We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the loveliest places we have stayed!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Rosa Apartments
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the loveliest places we have stayed!”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Rosa. We were greeted on arrival and showed to our room immediately. The hotel itself is really quiet and peaceful - you could actually hear a pin drop when everyone was sat around the pool. I didn't dare speak! We are in our late 20's/early 30's and were the youngest by far. However, it was nice and relaxing and the place is so pretty with lots of fresh lemon trees and colourful flowers.
Markos the chef was very good and we ate there 3 times out of 7! George the waiter made our holiday - he was so friendly (think he was pleased to see some other young people!) and was telling us all about his upcoming wedding and how Greek weddings are celebrated etc. He loves to talk about England - just ask him about Primark!
The room was clean and comfortable, no air con needed. The one complaint I have is the shower being cold a few times, but we figured out it's due to the solar power - so wait til the sun has been blazing a couple of hours and you will be fine.

Tips: The red light outside your door is activated when you put the key in the slot inside, it's to indicate to the maid that you are in so she won't enter! So if one of you goes out, leave the key in the slot if the other is still inside.
The beach is very close and the bus is so easy to use - 2 euros a ticket. Go to Koukanaris beach and Skiathos town - and do a boat trip. There is an excursions office on the front where we booked a day trip, 15 euros each for all day (compared to the Thomson one at 32 it's a no brainer!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelbuff_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    35
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The number of people who return to the Villa Rosa are evidence of the special place that this is. Guests can expect a warm welcome from Markos and his family. The small complex is well maintained with comfortable, clean rooms (thanks to Magdalena) set around the pool and gardens.
The taverna is superb, with meals prepared and cooked by Markos from family recipes. Rania and George keep the front of house running smoothly. With father(Apostolis) keeping the pool and gardens clean and tidy this really is a family concern.
We always meet some lovely people staying in this small friendly complex and are already planning the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trichrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

After spending 10 days at this hotel, for the first time in my life I will go back to the same place! Markos and Rania are two of the most welcoming hosts you could meet. Together with George there is nothing they wont do for you. The accommodation is spotless and the pool area and bar are stunning. None of the rooms are too far away from the pool so you get a beautiful view each time you wake up. The food in the restaurant is gorgeous and Markos's recipes stand out from the rest of the area - you will get food here that you wont get anywhere on the island. It is authentic greek cooking with a twist. I can honestly say that my friend and I had one of the best holidays we have had in a little bit of paradise. Thank you Villa Rosa for giving us some lovely memories with some wonderful people. We were also lucky enough to meet some really lovely people also staying there which gave the whole holiday an extra feeling to it. Laugher rings out from the hotel at all time due to the small nature of the accommodation. Big hotels - never again.

Room Tip: No room is too far from the pool area so perfect morning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikNik18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Just returned from a fortnight at Villa Rosa (17th -31st May), here are our comments;
Accomodation - Basic s/c rooms but comfortable and spotlessly clean, thanks to the lady cleaner who is a star.
Amenities - Great pool and taverna with pool bar.
Food - Down to personal taste really, we had two excellent meals and one not quite what we expected. The taverna is though probably the most authentic Greek restaurant in the resort with a great atmosphere. The rest of the eating places are in our opinion very 'much of a muchness', with the same fare on offer at each. Expect to pay circa 35 euros for a two course meal with a round of drinks or two.
Resort - Loved Troulos, the beach is one of the best on the island and a really friendly place.
Weather - One shower of rain for 20 mins, apart from that wall to wall sunshine at between 25 and 32 degs. The people staying the week before us were not so lucky I understand !
Trips - Great boat trip to Skalios, but why were Thomsons wanting 35 euros off me when you can book it at the port for 20?
Overall - A great holiday, you become part of the owner Marcos's family and as a first time visitor to Skiathos, we hope to return. Met some really nice people, due to the small and friendly atmosphere of the Villa Rosa, it will be hard to go back to a large hotel after this experience.

Room Tip: There are three rooms at the front of the villa facing the road, most people favoured the others whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We had a wonderful 2 week holiday at the Villa Rosa in 2012. We went in September at the end of the season and thoroughly enjoyed it. The island is very beautiful. The people were very friendly. The room was basic but very clean and fresh linen and towels were provided almost every day of our stay. We tried a few of the restaurants in the area but kept going back to the Villa Rosa as the quality of the food was well above average. We would definitely go there again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Just returned from a fantastic weeks relaxing holiday from the amaziing VILLA ROSA, this was our 3rd visit to see Markos and his family and have already booked to go back in June 2013.
The rooms are kept very clean and the family are never far away if you need anything. Markos does all the cooking and the food is exellent we never had the same meal twice durring our stay apart from the garlic mushroom starter which we had most evenings, :-) George who waits on is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The pool area is kept very clean and is so relaxing and peaceful ideal if you just want to chill, there are plenty of comfortable sunbeds with brollies and some shaded areas under the lime and lemon trees. Troulous beach is about 10 minute walk away and is clean with a few taverners. The bus stop is about a 10 minute walk away, buses run regulary too all the beaches and into skiithos town and harbour the cost is 2 euros each, while at the bus stop a taxi will stop and take you in to town/harbour for 5 euros so we did that mostly, if you want a taxi back they charge around 12 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luzzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Villa Rosa was the perfect place to stay for a relaxing holiday. Mainly families and young couples rather than young people but it made for a very chilled out atmosphere. The staff were really friendly and helpful when you needed them to be. I stayed with one other friend and so we had a small two bed room which was exactly what we needed - somewhere just to relax before going out in the evening and sleep at night. The bathroom was a bit cramped but nothing to complain about. Balcony overlooking the pool was a plus. The pool area was very peaceful and had great sunbeds and shade if you needed it. Very short walk to the beach and local shops as well as restaurants and the bus stop. Although the restaurant at Villa Rosa itself was definitely the best I had in Troulos with the lovely George as a waiter and gorgeous food. We definitely ate there the most in our two weeks! Try the meatballs which are amazing. I would love to go back to Villa Rosa. If you're a young person looking for lively atmosphere it isn't the place for you but it is definitely good for a relaxing place to stay with friendly people. And if you want more bars and fun then the bus into town is just along the road. Amazing holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.1 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Apartments

Property: Villa Rosa Apartments
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Apartments Hotel Troulos
Hotel Rosa Apartments
Villa Rosa Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing