We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Sunrise Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunrise Suites
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Had a fabulous holiday here. Dimitris and Katerina are so so welcoming and helpful...just lovely people who contributed to a great holiday :-))
The suites are spotless, the pool so clean and clear, area round the pool kept so clean, just so clean overall. The staff keep the rooms clean and tidy and towels/ linen changed very often:-))
The views from the rooms and breakfast area are stunning. What a sight to wake up to or watch as you chill in the evening with a wee glass of your fav. drink.
The village still has a traditional feel to it with plenty of good places to eat with friendly people and good food. Good long stretch beach area with lots of cafes directly by beach.
A trip to the surrounding areas is definately recommended. The bus to Chania for example is only 2.30 euros and only takes about 30 mins. Good for shopping, lovely harbour area with restaurants,new part to town and also old town to explore. Rethymo is also great to visit (as are the wee villages round about.)
Would recommend without a doubt. High quality suites!! Cheers guys!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringmefood22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
102
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from yet another fabulous holiday at the Sunrise.
We were given a more spacious room (didn't think this was possible!) with a large balcony over looking the bay and I got up early one morning to watch the sunrise which was stunning. The rooms are clean, modern, good shower, comfy bed and should you wish to cook the kitchen area is well equipped.
Both Dimitri and Katerina are fabulous hosts and cannot do enough to ensure you have a fabulous holiday and at breakfast every time my coffee cup was empty Katerina was soon thereto refill!
Kalyves is not a commercialised resort which is why we returned, the beach is about 5 minutes away and is beautiful, with some great restaurants including Icarus, Provlita and Akrogiali Taverna.
Thank you once again for a fabulous holiday and see you again next year.

Sam & Harry x

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-Super-Mare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at the Sunrise Suites hotel last week and had a lovely time. Katerina and Dimitris were exactly as described by others already - they really couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We had a stunning view from our balcony and the pool was probably the warmest outside pool we've ever been in. We really couldn't fault anything. The resort was for us the perfect balance between being relatively quiet yet offered plenty of choice of great places to eat out. We very much hope to visit the hotel again in the future. Thoroughly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyWeston713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Our two week holiday has been absolutely fantastic and I must say this is mainly due to the Sunrise Suites employees, Katarina and Dimtiri.

The rooms are very clean, modern, great shower, firm bed, tv and air conditioned. The pool was clean with good accessibility. The grounds and appearance of Sunrise Suites are maintained to he highest standard. The staff and owners clearly take and pride in the property, the upkeep is faultless.

Dimtiri and Katarina were superb throughout our holiday. Both are extremely professional, friendly and welcoming. They engage conversation and take a personal interesting each guest.

Kalyves town is very traditional and isn't overshadowed by tourism. It takes a very steep 5 min walk to reach the town from Sunrise Suites. There's plenty of restaurants to choose from and we found most of them to be welcoming and of good quality. Chania is roughly a 20 min drive and I would definitely recommend visiting the town for a meal and shopping trip in the evening.

All in all a fantactic hotel/apartments and a big thank you to Dimtiri and katarina for making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathcormack, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at Sunrise Suites with our 2 year old daughter. We all had a really enjoyable stay. Dimitris and Katerina were wonderful hosts and made us feel so welcome. The view from our room was spectacular to wake up to every morning. It was on the ground floor which was great with a 2 year old. We still had our own space outside with a clothes horse to dry our towels and togs after the swimming pool. The room was cleaned and linen changed daily.It also had airconditioning. I would recommend the hotel for all ages. The hotel is up a hill overlooking the bay but there is a shortcut which makes your walk to the main street only about 5 mins. Parking is available also.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground level are better for small children as you don't have to carry buggies or worry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just arrived back after a 12 night stay and can't praise this hotel enough we loved every minute and would definitely return, Dimitri and Katerina can not do enough for you to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and we thank you for looking after us we miss you already.... The rooms was cleaned and beds made nigh on every day and must add that the cleaners always had a smile on their face and very polite and hard working. The pool was quality the views were beautiful and the weather was hot. Kalyves in general is typical Greek and not commercialised for tourism which for us was perfect. Beautiful beach and great restaurants serving great food at very reasonable prices. The people are lovely and friendly and I really hope it stays that way its a bit of paradise in its simplest form so if you are looking for a great place to stay then you will not be disappointed at Sunrise suites and Kalyves is defiantly a place to wind down and relax. Thank to you all once again and see you again. Paul & Marie.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulnMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife and I spent two weeks here from 3rd June and, as we soon discovered, the reviews we had read before booking turned out to be spot on.

Dimitris and Katerina are wonderful friendly hosts and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The room had an excellent view of the sea and village and we felt we couldn't have been better situated.

Kalyves has, thankfully, retained its Cretan charm and friendliness and reminded us of our first visit to Crete over thirty years ago. There is a good selection of restaurants all of which offer decent food at sensible prices. We particularly liked Akrogialis (great live music on Wednesdays) and Mythos.

All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and although we generally make a point of never going to the same place twice, in this case, we may well make an exception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard195001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalyves
9.5 mi away
Kalyves Beach Hotel
Kalyves Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kalyves
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#7 of 110 in Chania Town
503 reviews
4.3 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#16 of 110 in Chania Town
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 110 in Chania Town
389 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
340 reviews
5.1 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Suites

Property: Sunrise Suites
Address: Kalyves Apokoronou, Apokoronas, Crete 730 03, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Kalyves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kalyves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Suites Kalyves, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing