We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Helpful Advice”
Review of Hotel Letsos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Letsos
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Cambridgeshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some Helpful Advice”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

On the face of it, this hotel seems to be everything you are looking for. It looks smart from the outside and on first impressions certainly looks like it has earned its three star rating. The lady on reception, Mel gives you a warm welcome on arrival and all seems OK. Then we checked in. Be warned.... not all of the rooms have air conditioning and if you are lucky enough to be offered a room with it, you will be charged for it (we were lucky and our tour operator told us about this before when we booked but many were not told). It seems the price you pay really does depend on what mood the hotel owner is in (usually not a good one).

I actually speak some Greek so was horrified to often hear the receptionist asking him what she should charge people and when chatting with other guests it seems the charge can be any thing from 50-70 Euro a week (in many cases you may find that after paying this your ac does not work anyway). You may also be charged for a safety box too which bizarrely is housed in the hotel lobby.

We were taken to our room which was typical basic Greek accommodation, a little disappointing i found as the kitchenette area was dirty and covered in grease. We had a kettle but no toaster, something we thought of as a basic requirement for self catering and the bare essentials in crockery etc ... three spoons, three forks, three knives. etc etc. We later found that there is a bit of a rip off going on here as the owner of the hotel owns most of the resort (including shops). We were lucky to have a kettle it seems as many did not even have that... Oh but that's OK because when you go to ask for a kettle or toaster you are told that unfortunately there is a shortage of kettles and they don't supply toasters at all, but if you would like to purchase one from the shop just up the road (owned by the hotel owner) you will find them reasonably priced, of course if you don;t take it home with you it will quite simply be placed back on the shelf for another unsuspecting holiday maker to purchase after you have left. At this point I should also mention that if you buy an inflatable from the shop owned by him and on the last day of your holiday decide to kindly leave it for future children to enjoy, don't .... deflate it and take it home or give it to someone or it will also end up being re-sold.

Anyway, back to the room. Our room was cleaned everyday (sheets and towels changed regularly), but don;t expect a thorough clean, it literally is a quick flick round with a damp cloth and a dirty mop. However our beds were comfortable and when we had to complain about our leaking ac unit it was mended quite quickly by the long suffering handy man on site.

The pool area again looks nice until you look closely and realise that there are some serious Health and Safety issues here. The are numerous lifting tiles on the bottom of the pool. The ladder at the deep end of the pool is just about to rip out of the ground as it is has not been repaired. The surface around the pool is a death trap, I watched many people slip over round the pool notably children as there is no non- slip surface (except a little round the children's pool) most of it is polished marble. Then there is the Sun beds..... every single sun bed is broken and many have metal or wood sticking out of them. The fountain at the end of the pool area is not working and is full of hornets nests so be careful if you are sunbathing near there.

**TOP TIP** we soon found out that the pool bar is extortionate charging nearly 3 euro for a small bottle of Diet Coke, we quickly found that if you go up to the shop just up the road ..... yes you have guessed it, again owned by the owner but it was much cheaper (almost have the price!!), but walk even further on and you will find another shop with drinks and beer etc even cheaper still.

Quite a few people we met had problems with no sheets on their beds on arrival (one family having to wait three days before they actually got any sheets) and there were others that didn't even have a bed to sleep on. Also again beware ... they base your stay on nights stayed not days so if you are unfortunate enough to have an early morning flight you will be asked to vacate your room the whole day before! One family had had to leave the hotel at three in the morning to go to the airport for their flight and were told that they had to vacate their room by 10 am the previous morning. If they needed a room they would have to pay for it and it would be a dirty room at that.

Now a word or two about the staff, they were all lovely especially Mel on reception and the owners Son who runs the pool bar who was always very helpful. You will quickly realise that the owner is not a pleasant man at all, and most of the people who work in the resort raise an eyebrow when you say where you are staying. We didn't eat in the hotel itself so I can't comment on that but safe to say the restaurant was often full (maybe with bed and breakfast or half board guests).

The resort itself is quite simply charming and the restaurants are superb. There is so many to choose from notably Vagi's which was super friendly with excellent food and fabulous with kids. The Chinese/Indian is a must, the food is fabulous and reasonable and if you really do have have that full english then the Cozy Corner is where you will find an amazing breakfast for just 3.50 Euro served by two very nice English chaps who own the place and are very good at soothing you into the day if you have had a bit of a heavy night before (you're on holiday lets face it). The beach is a stones throw away and lovely too.

We looked at the trips available (go see Maria near the bakery, she has the cheapest prices and won't give you any flannel either) we decided to go for the island bus tour which was great and you MUST do the train trip into the mountain, it is fabulous and just a great way of seeing a bit of real Zakynthian life finishing off with an amazing authentic lunch served by Spyros who will greet you on arrival with the most amazing red or white village wine (only 50c a jug thereafter) and after your meal will hurl plates and tiles at you as you leave on the train waving goodbye.

Did I have a lovely time? Yes I did. Would I go back? Yes I most certainly would. This hotel has so much potential and is let down badly by its owner. If you can go without any pre-conceived ideas and are prepared to take it for what it is, you will love it.

Oh and one more thing, the wifi is dreadful and it is very difficult to get a signal at all. So be prepared for miserable children with smartphones etc.

T Brown
Health and Safety Consultant.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TazBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    128
    110
    96
    256
See reviews for
237
282
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

let me start by saying we did not book the Letsos but were unceremoniously dumped there for a few nights as our original hotel had over booked
When we arrived we were greeted by a very rude gentleman (the owner) my boyfriend refused the first room we were shown as it wasn't actually on the complex but over the road above a restaurant with a view overlooking a building site, the second room was actually on site with a balcony which would have been a pool view had it not been for the tree growing in front of it...
This was our first time in Greece and we were told it was basic but we certainly were not expecting it to be as basic as it was, to get hot water you needed to run the water for a good 5 minutes. The shower cubicle was small and the shower was terrible, very uncomfortable beds with thin sheets and lumpy pillows.
There is a bar next to the pool which plays music until at least 1.30am and restarts about 8am
The breakfast was very limited and not that great, we opted to eat breakfast out.
I do not want to sound so negative, I am struggling to find anything positive if I'm honest. It was clean and the maids were friendly, as was the maintenance man.
Definitely not for those seeking peace and quiet. Please don't waste your hard earned cash!
Sorry

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mossysgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alykanas hotels

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have never had such disgusting service. Self service is a joke! I have never before had to pay for a kettle to make myself a cup of coffee, neither have I had to pay for a clean sheet or towel. The attitude of the staff is disgusting, when they are after your money they can speak perfect english, as soon as you have a problem and need help they don't understand a word that you say. We were not the only family who found their attitude appalling!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have travelled to Greece several times over the past twenty years, I understand that greek accommodation is very basic, but nothing prepared me for this!! I would like to add that this is my first review I have completed in over 27 years of travel. please please take note!! We arrived after 24 hours of travelling and was greeted by a very rude obnoxious man (the owner) who charged us 200 euros for 2 rooms for air con, Once in the room we noted that there were only 2 beds made up despite there being 4 of us, it took 3 days to rectiy and my 2 kids slept on bare matresses for 3 nights despite several requests for linen, The limited crocks etc were filthy on on arrival and sparse, The toilet was unstable and came clear of the floor on several occasions there was no kettle and I requested one for 3 days, the manager wanted 20 euros for a kettle!!!!
Sockets were loose and furniture unstable, We had a half bath with a shower over it, no curtain which resulted in flooding. The mattress had no protector and was dirty and stained. Maid service was hit and miss offered no clean towels during 2 week stay had to keep asking for them!! fridge needed defrosting and was rusty inside. Customer service was awful, every day we witnessed terrible rows between the owner and guests and we were witness to the knife incident that was mentioned on a previous review. Bar prices here were expensive compared to all other bars pool area was ok, but lots of broken beds and chairs, bar toilets disgusting, its no wonder a lots of guests came down with sickness bug!! On a positive note resort is lovely and beach is amazing, some great places to see, visit The Mill Bar, Bonkers bar, Vagi restaurant, levante and Zeus bar. Shipwreck cove and blue caves stunning!! Also The Little land train is really good fun!! I have read reviews in the past and thought that they were written by lifes complainers and took little notice of what was written, I will be taking note on future trips!! Letso is like fawlty towers and bates motel!! trust me avoid it,

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kab1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

HORRID week at this Hovel , not a Hotel. Dirty,room, , towels changed once ,and sheets not at all. 100EURO for air con that did not work, no refund as we did not return the controllers ,every day someone was coming to fix them so we had controllers in our room , stay away , book anywhere else no other hotel could be as bad .

Room Tip: Dont book here , go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 141graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Arrived at the Letsos Hotel at 6am on 08/08/2014 having not slept for 24 hours. Was greeted by an extremley rude man (the manager) and told there was a 'problem'. He was refusing to accept our booking, hence leaving us stranded in Zante with no where to go. When we explained this his only response was 'not by problem - Cosmos'. Whilst waiting for our rep to arrive my partner made the mistake of visiting the toilet which was covered in excrement. Eventually we were offered a room for one night. The room was basic, smelt of smoke and was not particularly clean. Air con is an additional 50 euros per week. Whilst waiting in the hotel that day we saw numerous people complaining and the staff couldn't care less or made no attempt to resolve any issues. Very rude, very defensive. We were moved the next day as they refused to accomodate us for the week and I was happy to leave. I normally don't pay much attention to Trip advisor reviews but will in future. Please pay attention to this and enjoy this amazing island in a better hotel!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank claira r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have just returned from Letsos. We had paid for early check in, as we landed at 5 am, but were told check out is not till 12 noon so we spent the morning on the reception sofas, listening to complaint after complaint from people dissatisfied with their rooms, people who had no rooms at all and the owner Yanni generally shouting and insulting people.

It sounded like priority is given to people travelling with Thomson first, then Cosmos, and last everyone else.

We had booked two rooms next to each other, as we wanted adults in one and teens in another, but this was also not possible. As an alternative we were showed family rooms upstairs, smelly, dirty rooms, stained walls, small worn down beds with dirty mattresses. The rooms were on two levels, downstairs had a sparse kitchenette, smelly bathroom and tiny double bed, up a set of wooden stairs were three dirty looking single beds under the roof. We declined.

We were then shown a 2 bed flat i B block, which was a walk around the back of the Hotel, which again smelt badly, but seemed to be our best option so we accepted. The kitchenette was worn down, old dirty fridge, hardly any glasses plates pots etc, which was not a huge problem as we had paid for half board, but would be a problem if you were self catering.

The plug sockets were hanging out of the walls, dangerous! Odd tubes sticking out of the floor - it felt like the room had never been finished. No shower curtain meant a soaking bathroom, which was not improved by 5 people sharing. We got clean bed linen and towels ONCE during the week we stayed.

Breakfast is from 7:30 till 9:30 am, honestly in all my years of travelling, I have never had a worse breakfast. Stale bread, margarine, two kinds of boring cereal with luke warm milk, odd crumbly slices of cheese and sausage, on some mornings feta and little Greek sausages. Weak tea, decent coffee "juice" which had never seen a piece of fruit and tasted horrible.

Dinner is from 7:30 - 8:30. Slightly better than breakfast. A nice salad selection every night, and Water melon for dessert. Two choices of main, all of which was poor cuts of meat, over cooked veg, and everything seemed greasy, even the rice? The fish seemed like it had been cooked in oil...

The pool is ok, but most of the sun beds are breaking, Poolside showers are rusty antiques, poolside loos in the pool bar are genuinely disgusting, no lock on the ladies' door. Reception toilets are ok, but there is no soap and as you are not allowed to flush your paper but have to use the same tissue bin as everyone else, that is really unhygienic.

€50 per week for air con is a waste of money - only one unit for all 3 rooms. Drains smell awful all over the hotel which is unpleasant. Especially at night in the bedrooms.

In the end we managed to relax into the place, but it was a pleasure to leave knowing we will never have to stay there again.

The resort is ok, the beach is close by - I would recommend Tsilivi as a better resort to go to in Zakynthos though, and I would definitely recommend that you find a better hotel - this is listed as 3* it is scraping 2* in our opinion.

A lot could be improved, the main thing being getting the owner off reception. He seems to just want tourist to pay their money and put up with his rubbish hotel and shoddy customer service quietly, and be grateful. The minute someone is unhappy about anything he gets abusive!

Stay away, there are much nicer places in Greece!

Room Tip: Don't even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilise1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.3 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
684 reviews
8.7 mi away
Atlantis Hotel
Atlantis Hotel
#14 of 73 in Laganas
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Letsos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Letsos

Property: Hotel Letsos
Address: Alykanas PC 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Letsos 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Letsos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Letsos Hotel Alykanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing