We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erodios - highly recommended”
Review of Erodios Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Erodios Apartments
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Erodios - highly recommended”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife & I have just returned from an 8 night stay at Erodios apartments. This was our 2nd visit to Erodios, the 1st was last September. We've never returned to any destination so quickly, an indication of how much we enjoyed Kalives & the apartments. The owners are very friendly & helpful, but not in the least bit intrusive - they're there to help & advise when needed. The apartments are located on a small hill, a pleasant 5 minute walk from the beach, shops & tavernas of Kalives. The village is well situated for touring the west/south-west of Crete, with many interesting places to visit within a day's drive. Chania & Rethymno are both lovely towns to stroll around. We had a sea-view apartment & it was very good value for money. We have previously rented villas in this area, but enjoy being in the village community, so the apartments suit us better (much cheaper too!). Final words of advice? Go soon!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

We have travelled to Kalives on previous occasions but this was the first time we had stayed at the Erodios Apartments. We were greeted warmly on arrival by the owners & given cold drinks & biscuits, which was a lovely touch. The apartments are very well kept & spotlessly clean. They are in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the village square, in a quiet residential street. We stayed in apartment 25 which had views over the olive grove & the sea & harbour. Throughout the week Irene, the owner, left us homemade treats such as delicious cheese pies, & also provided us with candles when an electrical storm caused a power cut! As other reviews have noted, the apartments are not huge, but this is not particularly important to us, & we were happy with the space we had. We would definitely book in at Erodios next time we return to Kalives.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We are not the kind of people that post comments regarding accommodation, but couldn't help it, as we were absolutely amazed to come across such a negative review about such a lovely place.

We stayed at Erodios in the first week of August. As we had a relatively tight budget we chose an apartment with inland views- top floor, and got the same apartment zulu13 describes. It wasn' t huge, but we were pretty comfortable (we saved a lot of space by placing our suitcases on the top of the wardrobe). The bedroom door closed normally; the beds were pulled towards the balcony door and the left leaf didn't open widely, but we didn't bother. The kitchenette was fully equipped, there was a kettle and they also gave us a toaster. The bathroom was normal sized.
The front balcony had view over Kalives hills and the apartments colourful garden. The spacious terrace on the back side had view to olive trees and the mountains, but it would be much better indeed if the neighbour's house was not there (erodios owners are growing climbing plants to hide it).

The apartment looked like new; it was neat and clean, and everything (including the air-conditioner!!!) worked properly. There was even a hair-dryer and Wi-Fi Internet.

The owners were very friendly and really looked after us. They could go out of their way to make us feel at home.

When we booked our accommodation we didn't expect it, but we were pleasantly surprised to get exactly what was presented on the website; usually it looks and sounds better than it actually is. We really enjoyed our stay and we feel that it was worth the money we paid. We would definitely visit again in the future.

  • Liked — The friendly enviroment and the clean and very nice rooms.
  • Disliked — Everything went perfect!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nina-ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2008

I an sorry to say that we were very disappointed with our stay in the Erodios Apartments.

Although the host was really kind and helpful, the one bedroom apartment was really not worth the cost.

It was a one bedroom apartment, but the shape and design were really awkward. There was not enough space to close the door, between the kitchen and the bedroom, so it jutted out between the end of the beds and the wardrobe. The kitchen was an awkward L shape, and included a huge armchair which took up all the space. There was just an awful feeling of being sqeezed in., and having to negotiate around furniture. We would hve been better off in a large studio.

There were two very nice balconys, but these were ruined by the views which were not good. There is a really ugly house directly opposite, and at the back, the balcony is overlooked by the neighbours and their washing lines. There were views towards the hills between the buildings, but these did not compensate for the feeling of claustrophobia.

Altogether we very disappointed and feel that the accomodation was very overpriced for what was offered. We were shown some of the other apartments, which seemed to have a better layout, but were even more expensive.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the courtesy of the host. The feeling of being in the heart of Kalives.
  • Disliked — The layout, and lack of free space. The views.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zulu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

very comfortable apartments.extremely good views,the owners make you feel part of the family with all the little extras like stuffed peppers,oranges,eggs etc.etc.this was our third year and we have already booked for next year.a gem in a sea of apartments

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank davidandmorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We have just returned from our third visit to Kalives and to the Erodios Apartments. We have become very fond of Kalives and the Apartments and the delightful family who own and manage them. The village of Kalives is only half an hour from Chania Airport and is very convenient for exploring western Crete including the Samaria Gorge and many pretty coastal and mountain villages. It has maintained its very traditional cretan character and has one of the best and safest beaches we have found on our many visits to numerous Greek islands. It is virtually untouched by commercialism but has enough traditional tavernas, cafes and shops for those who want a peaceful beach or walking holiday and to enjoy wonderful cretan hospitality and friendliness. The Apartments are in a peaceful location and are very convenient for the village centre and its tavernas, shops and the lovely beach. They are modern, spacious, well furnished and equipped and immaculately maintained by the family who are a joy to be with. Nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable and they will even give you amusing language lessons if you want them. We have already booked for a fourth visit next year.

  • Liked — Location, quality and service
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank RDEManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2006

We were looking for simple, clean, quiet apartments for a week in a quiet but well equipped village in easy reach of all the tourist destinations. We could not have found anywhere more fitting our needs than this place.
All of the people at Erodios apartments could not have been more helpful, from the website Erodios-apartments through the booking and answering queries by email. They arranged our hire car for us which awaited our arrival at Chania airport. They were very welcoming and twice we were given home-made cake. They always greeted us with a smile and a wave.
The apartments were a short walk (a few minutes) down to the village, where there are about a dozen places to eat breakfast lunch or dinner, either in the village or along the beach which is 100 metres from the village centre.
The apartments were clean and regularly cleaned (not Sundays). They all have a little balcony and in the kitchen area there is a two ring electric hob, simk and fridge. The bathroom is small with good shower, sink and toilet.
The views from the roof to the White Mountains one way and to the sea the other are stunning.
All of the restaurants were great and you can usually find Cretan music or dancing at one of them each night. We liked to have breakfast outside the restaurant in the centre of the village by the church and under the plane tree. You can watch the whole world go by from there.
We always managed to find a space to park the car, and we had some great trips, though there is a bus stop in the village as well as a couple of travel agents who can arrange trips for you.
This is a great place for a quiet week, with no louts and no problems. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalyves
0.2 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
561 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sunrise Suites
Sunrise Suites
#2 of 6 in Kalyves
170 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Christi Apartments
Christi Apartments
#5 of 6 in Kalyves
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalyves Bay Seaside Apartments
1.6 mi away
Langley Resort Almirida Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erodios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erodios Apartments

Property: Erodios Apartments
Address: No 437 Kalives Apokoronou | Chania Crete, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run self-catering holiday apartments, where you will feel welcomed and enjoy the Cretan hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Erodios Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erodios Apartments Chania
Erodios Apartments Kalyves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing