We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Troulos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Astoria Hotel is situated in a beautiful area of Troullos, close to the beach and a short walk into the resort centre. The hotel was very clean and the rooms are nicely decorated. We stayed at the Astoria from the 13th September 2013 for one week and we both really wished we had booked a further week. We have been to Skiathos before, it is a beautiful Island with lovely resorts. First time to Troullos resort and will definately return, it is still typically Greek, very charming with plenty of good resturants/tavernas, ideal for couples or familiy alike. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfasts were very good with a good variety of food to choose from. The bar area is very pleasant with Harry the barman serving any beverage you require. The staff were very pleasant and I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxing typically greek holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked on 24/11/12 for 1 week stay at the Astoria for Sept 4th this year. On arrival was advised that there wasnt a room for us .Didnt find out a real reason but was advised that they informed their Agent on 3rd Sept that we would not have a room. We were taken to another hotel about 5 mins away by car but totally unsuitable as access was up a very very steep driveway. On advising the Astoria we were shown to another hotel but this was totally unsuitable also. I will now add that we are not the complaining type but these 2 hotels were totally unsuitable for different reasons. Eventually I suggested that we phone Alkyon Hotel in Skiathos Town to see if they had availability(we were staying there the following week) Very luckily they did so basically I had to arrange this change myself. I will say that Elena ?? was very helpful at this stage in smoothing the financial problems etc but I never discovered if this was a double booking or whatever although it did appear this had happened the previous week also(at least)

Room Tip: Contact in advance to ensure you do in fact have a room
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank RexWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I would recommend this hotel to any body looking for a small and friendly family hotel. We were made to feel welcome right through out our stay. The hotel was spotlessly clean the bedroom was a good size and well appointed. The pool and bar area was good and kept really clean and tidy. We had B&B accomodation and I must say the breakfasts were about the best I have had for a long time on the islands. Something different every morning.
The hotel is situated in a good spot in Troulos. Very close to the beach, tavernas and bars, loads of supermarkets a really nice place for a peacefull holiday.

Room Tip: 602 overlooking the pool with a distant sea view and a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinkySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was our first visit to Skiathos after many visits to the Algarve we thought we could do with a change. what a gorgeous island it is! Troulos is quite if you want to party all night it's not the place for you, if you want a relaxing break with good food, hospitable locals and nice scenery then give it a try. The Astoria is a lovely little hotel, very clean, very friendly and in a good location. Enjoyed the breakfasts although the layout of the serving area could do with a rethink as it gets a bit chaotic at times, but now I'm nit picking. Harry talked to us about things other than football, Cant believe the hours he works, Buses to Skiathos town good value and very regular. Would go to the Astoria again I can see why people keep going back. And in defence of us Northerners we get on just fine with Southerners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bentley710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just got back from another 2 week stay at the Astoria ( been staying there since 1993 ) and I have to say that I found the comments from carling45ever bizarre to say the least.
Whilst everyone is entitled to their opinion,to say that there were " to ( sic ) many southerners and older people " is bordering on the offensive. I remember this person and seem to recall that she didn't exactly appear to mix with other people at the hotel, which of course is the right of all of us, so what difference does it make where the other guests come from or their age group ?
As for the remarks about the food, firstly the sausages weren't bad, just different. As far as the eggs are concerned, I doubt there is an hotel in the World that doesn't doesn't serve eggs for breakfast in some form or other but you aren't actually forced to have them every day are you ? you do have a choice !
As a suggestion for your future holidays bearing in mind your apparent aversion to southerners and older people, I understand that Club 18 to 30 do some nice holidays in Alaska so perhaps you could try one of those if it's far enough North for you ! !
Of course everyone is entitled to their opinion but very often the hotels themselves are reluctant to make any comments about their guests, despite some of the their strange behaviour. Would you believe that some guests even manage to damage the furniture in their room but aren't honest enough to own up to it ! ! ! !
Anyway, enough of all the negative stuff. Thank's again to all the staff at the Astoria ( hello Harri, how's the football ? ! ) and special thank's to you Helen for the " World Class " soup you made for us last week, it was delicious, and don't forget our rendevous on Halloween ! !
Enjoy your holidays.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room for what ever reason, be polite and the hotel will do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulReed_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the island , the first time we stayed at Astoria. The hotel is very clean, staff and owners lovely. Very near to beach and bus stop all on the flat so great for anyone with walking difficulties. Ok on the down side, the rooms are very small ( but then you only use it to sleep and get showered) the breakfast is very chaotic . We only used the pool once and came out Blue looking like smurfs from the paint that had been used to paint the inside if the pool. The problem with this hotel is we didn't feel like we belonged due to some of the repeat guests who are more mature and like routine eg ; same sunbeds , same table for breakfast, same places round bar area etc etc ! Also as already said by someone else very quite at night , everyone had gone to bed and bar was empty most nights by 11.00- 11.30 pm ( not a problem to us as we made friends and used Frog bar across the road ( which was also cheaper) . Would I return ... Not to this hotel, but will be returning to the lovely island of skiathos next your hopefully .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We first booked this hotel in 1999 and have been going back twice every year since, the paltry 2 *'s are just not enough.

Everything is spotlessly clean, everyone associated with the hotel are really friendly and can't do enough for you.

In answer to carling45ever Harry will talk about anything not just football, and he makes a mean gin fizz & its the only place you can get an Elderflower cocktail on the Island. We love him.

We are really glad that you are not going to Skiathos again It will be far more pleasant without you. I didn't eat bad sausages once, there is quite an extensive breakfast menu fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon etc, etc. As for pushing for food that must be a Northern thing, us Southerners are far to polite to do a thing like that.

We have already booked for next year. Twice.

Super holiday Elena & Family can't wait for June.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fatheobald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.1 mi away
Hotel Korali
Hotel Korali
#33 of 84 in Skiathos
93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
Kanapitsa Mare Hotel & Spa
#55 of 84 in Skiathos
308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#3 of 12 in Koukounaries
389 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Address: Troulos Beach, Troulos 370 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Troulos
Price Range: £41 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing