We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Palace Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Analipsi
Certificate of Excellence
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at the Stella Palace hotel in August 2013. We traveled as a family - me,my wife and two children (7 and 3). We had a great family room just near the big pool (659). The hotel stuff is very friendly and and always happy to help. The food is perfect. There is a big variety of pools.
Unfortunately both of my kids got sick at some point. I was really surprised by the effectiveness of the medical help in the hotel. In both cases doctor came to our room and helped us with all the necessary arrangements (Alexandra thank you !!!).
We hope to visit again next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennybak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    786
    449
    158
    44
    16
See reviews for
897
294
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Stella Palace from 2-16th August and had a wonderful holiday. There was myself, my husband and 2 children (17yrs and 13yrs). Very impressed on arrival although surrounding area was not brilliant. Hotel reception staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were in room 602 by the top pool - double bed with separate sleeping area for kids. Room was spacious and cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Our son was sick one night unfortunately but as soon as my husband phoned reception they sent someone down and room was cleaned within 30 mins. We had a lovely patio area.
Food was superb as far as AI goes- lots of variety and the show cooking was brilliant -we especially liked the pancakes at breakfast - stellios and tim were excellent. Waiters and waitresses were fab as well - particularly Daniel and Kristi - so helpful and friendly. A trip to the cretan buffet is worth it. The Asian restaurant is a must - super food and it's lovely to be waited on.
The animation team work really hard all day - special mention to Zulu - he's so funny. Jen in Family World was also lovely (sorted us out with a lilo and introduced us to Eleni's sports bar). Also Mathou who was the archery instructor. They all work extremely hard entertaining everyone.
Location was not brill - not much around- bus stop is quite a distance from hotel but taxi to hersonissos was only €12 each way and well worth a visit. Very busy. Beach has free sunbeds and was never overly packed. A visit to Eleni's Sports Bar is a must - owners are so welcoming and funny - defo worth the walk. A few bars with free wifi along the seafront.
Thomas cook rep, Lloyd is lovely - there most days and frequented the pool area and always took time to speak and ask how the hol was going.
Trips can be booked along the seafront - Spinalonga is worth booking €32 compared to €55 with TC and it was same trip.
Pool bars are great but don't expect to get drunk. Downfall was AI finished dead on 11pm.
Only complaint I can make was the cockerills crowing at 5 every morning - at least you'll be up to put your towels on sunbeds. Pools and pool area were clean. Facilities are shared with stella village which is mainly french but they can't eat in stella palace restaurants.
Anyone who says bad things about the hotel but be really hard to please. Wouldn't hesitate to go back again or recommend it to friends. If your going here you are in for a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoElwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East grinstead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just got back from Analipsi in crete stayed at the Stella Palace . this is the second time we have stayed here and hopefully will not be the last.
The Hotel itself is in superb order , decor is secon to non. the staff are helpful and always happy to help
The accomadation was better than last time as it was second time back we were up graded.
The food is super have put on a few lbs since being there. There are different food themed nights , Asian , Italian and of course greek , you will not go hungry.
Drinks on tap from morning till 11, ice cream for the kids, main dinning area for breakfast lunch and dinner , plus food by the pool also. Evening entertainment for adults and children
Three lovely pools that are tiered down to the beach
Lovely trips to go on , I could on for ages about this resort , but istead go and try for your self you will not be disappointed we certainly enjoyed every minute.
travelling in my party just myself and my two children , boy and grl , 12 and 10

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalabear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is my objective, and I believe fair, review of the Stella Palace.

We traveled to the Stella Palace in August 2013 for 10 nights. Myself, Wife, 8 year old son and 5 year old daughter.

We travelled with another family who are close friends, they have 3 children a little older than ours and there was an almighty balls up with the booking. When we booked 15 months ago the Thomas Cook brochure clearly states inter connecting rooms, which they don't. They were allocated rooms about 200 yards apart meaning they had to split up. This was not the fault of the hotel and to be fair they did try to solve the issue, Lloyd the Thomas Cook rep was also very helpful. Unfortunately by the time the hotel were able to provide two rooms together we had been there 3 nights and they decided to stay where they were. Needless to say they will be taking this up with Thomas Cook!!!!!

The Room

We had a family room (636). Separate double bedroom for us and the kids in the living area in a single and sofa bed. Decent bathroom with a whirlpool bath although like others have mentioned strange set up with the shower. No attachment to the wall and no shower curtain, there is a drain in the floor though! The room was cleaned to a very high standard every day, in fact it was cleaned while we were at breakfast. We were on the ground floor (only two storey blocks) inbetween the two main pools. We had a lovely double patio but was on the wrong side to get the sun in the afternoon. It was much quieter of a night than I expected and our air conditioning unit was very effective.

The Food

It is exactly what you would expect from an all inclusive hotel abroad. We managed to get a table every meal time that sat all 9 of us. The waiters soon worked out we needed a bottle of red, a bottle of rose and a bottle of white, plus drinks for the kids! There was a good range of meals and the theme nights (Greek, Fish and Italian) provided good variety. The only thing we had to queue for was pancakes at breakfast and pizza of an evening, but at least you know its fresh! We didn't get bored with the food which is the biggest compliment you can pay an all inclusive place I guess!
We ate in the snack bar near the top pool at lunch every day. Burgers, hot dogs, chips, pasta, salad, bread, chicken. Did the job at lunch.
There was coffee, cake, sandwiches and ice cream available all day.

Pools

There is a large upper pool that is on two levels and then another big "free form" pool lower down with a the swim up bar. Because of the age of the children we were with we positioned ourselves down by the swim up bar end every day. We did have to get up very early to reserve these beds. There are not rows and rows of beds which is nice, it is more like two rows spread all the way round both pools and there is plenty of room between them. We could not get over how quiet the pool was during the day. The hotel was clearly full but it did not once feel crowded.
The barmen at the pool bar and swim up bar were excellent. Kostas in particular was really friendly and chatty. When my mate or I left our sunbeds there was pretty much two beers waiting on the bar!
Our children loved the pool and could play safely down that end. The top end of the pool was beached, so even younger children could splash around safely.

Entertainment

MMMMMM. Interesting. The animation team during the day were friendly but we didn't feel pressured to take part. In fact one or two would just come and chat. The kids took part in one or two activities and we did win the pool side quiz three days on the trot (Barmy Army rules!), you win 10 minutes free massage.
The evening entertainment was in the ampitheatre and I have read other reviews that stated it was, or could be, inappropriate. I can see where these folk are coming from. The shows that the animation team put on them selves were a series of sketches and I can best describe them as 1970s humour, sort of Benny Hill or Kenny Everett!!

Other
The site is shared with the Stella Village, the pirate pool and two slides are in the village as is the shop and a couple of other bars. Palace guests can use the village facilities but not the other way round.
The beach was busier than the pool and we only went down their once. It's safe to swim in and great for the kids to see fish. Plenty of beds.
We walked up into the village a couple of times, not much there but a pleasant walk along the seafront.
We went to Water City aqua park and would highly recommend it.
We found the staff throughout the whole hotel to be friendly and polite.
We arrived quite late and they had put on food for us. Which was quite nice.

Overall

Unusually for us we would go back to the Stella Palace, we like to try new places but really enjoyed our stay

One word of warning (NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL) if you travel back from Heraklion airport at a busy time it can be a nightmare so be prepared! The airport is just not big enough, or well enough staffed to cope with the volume of passengers and wasn't the best way to finish the holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AVFCRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Loved this hotel.
Very luxurious and modern.
Staff are friendly, helpful and speak very good English .
Pools are spacious clean and not too crowded.
Rooms are beautiful, well equipt and comfortable.
Food in main restaurant was pretty good with a fair variety.
Wasn't so keen on the food in the a la carte restaurant.
Bars have a good selection of drinks and waiters are happy to bring you drinks pool side.
Pool bar is fab!
A fairly quiet location but main towns are only a short taxi ride away.
Would like to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrypicking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just returned from Stella Palace and have to say it was the best family holiday we have had so far. The hotel itself is beautiful and really well maintained. The management appeared to be seamless and the staff were really friendly without exception. We had to move rooms due to a booking error on the first day but this was quickly sorted out and we were recompensed for that above and beyond what we had expected. Giannis and Fotis at the top bar were great and always had a smile. Our room was cleaned to a high standard every day and our towels were changed every other day. We even had fresh towels the day before our departure which was great as many hotels don't bother when they know you are due to leave. The food was lovely and varied and it did not feel like some hotels where you feel that you are being herded to the troughs! One of our concerns before we arrived was what the food would be like as we have the fussiest 11 year old you could hope to meet but we didn't need to worry! The themed nights were of a high standard. The gourmet restaurants were lovely too and made a pleasant change. The service at meal times was always really good - you were well attended to but didn't feel rushed. Lloyd Edwards our Thomas Cook rep was available if you needed him and was really helpful - he even came to say goodbye when we left even though someone else was doing the airport run. The only issue would be the early risers (before 6am!) who were putting their towels out on the loungers - that said we ended up joining them to ensure we got loungers together lol.

Room Tip: We had room 610 which which had a double bed and single bed. The room was on the first floor by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Tour operator: Thomas Cook
We stayed in room 587
2 adults and 2 teenagers, 15 and 16

We arrived early evening on Friday 2nd Aug, checking in at reception was speedy and professional. We then travelled on a golf buggy to our room. On arrival we found that room 587 was immaculately clean, and there was plenty of wardrobe space/drawers to keep clothes etc and the suitcases easily fitted on top of the wardrobes.

I cannot emphasise enough how clean the room was, clean bed linen and towels every other day.

You do not need to take towels for the sun loungers or beach as you can hire towels at €5.00 each. Just go to reception hire the towels and then go back every other day to get them changed. At the end of your stay simply take the towels back and the deposit is returned to you.

The hotel also arranges a laundry service via a local laundrettes, I used this service twice during our stay, the washing was returned after 2 days and every item was beautifully cleaned and ironed too. I paid a total of €40.00 for this service and would recommend it.

The grounds, restaurants, bars and pools in Stella Palace are well maintained and kept to a high standard. Every morning the pools areas are hosed down and then cleaned with mops.

The main restaurant in Stella Palace is the Poseidon, the food is plentifully and there is a lot of variety to choose from. The Maître-de is a gentleman named George, he works all day long and along with his team runs a well organised establishment; nothing is too much trouble.

We ate in the Asian restaurant twice, book early to avoid disappointment, you can also book the Olive restaurant during you stay too, we did not eat here but from hearing personal recommendations it was equally as good as the Asian.

Lloyd the Thomas Cook rep was helpful and we booked 2 trips through him, a boat trip and one to the local water park, both trips were good value and I would recommend them. You could also arrange trips yourselves to save a few pounds as there are plenty of places in Analipsi or Hersonissos that offer excursions too.

There is a land train that runs into Hersonissos, it costs €10 for each adult, children are cheaper. The Train stops outside Stella Village and it is lovely scenic ride into Hersonissos.



We took a taxi into Hersonissos from Stella Place, a return journey is €24.00, we walked around Hersonissos harbour and treated ourselves to a fabulous meal at LaScala . If you like fresh fish and authentic Greek food treat yourself to a meal at LaScala.

Practical hints and tips

Our son had a tummy ache before we left the UK, a few days after we arrived we needed to call out the emergency doctor via reception, the doctor came straight out and the care we received was first class. Stella Palace reception team arranged a taxi to fetch the prescriptions and in total the cost of the taxi and the medication was €20.00. A doctor visits Stella Village which merges into Stella Palace twice a day so if you need medical assistance you just need to go to Stella Village reception and you wait in turn to see a doctor.

You cannot flush toilet paper down the toilets in Greece, so take a pack of nappy sacks, it’s just easier to put the used toilet paper in a nappy sack before putting it in the bathroom bin.

Ibuprofen is very expensive, €5.00 for 16 tablets so remember to take plenty with you just in case.

There are plenty of sun beds but if you find that you like a particular spot by the pool of your choice you will need to get up early to secure it.

There is a small private beach with sun beds and there is also a public beach further along that you can use too

The award for the most prepared holiday maker who takes everything you can possibly think away with her goes to ‘Superglue Pru’ who saved the day by sticking a flower back onto a flip flop, go girl go !!!!!

On the day of departure you need to check out of your room by 12 noon, you can extended this until 5pm for a charge of €50.00, if you do not want to do this or it’s not possible don’t worry because you can use a shower room free of charge.

There is a well stocked supermarket which is located in Stella Village.

Please remember that Stella Palace and Stella Village are on the same site, guests staying at Stella Palace can use all of the facilities at Stella Village, but guest staying in Stella Village can only use the pools at Stella Palace but they cannot use the bars or restaurants.

Stella Palace is of a much higher standard than Stella Village.

I would not hesitate to recommended Stella Palace and would definitely return

Room Tip: There did seem to be a lot of people requesting alternative rooms so that ovedrlooked one of the 3 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Analipsi
2.8 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#10 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyttos Beach Hotel
Lyttos Beach Hotel
#5 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.8 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
44.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.0 mi away
Mitsis Laguna Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Palace Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Palace Resort & Spa

Property: Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Address: Analipsi, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Analipsi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Analipsi
#1 Spa Hotel in Analipsi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Analipsi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Analipsi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella Palace Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Stella Palace Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Palace Analipsi Village
Stella Palace Resort & Spa Crete/Analipsi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing