We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
400
21
13
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
400
21
13
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anne marie filia family new friends no pressure greek night other guests next year bbq night fantastic holiday watch the sunset sunset beach moussaka skiathos town steep hill boat trip the bus quad bike hire
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed here recently. The reviews on TA are excellent, with lots of repeat visitors, but I think that is mostly down to the social side of the accommodation and area. Not many people actually comment on the rooms and those which do only describe them as basic with not much further information provided.

The actual standard of accommodation appears to be overlooked in favour of the social side, which really doesn’t give a true reflection of the 5* excellent rating and therefore may not suit future guests. As one reviewer stated previously, the accommodation “wasn’t of the standard he expected but you have to look beyond that and see it from a social point of view.”

When we booked our holiday, we saw the excellent rating and thought great, let’s book. It was only in retrospect and we re-read the reviews that we realised that people love the place because of other reasons, not because the accommodation is outstanding.

Having said that, the rooms will be refurbished over time (some already are) and then the excellent reviews may well be justified.

Filia is situated on a hillside and is reached by a fairly steep incline so maybe not suitable for those with walking difficulties. Equally, the upper level rooms have many steps to climb after you’ve attempted the hill. There are supermarkets close by, however you need to plan in advance what you want to buy as it’s a bit of a trek up and down the hill and not so easy to pop out if you run out of milk or fancy a bottle of wine on the balcony. We also felt that after a day out, we sometimes didn’t want to go out to eat in the evening and stayed in to eat at the pool bar.

The young couple who run the accommodation are both welcoming and attentive hosts and on arrival/departure take you up and down the hill in their minibus.

The outside area of the accommodation is clean and well maintained, with good quality chairs and loungers and plenty of green areas to sit if you don’t want to be poolside.

The pool bar has a decent menu with reasonable prices. And more importantly they serve real home made chips!

Trips are organised and well attended and guests are given the opportunity to mix and get to know each other. This is what appeals to many.

The rooms themselves have lovely views from the elevated position on a hill. Again, the balcony furniture is good quality.

The room was cleaned daily with the bins emptied.

Plenty of hot water, and a shower head which was actually mounted to the wall, rather than the hand held ones you normally find in Greece. Toilet rolls replenished frequently.

Kitchen area sufficient with a clean fridge, hot plates/oven/toaster, along with enough crockery and cutlery. A hairdryer is also provided.

The rooms themselves, whilst basic, could do with some improvements. For instance, the self built wardrobe and drawers could do with some adjustments so that the drawers actually close and the doors shut.

The shower could do with a good scrub to remove the mouldy grout, and maybe the toilet should have a bottle of bleach poured down to remove the age old stains. A lick of paint on the bathroom ceiling to hide the discolouration of damp too.

We’re used to basic accommodation in Greece, so we don’t expect to have a luxurious apartment. These rooms suit our needs, but a little tweaking makes the difference between ok and great. To be fair, the outside communal areas are outstanding and far better than the apartment interiors as they currently stand.

We enjoyed our stay here, and this review is by no means meant to be negative. I just felt it fair to put a balance on it.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
11  Thank jacwar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Had a great two weeks at the Filia really relaxing place with great hosts in Ann Marie and Christos, they are very approachable and helpful advising you where the best beaches and restaurants are on the island helping with car and scooter hire and even taking you to pick the bike up the apartments are kept nice and clean we were on the top floor in room 8 I think with great views down to the sea, the pool area is lovely with plenty of beds and brollies scattered around, the food is good from the breakfasts to the lunch’s with plenty of choice (lovely home made chips) and always ice cold beer on tap overall a great place to stay for a relaxing stressful holiday give it a try you won’t be sorry

Room Tip: Top floor for the best views but quite a few steps to get there
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank donk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

What can I say that hadn’t already been said , ??

As a first time visitor to Filia I was a little worried that as there are so many repeat guests it may be a cliquey, not at all . Everyone was so welcoming, making room at their ever expanding tables to accommodate new guests . Filia is probably the friendliest place we have visited .Its atmosphere oozes relaxation, the views and Mama’s food are are amazing .... I especially loved the lamb. We joined in their sunset and Greek nights arranged by Ann-Maris and Christos, both great evenings with amazing company and food, Ann Marie takes great photos which she is kind enough to email out to all her guests. But no pressure to join in if you prefer not to .

Mentioning Ann-Marie and Christos they couldn’t do more to make your holiday just what you want it to be, just ask ! Lovely lovely people , when they dropped us off to catch our coach to return home big hugs and a few tears are shed.

I could go on forever, in summary, lovely homely and relaxing , great guests, fab views, “the hill” isn’t so bad at all and amazing hosts.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AngandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Our second visit and it didn't disappoint. Although there is a hill, it's worth the effort to get to the apartments as it's quieter and the views are fab. Anne Marie and Christos go out their way to make sure you have a great holiday, we will definitely go back.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank teresatI617BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Just returned from our first visit to Skiathos and Studios Filia, and we did not want to come home. The island is spectacular and Filia is a little paradise. Very quiet, brilliant hosts in Christos and Ann Marie, excellent pool area with lovely bar serving great food and drinks at reasonable prices, and nice room (we knew from previous Greek holidays that the room would be basic but comfortable, which is exactly what we got) with lovely big balcony with views over Troulos bay that I could have looked at forever.
Nothing was too much trouble for Ann Marie, Christos and the rest of the family, from arranging car hire for us to recommending restaurants and beaches and other places of interest for us to visit, and we were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
For us, an added bonus was the fact that there were no kids around, not that it would have been an issue nor is it an ‘adult only’ place. It was just so peaceful, and the location of the accomodation away from the road meant that it was very quiet, perfect.
The only thing that I would say is that the steep hill leading up to Filia means that you have to be mobile, or like hill climbing, or have transport. Not that the hill itself is too bad, but combined with the heat it made the journey home less palatable, although it made the well deserved beer taste even better. The hill would certainly not put us off visiting Filia again.
The general area is also very quiet with a few restaurants dotted around, most of which we tried and enjoyed. There are a few supermarkets nearby, Troulos beach is a 15-20 min walk away, and the bus stop (#18) which takes you to Skiathos town is a 10min walk away.
We hired a Jimny, which for us was the best way to see parts of this fascinating island that we would not have seen.
And the weather was fantastic (almost too fantastic some days) which made the pool very inviting.
All in all, coupled with the fact that we booked the holiday to coincide with our friends visit to Filia, we had the best holiday that we’ve had for ages. I don’t like recommending hotels etc to people, but in this case I would recommend Filia and Skiathos to anybody, and I would like to think that we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Troulos bay, and that’s what I would ask for again.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DaveKaren2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews