We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alykanas Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have been to this hotel twice and both times it has been amazing. Sea views from the hotel and you're basically on the beach as you walk out to the pool areas - which is a bonus for us because we love the beach!

The hotel itself is great for kids - lots for them to do such as the kids day time club and the beach is ideal for kids too.

Both times we have been we have been Self Catering (that's the only option) and we always eat out in restaurants at night. Decent prices. We went to the same restaurant every night though, as the food was great as were the friendly workers! We made lots of friends, and when we returned they remembered us - after 3 years!! They are all so lovely and we had a right laugh with them. The restaurant was called The Poseidon, however, the people who worked there the first time we went, no longer work there anymore - but we did still see them about and had drinks with them.

Me and my daughter went Paragliding (a water sport) and that was out of this world. Amazing experience.

There are completely no disadvantages to this hotel. Everything is great.
Most importantly, the sun is ALWAYS shining and gets up to over 35 degrees.

If you stay in this hotel, you will not regret it. Zante in itself is a perfect island and I will definitely be coming back - and back to this hotel 100%.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a corner room and a middle room. The bathrooms in the corner rooms are bigger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    349
    168
    44
    27
See reviews for
757
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was my first time visting a greek island and I was aprehensive about what to expect.

I can honestly say that this was one of the best holidays I have ever had. The staff here are something else, nothing is too much trouble and they all seem intent on making every effort to ensure you have the best time here.

Gloria the manager is amazing and did all she could to accomodate any requirements, she works so hard for her guests.Thank you Gloria.

Dennis in the bar is friendly, welcoming and a laugh.

All the staff and Thompson reps are friendly, approachable and work hard to ensure guests have a great time.

The rooms are fairly basic but functional and very clean. The pool bar offers a wide selection of drinks, snacks and meals.

The swimming pools are great and the beach is right at the back of the hotel with gently sloping sand and crystal clear water. The small water park offers great fun for adults and children alike.

It is not a 5 star hotel but they certainly offer a 5 star welcome and great service.

The one thing I cannot understand is with all the facilities available to children why are Thompson removing the family resort status at the end of this season? Looking at the other reviews, an awful lot of people who have visited with the family will not be happy with this!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just back from 2nd stay at this resort,
Stayed with wife and two kids aged 5 & 9,
We love the self catering family resort as love to get out and eat in different places each night.
Don't like being stuck in resort and have the rat race to find table, watch everyone drink to much and waste food, so this place is nice.
The manager Gloria is nice and will help with any problems and even recognised us on arrival from last years holiday.
Kids clubs were great, entertainment team were great and made everyone feel welcome to join in or just watch,
My 5 year old loved the games, and 9 year old enjoyed the water dancing..
Can't believe Thomson have only just given this resort a contract for next year and only for 1 year and not going to be a family resort next year...
Think this is due to Thomson wanting this place to be All-inclusive but owner wants to keep place small and look after other local business's.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My mum n dad stayed at this hotel while me n my partner stayed in the Alykanas beach. However we spend most of out days here. The hotel staff were great especially the thomson rep. The kids clubs was fantastic my brother and sister was in it everyday. Also loads going on in the day. We didn't watch the evening entertainment not supposed to be that great however there loads to do outside the hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank pearlamy_donald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was an absolutely fantastic holiday. Hotel is perfectly located on a beautiful beach with shallow calm sea and 3 pools with an onsite waterpark. Really relaxing knowing the children had everything they possibly wanted. Rooms were clean and adequate. Just a 5 minute walk to some fantastic authentic restaurants serving fab food. Thomson reps were brill, even for adults the kids shows were really entertaining and you could see the reps enjoyed doing their jobs. Jonny be good had us in stitches! Needless to say we got back and went straight into thomson to book for next year...YAY!!!! can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my second visit (the first being in July 2012 where I wrote a report for TripAdvisor) - this time the additional person was my grandson aged 7 months. Again most things were perfect - pool areas excellent - rooms cleaned every day - great entertainment (if your children want to use it) - friendly atmosphere - BUT - the first time we had an apartment down the far end of the resort towards the small paddling pool area and restaurant (which closes around 5.30 pm) - and that was very, very quiet.

This time we had a room near the reception area (room 816) - not so quiet!!! You could hear the entertainment until it finished (about midnight) which was not too much of a problem if you kept the doors closed BUT THE MOST ANNOYING was the games table - not so much the pool/snooker table but the CLICK CLACK of the game table with had a "puck" - one night this went on to about 1 am (I think some people were waiting for a pick up for a night flight) and they played this machine incessantly! Even one or two people shouted out from other rooms for them to stop!

Most nights we sat on the balcony and went to bed about 11 pm but you did hear noise when people returned home with their children etc as the corridors were echoey and when doors were shut which did disturb your sleep (albeit just for a moment or two) so my only advice would be is try not to get a room up the end where the reception area is!

The bathroom looked like it could do with a freshen up but overall the apartment functioned perfectly for our needs but the mattress/bed is HARD!!!!

We were down the pool by 8 am most days - and unfortunately people again were reserving beds and hardly any were left - obviously someone complained (which is fair) as on our last day the Thomson people came and removed towels from beds that people were not sitting on - this caused upset with those families and a lot of swearing/arguing ensued - but my point is that some people had been reserving beds, going to the beach and wandering back about 11 am and then using the beds or not even coming down from their apartments until about midday! Not fair on those families that came down about 9/10 am to find there were no beds/umbrellas for them.

Air conditioning for the week was 50 euros but we did not need it this time - again we dined at the Cosy Corner a couple of nights - recommended for friendliness and quality of food - average main meal 7.90 euros, 4.90 euros child portion.

Other than those few minor issues - and they are comparatively minor - the resort continues to provide good value for money and myself, my daughter, granddaughter and grandson had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Better to go for room between 0-300 - far end of the resort - much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Alykanas Beach Village and it has been the best family holiday we have had by far. We have a 4 year old and a 2 year old and they loved every minute of it. The best thing about the holiday was the Thomson entertainment team and kids club team, they were fantastic! Johnny be good, little becs and Tashtastic were brilliant at getting everyone involved throughout the day and in the evening shows. They worked so hard every day to make sure everyone had a great holiday and had so much energy every single day. Thomson the dog was a real hit with the children, mine couldn't wait to get back to the hotel after dinner for the Kennel Club where they could dance, sing and play games with the reps. My 4 year old used the kids club and really enjoyed it. The staff were brilliant with the kids and very professional, couldn't fault it at all. The apartment was basic but as it is self catering we only used the fridge in the kitchen as it was cheaper to eat out. Our only issue was that we were assured by Thomson that there would be a cot in our apartment for our 2 year old and when we arrived we were told there was no cot and we should have paid for a mothercare cot to be in the room. Reception were very quick to sort the problem by providing us with a travel cot for the whole stay but Thomson never once told us that we had to pay to have a cot. Hotel is perfectly placed for families with young children as it is right on the beach and a 5 minute stroll from some lovely restaurants. Had wonderful meals in alykanas, all the staff are brilliant with children and most of the restaurants had play areas for children. Would recommend the lemon tree restaurant (a €10 trip on a horse and carriage). Water park onsite was brilliant, we could set up sunloungers by the toddler pool and then walk over to the water park when we wanted to. My only issue is that guests from other hotels used the water park frequently, a bit annoying when we have paid for the use if it and they haven't! Sakis was really helpful and kept the rowdy kids under control though! I wouldn't normally consider returning to a hotel but this holiday has changed my mind, I would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone with young children, it was a perfect holiday, thanks to everyone on the Thomson team and the hotel staff for making it so fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank kiera_cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
9.5 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
9.3 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#5 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykanas Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykanas Village Hotel

Property: Alykanas Village Hotel
Address: Alykanas 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alykanas Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykanas Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing