We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average”
Review of Koukias Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koukias Apartments
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Troulos
warrington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“just average”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for two weeks from 30th august. The apartments ok but nothing special and no view as we on ground floor. We paid 15 euros for greek night and although bbq ok it seemed just an excuse for all their family to get together would not recommend . bar was quiet most nights so visit into skiathos town most nights easy to get there from bus stop 18. 2 euros a bargain. skiathos a beautiful island lots of lovely beaches troulos beach lovely and koukanaris although that busier. a quiet beach maretha bus stop 22 and great sunbeds we went on a boat trip to skopolos stopping at a few places all day trip 10 until 7 only 20 euros well worth it. We visited skiathos for my sons wedding which was held at the skiathos princess but would definitely go there again but would stay somewhere different . I would certainly recommend skiathos to anyone thinking of going a beautiful green island . just stay somewhere else aga paraveski bus stop 16 good lots more restaraurants and bars nearby . And one last thing you have to pay 45 euros a week for air conditioning a rip off never had to pay before. also they don't provide toilet rolls and you only get clean bedding and towels first week .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whwb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    42
    17
    9
    11
See reviews for
25
59
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Maria and Demetris who own these apartments are a lovely welcoming couple. Their son Kostas runs the bar and the Karaoke in the evening was not as friendly, only when it suited. We found the studios o.k but very basic even for Greek standard. We did eat a few snacks here and they were really good. As for having a nice chat with other guests in the evening then forget it the Karaoke takes over most evenings with Kostas friends arriving to entertain him. There are more than enough restaurants to eat out in the evenings but not much else to do unless you venture into Skiathos Town. Troulos beach was a lovely area and we visited lots of other beaches during our stay which we're more secluded. Skiathos is a lovely quite Island and Skopelos was even prettier which we managed to visit very easily via ferry from Skiathos town. Sleep wise we didn't get too much as a result of the Cockerels, Donkeys and Dogs making their fair share of noise early every morning. This is no fault of Maria and Demetris though as they were on nearby land. Eva who worked the bar was a delight who obliged in learning us the Greek language and for putting up with the crazy gang who we met during our stay. We did enjoy our stay here, mostly due to the crazy friends we met during our stay who gave us lots of entertainment and laughter. Speaking to other guests they return frequently so it can't be that bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Pros:
The location is good with three nearby markets and a bus stop (No 18) right around the corner making travelling around the island a breeze.
The pool and bar area have free wifi (with good signal strength).
The family are extremely welcoming.
With the exception of a randomly placed football pitch the views from the balcony are pretty nice.
Also worth mentioning is the amazing restaurant Salt & Pepper just 200 metres away, both the food and service is of excellent standard and I would highly recommend a visit. Be wary to book in advance as it gets very busy.http://www.skiathossaltandpepper.gr/

Cons:
Really noisy animals surrounding the hotel, excellent if you want your morning wake up call at approximately 5am from what can best be described as a donkey who's received a hot poker up the bum. (if the cockerel doesn't beat him to it).
The balconies are a good size but don't offer anything in the way of privacy so you'll be having your morning coffee with the neighbours. (ALL OF THEM)
We've stayed on many Greek islands and are quite used to the 'basic' standards on offer but it has to be said that never have we encountered such a poor excuse of a shower! Just a medium sized trickle of water and no matter how you try to position the hose you'll still end up practically licking the wall to get under it.

All in all I'd say a completely average experience, if you're using Koukias Village as a base to explore the island then you'll find it's well located, clean enough and with the surrounding markets you have pretty much anything you could need. If it's a place to hang by the pool and your room then I'd look elsewhere. The island itself is beautiful with some absolutely stunning beaches! I'd highly recommend a visit to Kanapitsa beach (bus stop 12) the taverna located there is also top notch! another favourite of ours Banana beach (bus stop 26) is a great place to catch the sun setting.

Would I visit Skiathos again? Yes. In a heartbeat!

Would I stay in Koukias Village? Probably not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lovelygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Troulos hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at Koukias again and had a fantastic holiday, a great place, Lots of fun and laughter all week, thank you Kostas and your very lovely family. The Greek evening and BBQ on Tuesday was a great success, plenty to eat and dancing for everyone afterwards. See you next year x

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

If you want to chill out on your Hol's combined with having a lot of fun, good food and meet lovely people this is the place to stay. As per previous comments rooms very clean as is the pool and Taverna area, Costa and his family make you very welcome, I stayed for a week leaving on Aug 9th wished I was still there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrw66castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a last minute booking with Thomas Cook.
We had 2 apartments that were very clean had what we needed plus balconies and great views.
The pool and bar area were excellent, Costas, his family and staff were great and very welcoming.
The Greek evening and BBQ on the Tuesday night were excellent too.
They are well located for the Trulos beach, shops, medical centre and restaurants.

Would defiantly go again, had a great time,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hughjarse123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Koukias Apartments for a week from 16th July. We got a pre-booked taxi from Skiathos airport to Troulos which was really easy and very quick. We were showed to our room by Kostas, number 6. We had 3 single beds, a kitchen area which was very clean, an outdoor area with table and chairs and bathroom. The only thing we had trouble with was the shower which was just like a dribble, but after speaking to someone they turned something up and it wasn't a problem for the rest of our holiday. The apartments are set in pretty gardens and away from the main road.
We arrived on a Tuesday, which was Greek BBQ night at the pool bar (they have it every week) so we paid for that (15 euros each) but you got a massive plate of meat and another of lovely Greek salads. Then it was onto greek dancing into the night. Well worth the money.
We had a thunder storm the first night and I believe they get quite a bit of rain as it is a lovely green island for Greece.
I know a lot of people on here have moaned about the noise from the animals nearby but I can't say they were that bad. The worst was a donkey who cried every morning at about 3-4am but it wasn't for long and we only heard it as we slept with the doors open. Air con is available but we didn't feel it was necessary whilst we were there.
I would recommend taking mosquito protection as we got quite badly bitten the first night. We then bought coils which you set alight outside your room (you get 10 for 1.5 euros so well worth investing!) and we weren't bitten again.
Troulos beach is a 10 minute walk down the road and is beautiful. The sun beds are 8 euros for the day from either taverna on the beach Our favourite was Troulos Bay Hotel and was very resonable. They also have lots of watersports to choose from - rings/sofa/skis
I would also recommend going into Skiathos Town as it is so easy on the bus, stop 18 is right outside the apartments and it's only 2 euros.
You can get free Wi-Fi at the pool bar and all the staff are friendly and very helpful. We would definitely return to Skiathos as it is such a beautiful island and would recommend Koukias for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyTravellers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#5 of 84 in Skiathos
954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
879 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Studios
Lake Studios
#11 of 11 in Koukounaries
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#59 of 84 in Skiathos
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#3 of 9 in Troulos
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukias Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukias Apartments

Property: Koukias Apartments
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Koukias Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukias Apartments Hotel Troulos
Koukias Apartments Skiathos/Troulos
Koukias Apartments Hotel Skiathos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing