We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Angeliki's House

Terace views in March
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Terace views in March
Arriving at Angeliki's house. Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Terace views in March
Arriving at Angeliki's house.
Double bedroom
Sunbathing
Seating
Cooking
VillageTaverna TaAptera, Listed in 'The Rough Guide',traditional homemade Greek food fresh
Village Taverna Cretan Corner with stunning terrace views.
Kalives beach
Chania Harbour
Chania Old Town
Aptera ruins
Almyrida beach
Walking
Wildlife
Chania market hall
Angeliki's House.
Crete Map
Chania habour cafe.
Quaint villages with picturesque views.
Angeliki - views from terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kalyves, Apokoronas, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
frank_kir...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Distinctly average house; tired furnishings; indifferent location”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for a fortnight in September 2014, travelling with Pure Crete. This is a very small house, really suitable only for two people, the windows of whose main bedroom fronts onto a lane which carries a surprising amount of traffic. The house is overlooked by a two-storey farmhouse whose owners have many callers who arrive, depart and park below the same windows, frequently in the small hours of the night. The 'sitting area' is a corridor between the kitchen, the bedroom and the bathroom, whose only natural light comes from a tiny window. The cooker in the kitchen is on a raised plinth set into the old hearth making even boiling a egg challenging. The mattress in the main bedroom turned out to be disgustingly stained when we stripped the bed on departure. There is a weekly cleaner but she is not provided with any bags for either domestic or toilet waste and so reuses the client's old shopping bags. The outdoor furniture consists of four plastic chairs, two of which were cracked, a table, and two very tired sun-loungers. Though most of the windows have anti-mosquito netting the house is almost impossible to cool down because of the noise of folk coming and going - and a request for a broken fan to be replaced was met with 'do you really need two fans?'. The lane to the village of Aptera is the usual Greek scene of building rubble, broken fences and unfinished/derelict houses. Definitely not unspoilt Crete!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decent tavernas in Aptera, the nearby village
Liked least: This is not a property in which to spend quality time.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
“Thank you for your comments. We’re so sorry that you didn’t enjoy your holiday. The property is marketed as suitable for 2 Adults and 2 Children with a large master bedroom with king sized bed (we were unaware that the mattress was soiled, it has now been industrially cleaned April 2015), an interconnecting door leads to a generous twin bedded room. The living accommodation is compact, however, with the extensive terrace with dining table and chairs (new for 2015 and not plastic) together with sun loungers I believe there is more than ample inside and outside space.
With respect to the ‘surprising amount of traffic’ and noise, this can be attributed to the owner next door having his Name Day party during the week that you were visiting, so it was noisy until late on the day, as he was celebrating in traditional Cretan style. It was family and friends attending the Name Day Celebration and is a once a year occurrence. The house is in a very quiet location.
I would dispute the suggestion that the property was dirty, our maid is conscientious, and does an excellent job.
The cooker has been relocated to a more suitable position for 2015.
The house is of traditional stone (18” thick walls) and is kept cool by keeping the shutters closed during the heat of the day, there is a large ceiling fan in the master bedroom plus two additional floor standing fans. I understand the request for a replacement for a broken fan was dealt with extremely quickly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing