we still haven't tried all the restaurants yet. If you're after a relaxing holiday, this is the place to go. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you like afternoon/evening sun, request a room overlooking the road or the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LorraineMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

So I'm hooked and that's all thanks to the wonderful team who made me feel so welcomed back in 2011,
This year in September we returned to the beautiful island mainly to see Kat, Julie and the team in the Valais Bar.
Unfortunately we didn't stay in the Valais hotel but we did spend every day at the Valais bar.
Starting the day off with a lovely breakfast and ending the day/night with a few (ok loads) of alcoholic beverages.
We hired a boat from easy boats and toured around the island, up to the blue caves & back (after a lesson from George) which was amazing, cheap and very well run.
Spending most days led on the sun beds on the beach with drinks being served by Bonnie & Jim was such a fab touch for someone as lazy as me!
Every day & night we enjoyed our time spent with our friends of the Valais and can not wait to return..
If you visit Alykanas make sure you visit the Valais bar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
439 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
87 reviews
6.4 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amoudi Studios Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valais Hotel

Address: | Alikes, Zante, Alykanas 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range: £49 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valais Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valais Hotel Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing