We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most pleasant vacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Milia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Traditionelles Dorf Milia
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milia
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most pleasant vacation”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days in Milia. The hospitality was great. Room was nice and cozy. A great relaxing location with amazing near by places for day trips. Most enjoying was the excellent home made food served at dinners. We certainly will come back. Highly recommended!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron19562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Myself, my wife and our 20 year old son shared the two bedroom apartment for 3 nights in June 2013.
As many reviewers we did not know what to expect. We were not disappointed.... wonderful. A green contrast to the dusty/rocky island that Crete is in most places in June.
In a valley in a forest in ancient stone houses that have been restored to a standard that would not be expected so far away from the beaten track.
Big beds with big duvets, first class bathroom with hot water all day, fire places if required and excellent restaurant serving organic, home produced food cooked in the rustic kitchen all day from 8am ish to 9pm ish a few meters down the path.
Breakfast was as much as you could eat and included in the room price. All other meals were paid additional but were excellent value and quality.
The menu varied every day depending on what the kitchen had available. Choice of vege starters and mains along with goat, lamb and beef dishes.
The local wine (5euro 1/2l) and complimentary raki along with the complimentary local puddings was really good. An excellent outside balcony area for dining completed the experience.
The peace and quiet was perfection, just the rustle of the trees in the breeze and the birds singing.The view of the stars in the night sky was breathtaking.
All staff were very friendly and were clearly very proud of what they were achieving at Milia.
The road to Milia was quite easy, compared to the road to Balos Beach for example (if you have been there), and much better than expected. So don't worry about that just go for it you will not be disappointed.
We managed a couple of walks around the area, including the "goat walk" which took you high above giving excellent views of Milia. It's more of a scramble than a walk but excellent fun for a couple of hours. Don't miss the cow and the donkey.
Milia is definitely a unique experience and we will hopefully visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianW3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This review is way overdue. We visited Crete after sailing the cyclades. I read about this restored settlement that grows their own organic food and decided to check it out. It was amazing. The stone houses were cool in the summer heat and it was relaxing. We went for a walk up the ridge across the settlement.
What is most amazing this the food. Breakfast was included and I had some of the nicest honey and yoghurt. Lunch and Dinner is ala carte and you can order anything you want. My friend Su and I wanted to try everything! I remember the subtle scent and taste of home smoked meats and sausages to this day. It was so go, we packed some to go on the day we left.
I remember seeing a basket of bright yellow zuchini flowers and asked what it was for and I was told that the flowers had to be plucked in the morning and it will be stuffed and baked. No prizes for guessing what we had for lunch that day :)
The owners and staff were very friendly and we shared some Singapore goodies with them on the day we left.
We bought some home-made jams and honey to go as they were available for sale.
Being at the settlement was a good reprive from the sun sand and sea when we were sailing.
HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lckemelcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

When we arrived in Milia, after a long ride in the mountains (with sublime point of views), we didnt know what to expect. You arrive there by foot after parking the car 100 metres away (no cars are allowed in the village) and it is really enchanting. It is in the center of a chestnut forest and it consists in 14 little stone houses, all perfectly restored, and a restaurant with a breathtaking view on the surrounding mountains.
The owner briefly explained to us that the retreat tried to be autosufficient, so they made their own electricity, most of the food and even their own wine and honey!!

The little houses and the restaurant are therefore lit by fire and candles in the evening and it is really romantic. The food and even the wine are amongst the best we had in our 2 weeks in greece. The bedding was perfect, comfortable and neat, just like the rest of the house.
If you want to take some time alone with your family, friends of as a couple, it is the perfect place, you will really feel calm and alone in the world with your loved ones.

The retreat seems to be enjoyed even by cretans and greek people, and I understand why. If I find a place like that in Canada I will go for sure!

The only thing we regret is that we stayed there only for a night at the end of our trip. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This restored Greek Village of 14 stone houses is set on a hillside with a rushing creek tumbling down a stone channel. When we arrived, the Wisteria was in bloom, lavender blossoms cascading down the stone facades. This is like staying in a tiny farmer's cottage - simple but totally charming. Flat cottage flat rooftops have seating areas for sunning or enjoying a glass of wine. The restaurant features local, sustainable cuisine and each dish is prepared perfectly. Did I mention that they are famous for their "Spoon Sweets"? These are beautifully preserved fruits in heavy syrup, so they appear as jewels in the jars that are for sale. We were served preserved quince for dessert and the slivers of glistening red quince in a glass dish were an exquisite end to our meal, accompanied with complimentary "RAKI". Breakfast next morning was a lovely selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, honey, homemade jams and homebaked goods!

Room Tip: If you don't like tiny rooms, ask for a larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claygourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

If you are looking to get away from it all this is your place. Rooms are traditional and basic, yet very clean. Some have much better views than the others. Try to snag one of those close to the path to the restaurant, higher up on the hillside facing the valley (our room was further down, and very dark, like a cave). Food was outstanding -- fresh vegetables and herbs from the garden, olives, fig jam, fresh goat yogurt and cheese and house made raki. The restaurant is the highlight. I would definitely pair a visit to Milia with some time at one of the beach resorts for a perfect getaway. The rooms are 3 star at best, but the location and restaurant are worthy of a 4-5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmh200886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

A real find; this is the place to stay on Crete if you want peace, quiet, simplicity and great fresh and tasty food. The rooms, in restored stone buildings, are very simple with stone floors traditional furniture and woven mats but with very comfortable beds and hot showers. Each room is heated by a wood stove or fire. The restaurant is huge, warm and friendly and serves a wide range of cretan food including plenty of veggie options. They also sell home made products such as jams, honey and soaps.
If you like walking there are plenty of options from the village such as Sirikari Gorge and Polyrinia or the summits of Kastelos and Leventies

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milia
209.9 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
18.9 mi away
Wyndham Loutraki Poseidon Resort
10.1 mi away
Parosland Hotel
Parosland Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aliki
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
Kalamaki Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isthmia
403 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel King Saron
Hotel King Saron
#2 of 2 in Isthmia
370 reviews
18.9 mi away
Elefsina Hotel
Elefsina Hotel
#1 of 2 in Elefsina
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traditionelles Dorf Milia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditionelles Dorf Milia

Property: Traditionelles Dorf Milia
Address: Milia bei Vlatos Fokida, Milia, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Milia
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milia
Number of rooms: 245

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing