We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Filia Studios & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
CORNWALL ENGLAND
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our second visit to the Filia, we spent two lovely weeks relaxing and taking in the beautiful views and the sunshine. As before Christos, Ann-marie and all the Filia family are all so lovely and welcoming. The location is very private and is close walking distance to shops,restaurants,beach and the bus stop. If you want to find out about the island, where to go, how to get there etc Christos is always willing to help. The food which is cooked by the family is excellent and very good value for money. The apartments are basic very clean and with everything you need, if there is ever a problem in your room Christos will sort it asap!! This is a great place to meet other couples and family's who obviously enjoy the Filia as much as we do!!! We have already booked for next June with all our family. So if you are looking for a fab holiday look no further................ Wayne and Liz

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    17
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
64
251
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our holiday was on September 11th through to the 25th September, weather was lovely minus a couple cloudy days. But onto the REAL REVIEW.

Well what can we say, sometimes in life places we visit surprise us and surpass our wildest expectations, we knew filia studios had some great reviews before we arrived as we booked our stay through Thomas Cook back some 7 months prior to flying out so our time leading up to our holiday we kept up to date with the recent reviews and got more excited, now at this point I must point out if you’re not familiar with Greek style accommodation then you'll either like it or not, the studios are basic but I've stayed in a lot lot worse across Greek islands in the past in terms of being passable as self-catering with facilities capable of cooking a meal, we only cooked once, a full blown spaghetti Bolognese so the studios at filia I would say are excellent, they are cleaned every day and have everything you need and would want from a self-catering studio, anything else you may need Christos and Ann Marie I'm sure would either be able to provide an answer for or help you out, just ask them it's what they are there for...in recent reviews people have complained about issues without consulting the couple to let them try and help before getting home and banging out a faceless rant about a problem that could have easily been solved they are very approachable and helpful and get frustrated when people don't speak up if there is an issue rather than putting up with it for 2 weeks then go home disgruntled.. Moving on

We have never been anywhere in the world and been made to feel as welcome as myself and my partner were when we stayed at Filia Studios, Christos and Anne Marie embraced us from when we arrived and we truly have made friends in them both, they are all about creating a truly memorable holiday that will stay with you for years to come, on arriving off the coach they came down with the filia mini bus (the chuckle bus) to take us up the hill road to the studios situated with views of the sea, unloaded our bags and got us straight to our room with some info on where to find things once we got sorted, once we got our feet and bags opened and a few things hung up our minds turned to unwinding we headed to the bar and asked Christos to kick off our holiday by serving us a few cocktails, perfect cocktails they are too and we sank rather a few during our stay...

With self-catering being the ideal setup to plan your own holiday and schedule we started to think what things we would like to do during our stay, not knowing a huge amount about the island we decided firstly to go down the the Thomas Cook welcome speech, this was given by Andy our rep down at Filia, Andy doesn't approach the talk like most with boring listed talks he really knows his stuff, and a funny guy having me in fits of laughter throughout his talk to us, now forgive me Andy if I got this wrong, Andy is a true Aussie; so laid back he's horizontal but his talk was so informative I urge you to go to the welcome talk as it's a great way to get a low down on the island not to mention the many excursions the island has to offer, you can even meet new couples that have arrived the same day.

With the above said if you are planning a list of "must do" stuff during your stay here at filia and skiathos itself you'd be a fool not to run any of your ideas past Christos, he definitely is the "Go To Guy" if you have an idea you can guarantee he will have an idea or a better way to do it and most often cheaper too as it's not what you know but who, Christos knows everybody, from car hire to scuba diving and boat trips he has it covered so ask him he will help you, he loves helping you achieve the holiday your dreams are made of, I wanted to go diving for the first time and mentioned it so Christos arranged for me and him to go down to koukanaries and do a dive together while my partner and Ann Marie sunbathed on the beach which was fantastic as it enabled me to fulfil my wish to do a dive and not feel bad about my partner being alone for 2 hours, hospitality like this is hard to come by, it was fantastic!!! we also did another dive together a few days later, he's a top bloke and always up for some fun so if your partner in my case doesn't feel confident to come with you Christos is not likely to turn down an afternoon away from the bar having fun :) cheers Christos!!

We also took part in the Sunset beach night and the 'Greek Night' (TWICE) we had an amazing time, speaking with lovely couples and sharing our experiences. Fantastic food and entertainment for all. We especially loved the dancing, Greek night included everyone and to a degree it was like a large family meal; Perfect for us as we're family people.

If you’re thinking of hiring a car forget Avis or any of the UK pre-arranged hire company's, forget airport rental companies, simply on arrival go straight to Christos with what you want, be it a 4x4 jimny or a quad and he knows the man to get it, he will arrange for it to be dropped off to filia and picked up when you’re done.

we saw the whole island in our Jimny and for the whole 8 days we had it we only used half a tank of petrol to. We saw many great sights in this car, I would recommend a jimny to anyone as it’s the way to get around the island with many of the great beaches being located along and off of the many dirt fire roads that wind up and down the islands coastline, there are hundreds of jimnys on the island it's the vehicle to use and great fun too...

The food at filia is fantastic we had some of our best meals there with the calamari being one of my favourites and Mother Filia's Beef Stifado an absolute must eat, beef so tender you'll be making all sorts of noises it was amazing, greats also are the Port Steak and Mousaka, it's all great food so no worries there.

Facilities wise air con is available and charged at 5 euros per night but our stay was two weeks from the 11th of sept so wasn't baking probably 29 degrees max, we had the air con on for the first 15 minutes in the evening to cool the room before we slept but as we acclimatised after the first few days we barely felt the need for it as the rooms are quite cool, many people talk about the water not being hot but trust me if you run it for a while it gets hot at almost any time of the day but the water is hottest late afternoon, all water on Greek islands is solar heated so thus is the reason... A safe is available upon request.

Pool is beautifully clean and we witnessed the pool water being tested many times for the correct chemical levels etc.

Many supermarkets close by with a short walk, local beach being troulos and is a 10 minute walk.

We also experienced Parasailing thanks to Christos and Ann Marie. So to sum up this long drawn out review; we believe Filia is the place to be, the people are nice, the location is nice and the experience is something you won't soon forget.
Thank you Ann Marie and Christos we had a fantastic time with many great photos and memories to serve us for a lifetime.

Claire and James x

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having read most of the reviews we were happy to book Filia. However, the day before we left we read a negative review, which left us slightly worried. We need not have worried. Christos and Ann-Marie welcomed us after a very early flight. Our room had wonderful views and contained all that we needed. As in most 2 or 3 star hotels in Greece it is basic accommodation and we didn't expect any more. What we didn't expect though, was the kindness and thoughtfulness of Christos and his family. He arranged a boat trip for those of us who were left (it was end of season week on Skiathos) in the hotel to Skopolos also a beautiful sunset trip to Banana Beach and on the last night a meal at an excellent restaurant (Salt and Pepper). One evening, when we were in Skiathos town it started raining and when we got back to the hotel Christos had been driving up and down the road looking for us so that we didn't get wet. What other proprietor would go this far for his guests? We have been in places where it is the end of the season previously and have found staff tired and worn out. Not so Filia where we were greeted as though we were the first guests of the season. We do have to mention Despina the cleaner, who despite having a lot to do, did so with a smile on her face and a cheerful good morning - either in Bulgarian, Greek or English. A real treat! On our last morning, with the rain pouring down in torrents, Christos took us back to the airport, free of charge and several other guests during the morning. That was a first for us. We also met some really lovely people and formed a friendship with another couple - a good result for a weeks' holiday. We understand that next year Christos is arranging to have a golf buggy at the bottom of the hill (those who have been there know exactly what I am talking about) so that too will be very helpful for those of us who aren't quite so sprightly. Linda and Jim

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loops273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

4-18 Sep 13. We enjoyed our holiday at Filia so much last year that we re-booked on our return to the UK and went again this Sept.
In all our years of holidaying abroad, we have never before returned to the same apartment complex. After visiting Filia that all changed.
We were welcomed back like members of the family. And that is the way you feel at Filia, part of the family. That is the essence of a holiday at Filia.
We had a great time once again and this time with the added bonus of a speed boat trip organised by Christos. What a fantastic way to spend the last complete day of our holiday ! A terrific day trip around the island stopping off at a couple of beaches and a beachside taverna for a slap-up lunch. It was a brilliant day, definitely one to remember. Thanks Christos, and thanks too to both you and Anne-Marie for your company.
Christos goes above and beyond to try and ensure that everyone enjoys their stay. If guests have an issue they should make it known to him straight away and he will endeavour to address the matter at the earliest opportunity.
It's really a shame to read some negative reports. The effort the family put in to making everyone's stay at Filia a good one deserves better. Guests being abandoned at the bottom of the hill is a rarity and the fault of the holiday rep not Christos. Generally the reps use the buzzer at the gate and Christos will come down in the minibus and collect the guests. He even takes his guests back to the airport in the minibus, for their return flight home, rather than them having to wait for the transfer coach. He doesn't have to do that, and he doesn't charge, it's all part of the personal service he provides.
The accommodation is not 5 star, but it doesn't profess to be. It's Greek 3 star - basic but functional. Anywhere else you go in Greece you will find the same and you'll likely pay for the air con and safe too. The Sports Bar may boast the English fare but Filia doesn't. Filia - Christos's mum - cooks up some great Greek dishes. Try the Greek Night/Barbeque and the Sunset trip to sample the food amongst the company of fellow 'Filians'. The Filia experience is all the better for socialising with both Christos and Anne-Marie and fellow guests. You don't have to be a party animal, it's just like socialising with friends.
So many people return year after year, there's got to be something going for it.
Enough said. We enjoyed this year even more than last. Needless to say, we've booked again for next year ! (This report edited, due to censorship!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our first Trip to Skiathos and of course to Filia. After an overnight flight we arrived very tired but were imediately felt at home under the care of Christos and Ann Marie.

The BBQ night and Sunset Beach night is a wonderful way to break the Ice and meet other guests especially when the Ouzo and Mythos is flowing
Christos takes you to the sunset beach and after a relaxing drink watching the sunset we were taken back to Filia to enjoy a lovely meal of kleftico or sea bass with Greek Salad.

Ann Marie and Christos will organise anything for you, just ask Christos, who will book you a table in a taverna anywhere on the island, organise car hire. Just ask him and he will do his best
We booked a boat trip and friends that we had made at Filia also fancied coming along so Christos arranged to book them on the excursion and he also drove us to the port taking away the stress of getting there on time .

The rooms are typically Greek and basic but that is what we expected. They are clean and comfortable, with lovely views as Filia is high up.
The hill up to Filia is steep but challenging in very hot weather but there is an alternative path up which is less taxing.

There are plenty of Tavenas to choose from and they are all about 10 to 20 mins walk away , our favourite was Rattatouille

Despina the cleaner was always cheerful and although she could not speak English she conversed in her own happy way saying " busy busy busy " a lovely and hard working lady.
We have holidayed in many Greek Islands in over 25 years and Filia was the first place who made us feel so welcome and Christos and Ann Marie would always remember your name.
we will certainly return.
Oh and Christos your Mythos is always ice cold
Tony and Dawn
Room 14

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After reading all the rave reviews on trip advisor we (my friend and I) booked a two week holiday at the Filia studios.On arrival we were shown to our accommodation which was,as many Greek Islands are, very basic.The island is lovely , we found our way around by bus and went on a boat trip to Skopolos which was fabulous.There are a selection of tavernas around the area most of them are very nice especially The Sunrise.The disappointment was in the Filia, after reading all the rave reviews and booking on the strength of them it was nothing like what we expected.The food there was nothing special,the service again, was nothing special .The wardrobe door came off and we waited three days to have that put back on.The bottom of my clothes draw was almost completely out ,that was'nt attended to until the day before we came home.There were long black hairs in the shower drain, we both have red hair,the cleaner worked very hard but she had an awful lot of work to do for one person.Other people who were there also expressed their disappointment mostly due to what they had read on the reviews.!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 280304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very friendly welcome. Christopher and Annemarie went out of their way to please and make our holiday a chilled out affair. We met some lovely people at the sunset trip/meal organised by the family. Skiathos is a place you will want to go time and time again. The boat trip to skopolos was lovely too.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a lovely view not in direct sun which we preferred .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,004 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
476 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
744 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
3.7 mi away
La Piscine Art Hotel
La Piscine Art Hotel
#3 of 84 in Skiathos
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filia Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filia Studios & Apartments

Property: Filia Studios & Apartments
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Troulos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios Filia Hotel a family run business with a personal touch offering holiday accommodation with attention to detail of customer needs around the clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Filia Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filia Studios And Apartments
Filia Studios & Apartments Hotel Troulos
Filia Studios & Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing