We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing, Loved it!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Troulos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Rosa Apartments
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet and Relaxing, Loved it!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2008

We have just returned from the Villa Rosa apartments in Troulos, Skiathos, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Forget about your 4/5 star hotels, if you want a quiet and relaxing holiday in Skiathos then this is the place to come. We have two daughters (9 12) and found Villa Rosa to be family friendly, so if you have kids and they're happy with a pool and the beach then this is great for them too. The apartments are basic but very clean, and run by Markos and his lovely family. With only 14 studios/apartments the Villa Rosa is very quiet during the day, we can't recall a day when there were more than 15 people at the poolside, which is where we spent most of our time. The cleaner was brilliant and cleaned the apartment 5 days a week. We stayed for two weeks, the bedding was changed weekly, and had three changes of towels.

There are three studios/apartments closer to the normally quiet road which late at night did have the odd motorbike whizz past but this didn't really bother us (this is NOT the main road from Skiathos-Koukanaries). There is no air conditioning so a few of the very warm nights were uncomfortable, but hey, this is Greece!!

Troulos Beach is lovely and only 10-15 minutes walk away, Koukanaries a few stops on the bus, and Mandraki (recommended) and Aselinos a slightly longer walk or a short drive on moped/hire car. Mandraki is only walkable from one of the bus stops near Kouknaries, while Aselinos is 2 miles from Villa Rosa.

Food - look no further than Villa Rosa. Markos' cooking is amazing and while we visited tavernas in Troulos and Skiathos Town, we found the the food at Villa Rosa to be both delicious and good value for money. They have a good reputation and don't need to have someone standing outside to pull in the punters. There was alwyas a healthy number of non-residents eating there, both English and Greek. One tip - don't use the tavernas on Troulos beach, we had poor service there.

We didn't use the bus service as a taxi into Skiathos Town was only 10 euros, so with four of us it wasn't much more expensive to do this. You can pick up a cab from the bus stops as they regularly stop to see what fares they can pick up on there way back to Skiathos Town.

We will definitely be back!!

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxing and great food
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marshy-fav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    35
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

The Villa Rosa is a fantastic little family run hotel. Marcus, the owner, chef and manager, is lovely, very friendly and very accommodating. We stayed for a week in July and had a lovely time. It was the second time we have been to Trulos and would definitely go back. Trulos is a great little resort with plenty of bars and restaurants and a lovely little beach.

The facilities in the self catering, twin, room were excellent; good size fridge (with a freezer compartment that actually worked!!), 2 hob rings, a mini oven, a kettle, 2 bowls, 2 large plates, 2 smaller plates, plenty of cutlery, glasses, cups, mugs and saucers. Good size bedroom with plenty of room and storage, little hair dryer so you don't need to take your own. The only thing I didn't like about my whole experience at Villa Rosa was that the bedding and towels were only changed once. It was hot when we were there and I would liked it if the bedding had been changed more regularly. There is no air conditioning in the rooms but we just shut the shutters at night and it was fine. During the day if we did get too hot we'd keep the patio and front door open.

The pool is a fair size, clean. Plenty of sun loungers.

The food at the hotel restaurant was gorgeous and very reasonably priced.

5-10 min walk to bus stop.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Would have liked the bedding & towels changed more often
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angielala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2007

Stayed at Vila Rosa with my husband and 8 month old daughter. We had a great time . We booked a one bedroomed apartment which worked really well, much bigger than the studios. This is a family run property which gave it a lovely relaxed feel, as opposed to an impersonal feel you can experience.

Even though the apartments were full the pool was lovely and very quiet during the day - we more or less had the pool to ourselves which was perfect for our daughter. The area around the pool was clean and the parasols came in very handy!

The restaurant was great and very reasonably priced and the staff overall were exceptionally friendly. They were good enough to send the restaurant food up to our room on the evenings when our daughter had an early night. We ate on the balcony overlooking the bar area. The restaurant was full each night with guests from other properties in the area.

Location is nice and quiet, but not remote. There's a supermarket over the road and a 5 minute walk takes you to the main road where you can catch the bus into town or walk the extra 5 minutes to the beach, which is fantastic. We used the sunbeds owned by the Troulos Bay Hotel (you pay at reception). This is useful as they have a nice restaurant serving lunch.

The only negative was that there was no air conditioning. But this was compounded for us as we experienced the Greek heatwave at 40 degrees in the middle of the night. Either way, air con would have been a bonus.

Highly recommended apartments.

  • Liked — Swimming Pool and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2007

This was our first trip to Skiathos, and what a beautiful Island. On arrival we were whisked away to the Villa Rosa appartments in the Troylos area. Set in a picturesque part of the island, just a short walk to the beach, the Villa Rosa stands in lush green settings dotted with palms and rose bushes amongst many other floral plants. We had seen the pictures on Trip Advisor before we booked, and we were not dissappointed. Marcos and his family greeted us with such a warm welcome which continued throughout our stay. His cooking is wonderful, so much so that people traveled from all over just to eat his delicous food. We only stayed one week, but on leaving felt we had left a part of us there. Are there any down sides I hear you ask? in truth only one, which was the water only got hot in the afternoon for showering through a very small shower, but this did not cause a problem as we just readjusted. We don't wish to rave too much about the Villa Rosa as the piece of paradise may be completely sold out and we may have trouble returning.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owners surrounded in a beautiful setting
  • Disliked — The lack of hot water in the mornings, but this was not a problem
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SignManEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

We stayed for 2 weeks at these apartments and they were the best in Greece that we have stayed in so far. They were cleaned every day and clean towels were provided twice a week. The staff at the apartments are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Each apartment also has its own washing line, which is great for drying towels etc. We ate out every night, but the self catering facilities looked good, and several apartments did cook every night. All apartments have balconies and most overlook the pool area. There are about 10 apartments, which keeps the place small and friendly.

The location is perfect, the apartments are off the main road, but only 10 mins walk to the beach and 5 minutes to most of the tavernas. Troulos has several tavernas and villa rosa serves the best food throughout Troulos and possibly Skiathos. It was very cheap to eat out in Troulos, but could be a bit pricey in Skiathos town.

It is very quiet in Troulos, which is perfect for winding down, if you want something a bit livelier, head for Skiathos town. There is a bus every 15-20 minutes to take you to Skiathos town or to Koukunaries. I think these run until 1 or 2am. It only costs €1.50 on the bus and a taxi is only €9 from Skiathos town back to Troulos, if you don't fancy the bus.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Villa Rosa apartments and would definately stay here again. We booked with Thomsons, who have the apartments exclusively.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & food at on-site taverna
  • Disliked — Cats crying to get in your room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europefan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 July 2006

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the Villa Rosa Studio Apartments in Troulos in late June this year. After reading mixed reviews of the Island, and Troulos in particular, I admit I was a little hesitant but ended up very pleasantly surprised.

Yes, Troulos does not have a centre and lacks the traditional cobbled streets that I remember from my greek holidays when I was a child. What it does have, however, is beautfiul scenery, a simple, peaceful way of life and a great beach (surrounded by other great beaches) - the perfect recipe for a very relaxing holiday.

There are many apartment complexes dotted around Troulos but, from what I saw, each is far enough apart to feel that you are in a semi-rural, fairly private location. Villa Rosa is a perfect example of this and we were very happy with our choice. The 12 or so studio apartments, although containing fairly basic bathrooms and kitchenettes, are smartly furnished and are very clean with balconies overlooking the attractive pool and bar area. One of the best things about Villa Rosa is the bar/restaurant and the people that work there. Markos (son of the owner from what we could work out) is always smiling and happy to help. The food at the restaurant is exceptional and, whilst I am normally someone who enjoys trying different places every night, we ate there every night but one. A 2 course meal for two people including drinks was roughly 30 euros, a bargain given the quality.

As for the rest of the Island, there isnt a lot to do in Skiathos town during the day though I know there are some very good bars and restaurants there for an evening out. That said it is an attractive port and worth a visit. The rest of the Island is essentially a string of very attractive beaches - Koukanaries, Kolios and Agia Paraskevi being our preferred ones other than Troulos itself. The bus service is excellent, cheap and simple to use.

All in all I would give Skiathos and Troulos the thumbs up and would go back. The Villa Rosa Apartments would definitely be our choice again and I would heartily recommend it.

Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troulos
0.7 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 85 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Skiathos Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kivo Art & Gourmet Hotel
1.1 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#1 of 1 in Katsarou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Apartments

Property: Villa Rosa Apartments
Address: Troulos 37002, Greece
Region: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Troulos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Troulos
Number of rooms: 261
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Apartments Hotel Troulos
Hotel Rosa Apartments
Villa Rosa Apartments Skiathos/Troulos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing