We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely week away”
Review of Danny's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Danny's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely week away”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was our first visit to Danny's Hotel, we booked because of the good reviews and was not disappointed. The apartments are clean and well equipped. The owners are friendly and can not do enough for you. Shops, bars and restaurants are nearby, with the beach a 10-15 min walk away. Highly recommend Vrisaki restaurant opposite.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripster2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    72
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
219
241
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from our yearly jaunt to Alykanas and for the first time we stayed at Danny's mainly due to the reviews on here. All I can say is perfection, absolute perfection. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. The cleaning staff here are busy working all day and you can tell, everywhere was spotless. Two days before the start of our holiday due to reviews on here, I e-mailed the owners and asked for a third floor apartment with a pool view and received a prompt response advising that they would do their best, I got a third floor room with a pool view, excellent.

Stelios runs the bar at the complex and everytime we passed he would shout our names and wave, great guy.

The pool bar is run by Yanni, who works tirelessly every day from early morning until early evening and nothing is to much trouble for this man who will ask you if everything is ok everyday. Yanni is an absolute star, he will laugh and joke with you and always has time for his guests.

The pool area at Danny's is great for everyone and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to everyone.

Food at the pool bar is great whether it be snacks or a full meal. The breakfast is reasonably priced and is one of the best I have had.

Would we go to Danny's again?, yes, i'm already in the process of booking a week in late May next year to take my grandchildren and the wife wants to go again in July, but for 3 weeks this time. For us Danny's was perfection.

If you require any further information on this hotel or the resort in general please feel free to e-mail me direct
philip.taylor@theaa.com

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Went for Danny after reviews can't complain from giving a free beer from start .. Stelios great bar spent most of my time there .... This is the only place I would let my young kid explore on there selfs they enjoyed the 2 weeks ... Currently saving for a 2 weeks holiday in 2105 ...

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is our first visit to Greece and we came here with some scepticism. However, this property is clean, well maintained with friendly, helpful staff. Just sad that we only booked a week! It is ideally located in Alykanas. Just a few minutes walk to the main street and perhaps a 10 - 15 walk to excellent beaches. The owner, Danny and his son are wonderful hosts and can not do enough for their guests. The food available is typically British but a few Greek dishes are on the menu. Couples will love the place but one tip - book your stay outside of school holidays!! We highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: Wifi available in the restaurant area but connection can be a bit "iffy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hootiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just got back from a fortnight at Danny's. Great studio apartment which was cleaned every day -bed linen and towels changed every other day it seemed! Cannot fault the staff or the standard of accommodation or the hard working cleaning ladies.
There are two pools, one with a bar/restaurant and covered seating area - very good breakfasts served there if you want them (open from 8.00 am-7.00 pm). The other, quiet pool just has sun beds around it and seemed to be mostly used by Eastern European guests. This was probably because during our stay there was unfortunately a group of Brits there who started drinking in the pool bar early, then spent the rest of the day swearing at each other - obvously to them, that's 'a great holiday'. No wonder we British have such a poor reputation abroad. Anyway, those who didn't mind the raucous Anglo-Saxon language stayed at the pool; those who objected found other places to go :) (The Mill Bar and the beach)
Plenty of evening entertainment at Danny's, if that's your thing. Our apartment was on the first floor, next to the bar, but as we had air con and the windows closed, any noise wasn't an issue. All the entertainment seemed to finish at about midnight anyway.
Short walk (10 minutes, though would be more with young children) to the beach, very short walk to tavernas/shops, supermarket on site, free wifi in both pool bar and Danny's Bar (evening entertainment).
In summary, a great apartment complex with two lovely pools and entertainment on site so you could, if you wanted to (?) not venture anywhere else. To be honest, Danny's is a lot more sophisticated than the Greek accommodation we've been used to! Also, as we like to get out and explore, it was kind of wasted on us - however, it does deserve a rating of 'Excellent' for the cleanliness, the welcome, the pool (without the aging yobs) and the customer care. Maybe it wasn't ideal for us, but that's no reflection on the establishment itself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weasill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 10 nights in July 2014. The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable. The rooms are kept very clean. The shower/toilet is of the wet-room style which works perfectly in that climate as it dries very quickly after use. The kitchenette is simple, a two ring hob, fridge and sink/drainer but quite sufficient for breakfast etc. and eating out is really not expensive.
Whilst we didn't use the pool much, preferring to go to the beach where the sea is warm and the depth about 5 feet, we found the pool area to be well maintained and always spotless. The service at the pool bar is second to none. The food is of a very high quality but the menu seems to be aimed at people who don't want to sample the local cuisine serving mostly English breakfast, omelettes toasted sandwiches, pasta etc. we had lunch there most days. There is pop music playing all the time which seemed to suit most people but is not really to our taste.
Evening entertainment was of the karaoke, bingo, quiz style and, to be honest, we didn't go near it but, again, most seemed to enjoy it and this is in no way a complaint, just a matter of taste. The wifi signal was poor in the room but ok by the pool.
All in all, we had a wonderful 10 days and were very happy, we will certainly go back to Zante, probably find a quieter hotel but that is in no way a reflection on Danny's as they run a really good hotel and we would recommend it to anyone wanting a good time.
James & Nadya

Room Tip: All the rooms are around the pool and therefore affected by noise from the pool, the balconies of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwonnacott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned today from a wonderful week at Danny's. Loving Zante anyway we had decided to try a different resort, read Danny's reviews and went for a last minute break. We couldn't have been more delighted! We were given a spotless room on the top floor overlooking the reception area. It was spacious and had lovely sunny balcony to sit on on in an evening. The room was beautifully cleaned daily. We were greeted on the first day by Yanni and wow everyone was so welcoming throughout or stay!
The pool area/bar is great and it means you really don't have to wander far in a day. The shaded bar area is perfect for the long chilled beer ! Everything is to hand including a lovely bar in the evening and the food is great and so in expensive. We were really sad to leave and have already recommended this hotel.
I would just like to add that on our final day the staff were so helpful by allowing us to keep our room until our early morning flight. We were collected at 2:55am and Danny's kindly allowed us to keep the room until then. A very small charge was made and it was week worth it ! It made all the difference on our last day. ! Why don't all hotels allow this ?
Many thanks to all the staff once again, we had a great holiday with you !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chard-les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykanas
0.4 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
220 reviews
9.1 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
436 reviews
4.6 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,248 reviews
3.4 mi away
SENTIDO Louis Plagos Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Danny's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Danny's Hotel

Property: Danny's Hotel
Address: Alykanas 29090, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykanas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Alykanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danny's hotel is set in an excellent location making it ideal for a relaxing stay, but it is very close to the centre of Alykanas - so all that you will need is within easy reach. Danny's hotel is comprised of three attractive buildings set in landscaped gardens. We are a family run business and we aim to please all our customers; many of whom return year after year. We look forward to welcoming you to Danny's Hotel and the beautiful island of Zakynthos, as well as helping you to have a wonderful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Danny's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing