We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
452
156
30
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
452
156
30
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews neilson holiday head chef mountain biking great holiday water sports local town two weeks pool bar tennis coaching mark warner bar prices on stilts sailing area whole team transfer from the airport new friends minutes walk away
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Great family holiday - non stop action. Definately worth paying extra for Hotshots. Teenagers also kept busy with sailing and tennis.
Spa was disappointing - having stayed at Neilson's Halkadiki just didn't compare favourably. It just had a lukewarm jacuzzi - Halkadiki had sauna, steam and plunge pools. In fairness, the brochure did say this.
Great bike rides - just did the easy ones but all off main roads and on side roads, dirt tracks so felt we had seen the real Greece - donkeys, goats, olive groves, a monastry.
Great tennis coaching - patient coach and well structured lessons.
Food - good, lots of salad variations and fresh fruit but did get a bit repetitive after a few days. Puddings definately need improving (kids party food!) - jellies, angel delight etc. Most people took a spoonful and left the rest.
Road between resort and beach which brochure mentioned was hardly noticeable - it was just a dirt track that carried on a few hundred yards past hotel to a dead end so never any traffic.
Lesbos was a charming unspoilt island - journey from airport to resort was about 2 and a half hours and very twisty - worth taking travel sickness pills as it wasn't pleasant and I normally have no problems with this.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Absolutely loved my week at the Aeolian Village (first week of October 2012). One long adrenalin rush with windsurfing, dinghy sailing, tennis, mountain biking, swimming and fitness classes, but plenty of opportunity for relaxing at the beach bar or pool bar or chilling out on a sun lounger. No pressure from anyone to do or not do anything, completely up to you how you plan your week.
Staff and guests all incredibly friendly, food quality and choice was amazing, accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable, and the nearby town was charming with some lovely beach-front restaurants.
All topped off with wonderful weather - 28 degrees and clear blue skies all week.
Struggling to highlight any faults... quite a few bikes seemed to have punctures and the bike gloves were a bit smelly, and on most days the wind wasn't all that windy, which was perhaps good for beginners but not so great for more experienced sailors but hardly Neilson's fault. That's all I can think of!
I took my own kettle and beach towels to avoid the additional charges.
I don't have kids and there were only a handful of youngsters there that week, but from what I could see the kids' clubs looked brilliant.
Will def be going on another Neilson beachclub trip next year.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smincepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2012

love the concept of an activity holiday. I'm sold on the idea!
Aveage day, started with water skiing around 8.30 while the water was calm, then as the wind came up, we windsurfed, sailed lasers and Cats. Took my RYA level two sailing.
Swam every day, played table tennis every day, ran, managed to get a bike ride in.
Took a book , never read a page, there just wasn't time!
The staff were brilliant, especially the beach crew. My head is now spinning with instruction, on water skiing, windsurfing and sailing. Nothing was too much trouble for the guys.
Any advice ? You just had to ask. I can' t wait to go back!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook
Thank funkystix
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Buoyed by the good reviews on this site and on the recommendation of a friend who visited last year I decided to take the plunge and booked with Nielson - and am very glad to have done so. The whole experience was fantastic from beginning to end.
The best investment a holiday company of this type can make is in their staff, and although it was getting near to the end of the season and some staff were obviously exhausted, they still worked extremely hard to cater to our needs.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worthyone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Recently returned from 2 weeks here and had a superb time. I've done Neilson holidays before, so know exactly what to expect and this place is along the same lines.

I've divided the review into "The Good" and "The Not So Good" to make it easy to read - I don't really have any significant criticisms of this place and overall my holiday was fabulous, but nothing is perfect so i have listed some negatives as well.

The Good
Hotel is spacious and very clean. My room and all common areas were spotless.
Food is excellent, really tasty and a very good selection.
Activities offered were great and the instruction I received was good
Neilson staff worthy of a special mention - Alex (ski), Josh & Spencer (Bikes), Sam & Tim & David (windsurf), Ramos (Fitness).

The Not So Good
Some of the equipment is in need of some tlc/repair. I know it is nearly the end of the season, but still. Also, the bike lads spend all of their free time fixing punctures in inner tubes that have already been fixed 30 times before - Neilson, send them some tubes for God's sake! Preferably with slime.
The 2 flights (Manchester and Gatwick) arrive within an hour of each other in Saturday afternoon. Lunch service is extended so that the Gatwick arrivals get full (inclusive) lunch service. This is then hurriedly cleared away and the Manchester arrivals are steered to the Pool bar where they can purchase lunch. Slightly unfair.

A great holiday - I will probably be back.

Top tips:
Take some travel sickness pills for the transfer from the airport and don't sit at the back of the coach. I learnt this the hard way.
Go to Parasol, the Cocktail bar in town. Awesome.
Eat at Zorba the Buddha - far end of town near the harbour.
Do the bike ride to Sigri - hard work, but worth it.
Get out on the bikes and visit some of the other local villages for a coffee.
Learn to waterski.

Room tip: The Hillside rooms are quite a trek away from the beach area. Seaview rooms are bigger than the hillside view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank calico_demon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews