We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding Villa with brilliant location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PaulKMK
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Villa with brilliant location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned from a weeks stay with our friends, who booked the villa and without doubt, it was one of the very best we have ever stayed in. The owner was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The welcome pack was the best we have had and you really must try his Raki, it is so smooth! We all agreed that the villa was beautifully designed and appointed, very clean and with everything you could wish for. The pool and garden area is a lovely place to relax.

The location is fantastic. You just walk to the end of the garden, cross a tiny road and you are on a lovely clean beach. The sea is clear and safe. We also enjoyed the mountain views to the rear from the terrrace. It is a great place to have a pre evening meal drink and what with the views and the peace and quiet, it made for a very enjoyable stay.

There is an excellent supermarket close by and the reliable bus service into Chania also stops there. It's location on the edge of the village means there is a little walk into Kalives, but it isn't overly long and there are a number of very good restaurants.

We all felt the Villa was excellent value and would all like to return to use it as a base to explore other parts of Crete.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your great and detailed review. I'm sure it will be really helpful for future travellers. I would love happy to welcome you again at Calma seaside villa with extra raki on the basket especially for you!!! Regrads!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellin...
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa, fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights in April/May 2017. The villa absolutely exceeded expectations as it is actually much more beautiful and spacious than it looks in the photos. The location is fantastic, it is literally on the beach but there is a long garden filled with interesting plants, vines, artichokes, honeysuckle and trees which give you privacy if you are lounging by the pool. At the back of the house there is a stunning view of the mountains and there is an olive grove next to the house which is really lovely, especially in Spring as it was full of spring flowers all around the olive trees. The villa itself is probably the best equipped holiday rental i have ever had. Even the hairdryer was great! The shower in the downstairs double room is definitely the best I have had in Greece! We tried to book to come back in June, that's how much we loved it but unfortunately it wasn't available for our dates. I really can't think of anything negative to say, it was just perfect and Antonis was really helpful and friendly - his own olive oil is delicious and you must try his home made raki too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thanks you very very much for your kind words! I'm really glad that you enjoy your vacations at my place!!! Have a nice summer, and i hope to see you again sometime!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stay55925...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Villa, fantastic location, lovely helpful owners”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

beautiful location right next to the beach and perfect for supermarkets (100yds) and tavernas/ bars. Close to the airport and easy access to Chania for days out. The Villa is finished to a very high standard and has been very well equipped to make your stay home from home. Antonis the owner was very helpful and couldnt do enough to ensure our stay was perfect. Would definitely highly recommend and we will be visiting again !!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2017
I'm always happy when my guests enjoy their time at my villa! Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you again, soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Even better than it looks in the photos. Beautifully designed with lots of lovely details. Antonis made us feel very welcome and the box of goodies was very much appreciated. The house is really comfortable and we love the wood stove for the cool evenings we had. Looking forward to coming back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Im more than thankfull for your review! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is it!!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is beautifully crafted. It doesn't look like a place that you just sleep in, is a home. The pool has a good size and depth, perfect for kids and adults alike. The owner and his wife are lovely and they will help you and provide anything you might need. (You won't need anything. They have thought of everything you might need.) The house is clean and there are air conditioners in every room. It has internet access bare in mind though that sometimes for a few minutes you might not have access since is a rural area and the network is poor. The only reason I might not recommend the house is for people that don't drive and would like to spend a lot of time at Chania. The taxi can be expensive so if you want to go to a lot of places then I would suggest to rent a car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2016
Hi Marina! Thanks a lot for your review. Hope you are having a great time , best regards to your mother!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect beach villa for all the family”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would agree with the other positive reviews of this villa and the very friendly welcome and introduction to its facilities by Antonis, the owner was especially nice. We enjoyed chatting to him and finding out about where all the olive oil, wine and raki came from and eating his grapes straight from the vines in the garden.
We were an extended family group ranging from 14 to 82 and this villa provided everything we needed to all have a relaxing and fun week. It's less than 2 minutes from the beach which is quiet and ideal for swimming, ball games and walking along. There are plenty of good tavernas near by and a supermarket a short walk away too.
We thought Chania (25 mins by car) beautiful and well worth a visit.
Our favourite taverna was Provlita; lovely atmosphere and great fresh fish. It's a 20 min walk in the direction of Kalyves along the seafront. You won't be disappointed if you go.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Really thanks for your visit and for your nice review! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieOH
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect villa”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our family loved everything about this villa. It is beautifully designed and decorated and perfectly situated on a lovely clean and quiet beach - much nicer and less busy than the main Kalyves beach.

It was spotlessly clean and tidy and we were made to feel very welcome and well looked after with gifts of local food and drink, including the owner's own olive oil and grapes from the garden.

The very good local supermarket is a short walk away and Kalyves has several excellent tavernas, all of which happily catered to our family of vegetarians and vegans. There are some very nice little shops in Kalyves too.

We flew to Chania and travelled to the villa by taxi. You do not need a car to enjoy a wonderful holiday here.

I really cannot recommend this villa highly enough. Everything about it is perfect and we have already booked to return next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spacious interior, sylish decor, clean
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Dear Jane, i'm happy that you enjoyed so much the villa and appreciate a lot your nice comment and your kindness.
I will be glad to meet you and your family again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing