We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family holiday so far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best family holiday so far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at Sunrise Suites and in Kalyves in general. The weather was lovely and not too hot in this part of the world due to the sea breeze; around 32deg C when we were there at the beginning of August. We flew, as a family of mum, dad and a 5 year old, direct from Bristol to Chania which is a 35min, 40Euros taxi drive away. Sunrise suites is not lavish but is very clean (including the pool which was cleaned daily), has all the facilities you need for a very comfortable holiday and the service from the staff is delightful. Dimitrius the manager was very helpful from the time we booked the holiday months previously and right through the holiday itself. His assistant Katerina was a bundle of joy and made us very welcome and worked non-stop. The complex is a nice small size of only 27, well equipped apartments. A buffet breakfast was served by Katerina at the dining area overlooking the bay. There was free WiFi in the reception for those who required it. The views from the (spacious) balcony were spectacular and the journey to Kalyves beach/village was only 5 mins, albeit via a steep hill. Kalyves was a small, yet friendly and safe village with all the facilities you need including many beach side restaurants, supermarkets, post office, pharmacy etc. The price of everything in Crete is a lot cheaper than the rest of Europe. We often had a hearty dinner (including drinks) for the family for around 30 Euros. We didn't have a car and so we alternated between having a day at the pool, a day at Kalyves beach and village and visiting the nearby picturesque town of Chania by bus were you could take a boat or horse-drawn carriage tour.
Being pedantic the only improvements that could be made is that there was air conditioning in only one room, the other room was smaller and contained the kitchen. There was only a shower and no bath and occasionally a number of local children from the owner's family would use the pool at the same time.
Overall it was a great experience and we will certainly recommend it and are planning to visit again, probably with a hire car to see more sights (although the driving in Crete was something to behold).

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors diectly facing the swimming pool have the best overall views of the surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilesAndDaphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
85
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just returned from Kalyves having stayed at the Sunrise Suites...the apartment was excellent, spacious, well equipped and air conditioned...we were not disappointed having asked for a sea view..it was stunning.
Dimitris was helpful and efficient from the moment we arrived, he manages the properties with real warmth and expertise.
I didn't use any of the on site facilities as my friend and I wanted a beach holiday but the pool was a good size and always looked spotless, it was a favourite spot for families...
The walk to and from the beach was a bit of a trek.. not suitable for those with walking difficulties as it was a rough track and quite steep ... and pitch black at night..so take a torch !
All in all very nice apartments, to be thoroughly recommended... Thanks Dimitris and your staff .. here, as promised is my review ! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor sea view room whenever possible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Sunrise Suites

Having booked flights to Chania we decided upon the Sunrise Suites after reading the wonderful reviews. We booked directly with Dimitris after e mailing to check out the rates and decided to stay on a bed and breakfast basis. We corresponded several times before our trip to ask questions about car hire and taxis and always received helpful and prompt replies. We travelled on 29 June and drove from the airport in the hire car. 45 minutes later (and with Dimitris’ directions) we arrived at the Sunrise Suites and were greeted by Katerina, who showed us to our apartment. The place was very spacious with a sizeable balcony overlooking Souda Bay – such wonderful views. The apartment has a fridge, two ring hob (which we never used) and sufficient crockery and cutlery for snacks and basic meals. The place is kept spotlessly clean. It was early afternoon when we arrived and we decided to get some basic supplies at the Inka supermarket on the coast road going out of Kalyves. After unpacking and relaxing we set off to walk the few minutes down into the village and were greeted by Dimitris, who told us of a shortcut down to the village avoiding quite a bit of the windy road. In the village there are various shops, a bakery, laundry, ATMs, bars and restaurants. Many of the restaurants are on the beachfront where it is wonderful to sit and eat whilst watching the sun go down. After a steep climb back up the hill we ended our evenings over a nightcap on the balcony listening to the waves washing onto the rocks and watching the planes coming into land and taking off (no noise experienced). We enjoyed breakfasts prepared by Katerina which are buffet style before going out for the day in the car to various beaches and into Chania town. Breakfast takes place on a raised terrace with fabulous views out to the bay. We didn’t use the swimming pool, though it was popular with families in particular. We enjoy snorkelling and enjoyed visited many different beaches, some favourites recommended by Katerina. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would love to return and explore more of what Crete has to offer. Thanks to Dimitris and Katerina for making us feel really welcome. Marie and Richard

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and some have larger balconies, however these may cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rum_coolers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Sunrise Suites. The hotel is made up of about 27 rooms/apartments and therefore is just a nice size, not too big. The standard of the rooms were well above what you'd expect from a hotel with this rating and the room, pool and whole place was impeccably clean. The pool is lovely, we could always get sunbeds and it was never too crowded, just a few people playing/relaxing in it, just perfect. The guests were a mixture- couples, families etc including Greek holidaymakers which I think is a good sign and I never heard a bad word about the hotel or Kalyves from anyone. Kalyves is a small unspoilt village/little town and if you want to get away from more "tourist" areas is perfect. We were met personally, even though it was the early hours of the morning by the hotel manager, Dimitris on our arrival which was about 12.30pm as our flight was delayed. He showed us to our room and gave us some introductory information-what fantastic service!! We had a nice breakfast every day on the rooftop terrace with lovely views of the sea served by the wonderful Katarina. She is a fantastic host too, so friendly, cheerful and helpful-could not be better! We'd see her later on at the pool, it had a small bar for drinks and snacks and Katerina would be there to look after us. She's lovely. From the hotel it is only about a 5 minute walk to the sea/village (down a fairly steep hill-no problem for us though). This hotel is lovely and is extremely well run by the manager, Dimitris. He and Katarina are really hard workers, backed up by staff such as the cleaning lady(don't know her name but she was equally helpful, friendly and efficient). Dimitris and Katarina are really helpful and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable and pleasant.
Well done and thank you so much for a lovely holiday!!! Jon, Alison, Melissa and Ella.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Sunrise Suites in June this year and we couldn't fault it. From the warm welcome by Dimitris and Katrina, everything was geared towards a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The rooms were very clean and kept so by the staff and the view across the bay from the huge balcony was magnificant. Above all the manager and staff were so friendly and helpful throught our entire stay. I would recommend this place to anyone if you want great accomadation and reasonable prices in a lovely unspoit part of Crete.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We travelled as a couple in July 2013. We were given a warm welcome by the manager Dimitris and his staff on arrival and shown to our studio apartment promptly. We immediately felt confident that our holiday would be superb as it was the manager Dimitris who showed us to our room with a friendly manner, attention to detail and looking after the guests impeccably. We settled in very quickly with knowledge of where everything was including local amenities. Later in the day Dimitris made sure we were happy with everything and and gave us some useful tips on places we might like to see after finding out what our interests were. Dimitris even offered us some of his own raaki, produced by a friend and as we were inquisitive, told us all about it too.
Every morning we had a lovely buffet breakfast with fantastic views of the sea and the warmest 'Kali-mera' (good morning) from Katerina. As a member of staff Katerina is outstanding as she also taught us some Greek which we used during our holiday and always resulted in a smile and warm response from locals we met during our stay.
SunRise Suites are kept very clean and are maintained to a high standard with fresh towels and sheets every other day. The swimming pool is beautiful and there were always sunbeds available. We enjoyed very much our end of day drink at the pool bar chatting with Dimitris and other guests, and our introduction to Greek dancing.
Kalyves itself is lovely village only 5 minute walk downhill with several tavernas along the beach serving excellent food at good value.
All the staff at Sunrise suites made a special effort to make sure every guest was happy and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paintlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

In an age of instant online opinions on every product/facility/commodity, etc. When looking for a relaxing week away for my wife and I happened upon the Sunrise suites and after reading the plethora of positive reviews I thought; "this sounds perfect" and after returning from one of the best holidays ever all I have to say is everything you read about this amazing place is 100% true! Big love to Dimistris and the special thanks to Katrina; the hostess with the mostess, see you next year..

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mrconran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalyves
9.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.8 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 23 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites

Property: Sunrise Suites
Address: Kalyves Apokoronou, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Suites Kalyves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing